We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Party”
Review of Hotel UMass

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel UMass
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 August 2017

To start the room was very clean, good size, comfortable and great view. The garage had very friendly Bell Hops to open doors and help with luggage.
The reception venue was excellent. The size of the room and food were both exceptional. I can't say enough about the service and friendliness of the staff. It was a good experience and the bride and groom I'm sure with how everything went so well.

Room Tip: If you are a couple try your best to get the King size bed.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Baron1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMarCook, General Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Hello Baron1970,

Sincere thanks for your outstanding review. Virak is a true gem and we're thrilled to have him as a new edition to our bell staff. I'm so glad to hear we were able to exceed your expectations and create a truly memorable and unique experience for you and your wedding party. I love receiving feedback such as this and cannot wait to share with Virak as well as the rest of the team. Should your travels bring you back to Amherst we'd love to treat you once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
There are newer reviews for Hotel UMass
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

This place was perfect! It was located in the center of campus, we had new student orientation. Clean rooms, nice view, water and coffee all day! The staff was friendly and accommodating! Hope to stay there in the future.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Jenn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMarCook, General Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Hello Jenn J,

Many thanks for your spectacular review. I'm thrilled to hear you had an exceptional time during your most recent stay with us. We look forward to next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

My son is playing in a tournament at UMass Amherst. So glad we decided to stay here. So convenient! Free Cold breakfast - but nice selection of pastries. Rooms are fine -- nothing special, but clean and comfortable. No mini fridge - just FYI.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank mommy3ny3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMarCook, General Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Hello mommy3ny3,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We love hearing from our valued guests such as yourself. Glad to hear you enjoyed our pastry. For future reference we also do offer mini refrigerators upon request. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here the night before her orientation and we were extremely impressed! The hotel is located within Umass Amherst and it's very convenient!

The customer service is exceptional and the room was clean and very nice - not to mention the mattress was probably the most comfortable I've ever slept on! Would definitely stay again!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMarCook, General Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Hello Angela T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valued feedback with us. I'm thrilled you were pleased with our accommodations as well as our exceptional customer service. I have had the pleasure of sleeping on our mattresses during a snowstorm or two and would say that I wholeheartedly agree with your mattress comment. Thank you again for your 5 star review and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

This was a very nice place to stay and reasonably priced. It would have been even better if I was there for an event at UMass, as it is directly in the middle of campus. I was there for other reasons, though, and still found it pleasant. It's a tiny bit noisy if you have loud neighbors, but nothing really disruptive, just reminds you that you aren't alone! Breakfast is nothing special. Convenient that the student center is right below you. Free parking was very nice. I was able to walk to town in about 20 mins and it was lovely.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank MDWtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMarCook, General Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Dear MDWtraveler,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the central location of our hotel along with our complimentary parking and great rates. I also appreciate your feedback on breakfast and the noise from your neighbors. It was also great to hear that you were able to walk to the center of Amherst. We look forward to see you again soon.

-LaMar


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

Was super convenient since hotel is right on campus. We ordered room service for dinner and food was great. It would have been nice if room service stayed open later. Also it was only available for dinner. We wished we could have gotten room service for breakfast. All that is available was a continental breakfast. At least that was free. However would have rather paid for a hot full breakfast. Beds were sooooo uncomfortable, pillows were hard and crap linens. I would still stay again because of the convenience but was not a good night sleep at all.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMarCook, General Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Hello Jennifer,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at Hotel UMass. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and our convenient location. I apologize for the uncomfortable pillows and linens, I hope it did not disturb your stay too much. For your information we are actually in the process of replacing our linen package. Thank you again for telling us about your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

I just came back from a parent/student orientation with my daughter at UMass, and I was deciding between staying with family in Northampton or booking a room at this hotel. I'm really glad I booked the room, because there were 2 days of lectures and events for parents, and it was so convenient to be able to just pop up to the room and relax or change clothes when I had a few chunks of time with nothing scheduled. The room was clean and comfortable, and the hotel is right in the middle of campus. It was next to the building where all the parent lectures were taking place. The staff was very polite and professional, especially Gavin at the front desk.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneRph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMarCook, General Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

JaneRph,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at Hotel UMass and for sharing your great experience with Gavin. He is a valued member of our staff, and I will let him know that his efforts have not gone unnoticed. Thank you again for your kind words, as they are greatly appreciated. Congrats on your daughters acceptance to UMass. We look forward to your future stays over the next 4 years.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
3.4 km away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
3.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
8.8 km away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Hadley
179 reviews
3.8 km away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
4.7 km away
Econo Lodge Hadley
Econo Lodge Hadley
#6 of 7 in Hadley
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel UMass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel UMass

Address: 1 Campus Center Way, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA 01003-9243 (Formerly Campus Center Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range: $174 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel UMass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated the best hotel in Amherst, and seated in the center of the picturesque UMass Amherst campus, Hotel UMass blends a tranquil countryside escape with the bustling energy of campus life, making it your ideal destination when staying in the area. During your stay at Hotel UMass, you will have access to the distinctive cultural atmosphere of one of the nation’s top universities, while remaining only minutes to historic downtown Amherst, allowing you to discover the magic of the Pioneer Valley. The breathtaking views from your guestroom alone will allow you to appreciate the natural beauty of scenic New England.During your stay, you will enjoy first-class accommodations and exceptional service. We offer university guests, conference attendees, parents, students, local and corporate travelers and alumni an exceptional Hotel UMass experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel UMass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umass Hotel At The Campus Amherst
Campus Center Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing