We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
14
7
0
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
7
0
2
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 27 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2015

Love this place. Excellent location, a quiet street in the busy center of Amherst. Quirky in all the right ways, almost rustic, but very private and lovely. Breakfast is hearty continental and help yourself when you like. Rooms named for some of the owner's favorite authors.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avid_Rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2015 via mobile

Just here for 2 nights with friends. We were all in the carriage house. They had the loft room which was fabulous. It's a large, airy, comfortable and clean room. It got a lovely cross-breeze at night. The bathroom was small, but clean. We had the basement room which was mostly clean, but rather chilly. I say mostly, because the floors, bed, bedding, towels & sheets were all clean. However, the curtains were in really bad/dirty shape and could do with replacing, as could the rug by the foot of the bed.

The bathroom was very clean, but there was no shower curtain or glass/plastic doors of any kind. So when we showered the entire bathroom was soaked - the toilet, sink, mirror, etc, making the entire area very slippery.

Sitting outside in the evening was lovely and Emily was very unobtrusive. The house is in walking distance of Amherst's rstaurants, Amherst College, Emily Dickenson's house, great bookstores and the 5 colleges bus.

We'd absolutely stay at Emily's again - but in the loft or the main house next time!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank BklynTraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2015

The "Katherine" room is on the first floor of the carriage house, convenient to the kitchen/living area. It is bright and airy with sliding glass doors onto the garden and patio. Easy walk to downtown Amherst and public transportation. I had a private bath with attractive red and earth tone tiles. Breakfast is do-it-yourself continental but ample choices--and fruit and snacks are available all day. While I did not go into the main house to see its rooms, the carriage house is where I would go again. The 'hostess" for the several days I was there was "Gina" who made sure I was comfortable and had everything I needed. No TV or radio in the carriage house which was just fine. Parking really is not a problem--driveway is short and street is one-way.
No air conditioning but windows and fans. Pay by check or cash.

Room Tip: When you call for a reservation, just say what your needs are.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marguerite H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2015

A little hard to find, but very good. I had a suite: bedroom, kitchen, sitting room with tv, bathroom all to myself. All the fixings for breakfast were in the fridge or cabinet, with table set for breakfast, a DIY affair, meaning no common breakfast with other guests, and no set time to eat. Very good (hard mattress) bed. Two blocks away from main drag, restaurants, the common and walkable to attractions, including Emily Dickinson Museum. When parking, I suggest backing in to driveway, as no room to turn around. Emily is B&B's owner. Good value, quiet neighborhood.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Popagano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Emily's is charming but you have to be prepared to take it for what it is. Rather than a hotel, mily's feels like a kind Pioneer Valley hippy has opened her quaint home to you and doesn't think you need much privacy. Even the reservation process, which required that we correspond with Emily by actual mail (!) was a throw back. But, when you are visiting Amherst, isn't that exactly what you are looking for? A group of friends and I rented the whole back house at Emily's, which is a great choice for large groups (the house has two private bedrooms and an upstairs floor with several beds). The house is like a tree house for adults and has a beautiful patio on the side. The inn is in very close walking distance to the town of Amherst's main street but is on a quiet, residential road. Emily and her husband are often afoot, and in and out of the rooms and back house pretty much as they please. As other reviewers have pointed out, the breakfast part of the bed and breakfast leaves something to be desired but Amherst has such great breakfast options (go to the Black Sheep) that you really don't need it. If you have a sense of humor, by all means stay at Emily's. You will have a great time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Marci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews