We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind of ripped off”

University Lodge in Amherst
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
University Lodge in Amherst
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
Reviewed 28 October 2017

The first thing I thought when I saw my room was, "how is this $180/night??" I was late booking a room for a conference at UMass, and University Lodge was close and available, and I'm feeling super ripped off. The room itself is clean, but shabby. Then the building is SO flimsy - I don't know if there really were 20 frat boys staying in the room above me, but it sounded like it, as I could hear and feel all their stomping, voices, tv - having a pretty broken sleep as a result. If you can get a room here for like $60/night, it would be a reasonable deal (do NOT stay on the lower level - you don't want anyone above you), but seriously, if you can find someplace else to stay, do it.

Room Tip: don't stay on the ground floor - you do NOT want anyone above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boomerCA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JB401russ, Front Office Manager at University Lodge in Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Thank you for staying with us here at the University Lodge hotel in Amherst, we're glad we were able to accommodate you so close to your destination and also would like to apologize you had such noise neighbors.

We hope to see you again soon!

Front Office Manager
Jeffrey Sanchez
413-256-8111

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2017

There's really only one advantage to University Lodge in Amherst. It is o. The campus making it extremely cconvenient. They will always have customers, mainly parents and people doing business with the University. That may be why it's shabby and appears as if it hasn't been renovated since the 1950s. I was in Amherst for a business meeting and it was fine for one night in spite of its shabbiness.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank carolgregory3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel is the location. Across from Umass, Kendrick Place, and walking distance to restaurants and shops in the Amherst center. The hotel is a bit outdated: old carpet, bathroom, and details. The room was clean just not updated. Rarely saw the staff/other guests which can be considered good or bad. The hotel was also pricey to be so outdated, no business center, and no room service.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Brianabulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Clearwater, Florida
42
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

One of the filthiest hotels I've walked into in a very long time. The parking lot was full of debris and cigarette butts. The door frame of the room was broken from an apparent previous break in. The wall appeared to of not been painted in many years, and was full of holes, scratches and stains. The carpet was sticky with some kind of slime like substance. The entire room smelled like an old wet dog and everything in the room was damp. The bathroom was dirty and mold was present through out it. The pictures screwed to the wall was a nice touch. We reloaded our bags and asked for a refund. I will not be going back until after this place has been bulldozed, rebuilt and under different management. Btw the management company also manages all the other hotels in the general area!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

Im a budget traveller who uses hotels just for sleep. As long as it's clean and quiet I'm fine. That being said. Walls were paper thin (well I actually think it was the window) and could hear the partying kids yelling at 1 am which woke me. Plumbing from other room loud so closed bathroom door and helped. Beds were clean and comfortable. Bathroom clean except for one hair of a certain body area. Had decent tv, fridge and microwave, but make sure u turn on fridge. I wasnt paying attn and put a few things in there and next morning not chilled. I asked for 2nd floor as recommended by another traveller and got it. Very nice girls at desk. The town just a couple of quick turns away was so cute. We drove @ 7 mins to a local Chilis for dinner. So many places to eat in the immediate area. Stayed here for a visit to UMass Amherst, again only a 5 min drive.

Room Tip: Prob 2nd floor better than ground. Turn on fridge. Probably need to close bathroom door to muffle t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank m c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

The motel was basic but clean and had coffee and tea making facilities although the coffee in the usual packets was bland. The daily top up of these supplies was haphazard mixing decaf and normal at random as was with the varieties of tea bags.

Our first night was in a lower floor and the flimsy ceiling was vulnerable to noises from the heavy movement of people upstairs. So we requested a top floor room which resolved this problem.

We did not use a car and the walk to the town centre took some 15 minutes but Amherst being a small town, the walk was quite safe even at night.

Room Tip: The top floor is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tony9tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

It's fine--dated, but relatively clean, Very convenient, but terrible service from nice people who clearly reflect the "we don't care" attitude of the owners. Awful wifi connections, no grab bars despite requesting them. The owners really need to think about the crappy experience they offer.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ned B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
1.2 km away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
473 reviews
3.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
3.2 km away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
5.9 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
184 reviews
8.7 km away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Lodge in Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Lodge in Amherst

Address: 345 N Pleasant St, Amherst, MA 01002-1709
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range: $104 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — University Lodge in Amherst 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your University Lodge in Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Lodge In Amherst Hotel Amherst
University Hotel Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing