We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The 'centre' of St Helena”
Review of The Consulate

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jamestown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Consulate
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Jamestown
Reviewed 10 November 2010

The Consulate is like a quaint English country hotel, numerous staircases and balconies, and personal service from the owner. Hazel really takes a personal interest in her guests, even fixing me a packed lunch 5 minutes before the tour left when I forgot to order one! It is very central to all the necessities of St Helena, and also seems to be a meeting place for Jamestown residents in the evenings/weekends.
My only reservation was the restaurant meals, which basically come without choices. On my first night the meal was not enjoyable, carpaccio for starter and seared tuna for main course and me not being a fan of raw flesh! and of course the options to eat elsewhere are very limited.
But food aside, the hotel is the obvious choice in Jamestown, the staff are excellent and very obliging, and it was a really good choice all round.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank philter1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2010

A great location in the centre of Jamestown, close to all the attractions. Nothing better than sitting on the balcony to watch St Helena go by, with great views of Jacob's Ladder.

You'll be well looked after here by Hazel and the team - spacious rooms, fabulous food and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holiday1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2010

We were on St Helena from 6 to 20 January 2010 having previously booked to stay at the Consulate Hotel for that period. Without previous experience of St. Helena we did check on Trip Advisor for comments and noted that there is a new owner who was undertaking improvements to the accommodation and the general service provided.

We were very pleased with the welcome on arrival and the readiness of our very comfortable room. It was evident from the start that there was an air of efficiency in all areas. This continued throughout our stay with the owner Hazel Wilmot and her staff making us feel comfortable and relaxed.

The Consulate building as a hotel dates back many years and the development of the present business cares for its history whilst providing us with up-to-date service throughout. Breakfast and dinner were served in splendid period surroundings.

Some work was in hand to restore the front bar but this did not intrude on other parts and should by now be complete. As rooms become available Hazel was planning to use them herself to get first hand customer experience.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

The hotel has had mixed fortunes over many years but Hazel, the new owner, has given it a very happy smile. She has set to with enthusiasm and energy and is gradually restoring it to a splendour which befits its location in a beautiful, unspoilt, Georgian street. The rooms boast luxurious bedlinen and towels and good views down the main street. The restaurant is a great venue for breakfast and evening meals. The function suite provided a lovely evening ofr an 80th birthday. The new snack bar provides good food for residents and locals alike. Sit here to soak up the atmosphere and meet the Saints. The best way to wind down an evening? Sit on the balcony and overlook the main street in peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grannypatYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

This hotel is getting better month by month as new items arrive from the mainland. The accommodation is a bit basic in some rooms but overall you can see the owner is developing the venue and style of the hotel.
When I was there she had hired a new chief who was reworking a lot of the menus and she was running a few events in the ballroom for everybody to get involved with.
The thing is, this is St Helena... if you want a 5 star hotel, you won't find it on the island and frankly you are coming to the wrong place. Everybody on the island helps each other and the Consulate is one of the focalpoint places in the town.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ScottyBoyRadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2009

The hotel is located on the main street of this historic town. The current owner took control in December 2008 and has worked to restore it to its former glory.
Breakfast is a buffet served in the restaurant with hot dishes tes and coffee being provided by the friendly waitress staff.Dinner is a silver service 3 course set menu cooked by a highly trained chef and team with alternatives being provided when a dish is not suitable.The quality and presentation of the food is very good. Tea and coffee are provided in one of the two lounges. Packed lunches are available for guests you are out all day if required.In addition there is a cafe which sells simple meals and excellent cakes and pastries.
All rooms have ensuite facilites..
The friendly interest the owner and staff take in their guests makes it a pleasure to return in the evening . The hotel balcony makes a pleasent place for a pre dinner drink.wher a pre dinner drink.
I would have no hesitation about staying at the Consulate if I return to St Helena.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PenguinNrCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2009

The new owner has invested a lot of money in the hotel (and is continuing to do so) and this shows in the furnishings of the public rooms and the new beds and furniture in the bedrooms. The team are dedicated to making this a high quality hotel and it shows in their care and service given to guests. The breakfasts are very good and although there is a fixed menu evening meal, given the circumstances on St Helena about suipplies this is not surprising and the quality of the food was very good and well presented. I hope to return to St Helena one day and I would stay at the Consulate again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IanDavenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Consulate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Consulate

Address: Jamestown, St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
Region: St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha > St Helena Island > Jamestown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Jamestown
Also Known As:
The Consulate Hotel Jamestown
Consulate Hotel Jamestown
The Consulate Jamestown, St Helena, Ascension And Tristan Da Cunha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing