We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lord Jeffery Inn(Amherst)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$215
US$194
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$215/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel UMass(Amherst)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$159
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$178/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$140
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
3
12
32
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
12
32
13
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 69 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2017

There's really only one advantage to University Lodge in Amherst. It is o. The campus making it extremely cconvenient. They will always have customers, mainly parents and people doing business with the University. That may be why it's shabby and appears as if it hasn't been renovated since the 1950s. I was in Amherst for a business meeting and it was fine for one night in spite of its shabbiness.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank carolgregory3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2017 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel is the location. Across from Umass, Kendrick Place, and walking distance to restaurants and shops in the Amherst center. The hotel is a bit outdated: old carpet, bathroom, and details. The room was clean just not updated. Rarely saw the staff/other guests which can be considered good or bad. The hotel was also pricey to be so outdated, no business center, and no room service.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Brianabulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Clearwater, Florida
114
Reviewed July 16, 2017 via mobile

One of the filthiest hotels I've walked into in a very long time. The parking lot was full of debris and cigarette butts. The door frame of the room was broken from an apparent previous break in. The wall appeared to of not been painted in many years, and was full of holes, scratches and stains. The carpet was sticky with some kind of slime like substance. The entire room smelled like an old wet dog and everything in the room was damp. The bathroom was dirty and mold was present through out it. The pictures screwed to the wall was a nice touch. We reloaded our bags and asked for a refund. I will not be going back until after this place has been bulldozed, rebuilt and under different management. Btw the management company also manages all the other hotels in the general area!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2017

Im a budget traveller who uses hotels just for sleep. As long as it's clean and quiet I'm fine. That being said. Walls were paper thin (well I actually think it was the window) and could hear the partying kids yelling at 1 am which woke me. Plumbing from other room loud so closed bathroom door and helped. Beds were clean and comfortable. Bathroom clean except for one hair of a certain body area. Had decent tv, fridge and microwave, but make sure u turn on fridge. I wasnt paying attn and put a few things in there and next morning not chilled. I asked for 2nd floor as recommended by another traveller and got it. Very nice girls at desk. The town just a couple of quick turns away was so cute. We drove @ 7 mins to a local Chilis for dinner. So many places to eat in the immediate area. Stayed here for a visit to UMass Amherst, again only a 5 min drive.

Room Tip: Prob 2nd floor better than ground. Turn on fridge. Probably need to close bathroom door to muffle the other room's loud plumbing.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank m c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2017

The motel was basic but clean and had coffee and tea making facilities although the coffee in the usual packets was bland. The daily top up of these supplies was haphazard mixing decaf and normal at random as was with the varieties of tea bags.

Our first night was in a lower floor and the flimsy ceiling was vulnerable to noises from the heavy movement of people upstairs. So we requested a top floor room which resolved this problem.

We did not use a car and the walk to the town centre took some 15 minutes but Amherst being a small town, the walk was quite safe even at night.

Room Tip: The top floor is quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tony9tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews