We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passable motel some distance from town centre”

University Lodge in Amherst
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
University Lodge in Amherst
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
Reviewed 13 May 2017

The motel was basic but clean and had coffee and tea making facilities although the coffee in the usual packets was bland. The daily top up of these supplies was haphazard mixing decaf and normal at random as was with the varieties of tea bags.

Our first night was in a lower floor and the flimsy ceiling was vulnerable to noises from the heavy movement of people upstairs. So we requested a top floor room which resolved this problem.

We did not use a car and the walk to the town centre took some 15 minutes but Amherst being a small town, the walk was quite safe even at night.

Room Tip: The top floor is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tony9tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2017

It's fine--dated, but relatively clean, Very convenient, but terrible service from nice people who clearly reflect the "we don't care" attitude of the owners. Awful wifi connections, no grab bars despite requesting them. The owners really need to think about the crappy experience they offer.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ned B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Rating a motel with a star system is tricky business. If you are used to staying in 4 or 5 star joints then there are an awful lot of one star stopovers. However, if you are more familiar with one or two star dives, anything clean may rate 3.
University Lodge in Amherst has earned a two star average. I bet many of the people who have rated it are familiar with the more rarefied places and less so with roadside hotels.
I found this motel to be clean, quiet and reasonably priced. My room had two double beds, a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, iron, cable tv and a hair dryer. The women in the front office were friendly and polite. It was a short walk to my son's off campus house and another short walk to many eateries.
I don't know that I could have done much better for under a 100 bucks. So this place deserves 5 stars if you are a road warrior, but it ain't the Ritz, hence 3 stars.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Motel is close to the University, which is very convenient. Room felt dated and worn but overall it was clean. It was very cheap for a weekday visit. I wasn't in the room all that much and primarily used it to just sleep. Bed was comfortable enough. Wouldn't be my top choice if I was spending a lot of time in the room.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the back since those are technically the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hapoel888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Motel type accomodations, worn room. Seemed clean but everything is dated. No real wifi signal. Refrigerator in room, was very noisy. Make sure you get second floor room, we could hear every step the folks upstairs made. Best part was the dog howling in the am for 30 minutes straight. Only reason I would ever consider staying here again is because of its close proximity to UMASS. Who ever owns this place should really invest in some updating, would make a world of difference.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016

The room overall exceeded expectations based upon the reviews. Convenient to UMASS Amherst. Room was mostly clean, but dated. The heat worked well, but you could smell that the vents needed cleaning. Decent lighting and TV, Shower was fine. The internet service was mediocre at best, I could not log onto my laptop. I thought it would be noisier because it was on the main Road, but very quiet at night. There was no wakeup call service because they said staff didn't come in until 8am. Didn't make sense. Overall, better than we expected.

Room Tip: upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tootsy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Very low weekday cost and proximity to UMass campus was what attracted us to this motel. Very musty smell as soon as we entered so I opened windows.Dead bugs and grime were on the sill between window and screen. Everything was dingy and worn. Sunflower shells next to the bed. Not a deal breaker but a sign that not much attention is being paid. My wife turns down the bed later to a very live flea on the bed. I was woken at 1:30 am by an ant crawling up my arm. We heard every step from the upstairs neighbors, and they weren't being particularly noisy. We won't be returning.

Room Tip: First floor is convenient but noisy. Avoid room 2 but I can't speak about the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
1.2 km away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
473 reviews
3.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
3.2 km away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
5.9 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Hadley
184 reviews
8.7 km away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Lodge in Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Lodge in Amherst

Address: 345 N Pleasant St, Amherst, MA 01002-1709
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range: $105 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — University Lodge in Amherst 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your University Lodge in Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Lodge In Amherst Hotel Amherst
University Hotel Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing