We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, peaceful haven on an unspoilt island...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Whitewood Sea

Main Bedroom with Ensuite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main Bedroom with Ensuite
Dining Area and Kitchen Second Bedroom which can be a a King Bed or Two Singles
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Main Bedroom with Ensuite
Dining Area and Kitchen
Second Bedroom which can be a a King Bed or Two Singles
Ensuite
Main Bathroom
Kitchen
The Verandah
Ramp Access
The View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Norfolk Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susan H
Oxenford, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful haven on an unspoilt island paradise - bliss!!”
Reviewed 30 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved staying at Bec's place, not only is the house extremely spacious, comfortable and well located, but her excellent taste are evident in the tasteful decor, the trendy bathrooms and all the other thoughtful little touches she has included to help visitors feel at home. She took care of our travel arrangement so everything was hassle-free: organising the hire car, picking us up from the airport, travel insurance, bookings for Christmas Day lunch at Dino's etc. She even gave us a mobile phone to use in case we had any questions or problems. For us 'first-timers', not only did we find Norfolk Island to be the most amazing, unspoilt piece of Paradise, but staying at Whitewood Sea was all we needed to make our holiday just perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location - it is private, peaceful, quiet and scenic, but close to everything
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2016
Thank you S and K, it was such a pleasure having you stay at Whitewood Sea and I?m so pleased you enjoyed your Norfolk Island Christmas and Summer getaway. Great decision to stay 10 nights it?s a good amount of time to make the most of exploring the island and to allow for some rest and relaxation too. Thank you for the flattering review! It?s always so good to receive such great feedback about the house and being a Norfolk Islander it?s heart-warming to have guests who clearly appreciate what a special place Norfolk Island is. All the best to you both and I hope you can visit again sometime. Best regards, Bec Christian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike S
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“This must be the best place to stay on Norfolk Island”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is the place to stay on Norfolk Island – it’s just wonderful. It is a beautifully renovated, fabulously clean home with everything carefully thought out by the owner Rebecca, who has brought together all the best ideas of a holiday home into the one place. It has everything you could need.

The view from the house is spectacular. Most mornings we sat on the deck having breakfast with Philip Island in full view. The garden around the house encouraged lots of birds and Rebecca even had a bird guide book so you could identify what was flying around. That’s the attention to detail we loved.

The house is out of town so you will need a car which was waiting for us at the airport but the short drive from town was no problem. However the cows on the roads and Norfolk Island’s famous potholes were a reminder that although 50 km/hr is the top speed anywhere on the island you probably will rarely exceed 40 km/hr.

The house is also in close driving distance to Kingston the historic site and you can walk to Dino’s, the excellent local restaurant. Rebecca even supplied a torch – remember there are no street lights on Norfolk Island but the stars looked amazing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail - everything has been thought of
Liked least: Nothing - it's all good!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2015
Thank you for such a wonderful review, it was such a pleasure having you both stay. I’m so pleased you enjoyed all that Whitewood Sea has to offer. I think we’re kindred spirits! I also love to travel and when I recently renovated the house I tried to think of all those little things that make a place – an extra special place – to stay. It’s great to hear you enjoyed the deck and view out to Phillip Island each day, and the starry, starry night walk to and from nearby Dino’s, one of Norfolk’s best restaurants. It was honestly such a pleasure to meet you both and have you as guests at Whitewood Sea.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
61gloria6...
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Staying at Whitewood Sea made our whole trip to Norfolk Island amazing.”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Whitewood Sea has everything you need. the appliances are modern and a lot of thought has gone into supplying the kitchen. the decor throughout the house is lovely.
The deck is fantastic. The lounge chair is so comfortable on the deck - another one is needed! the view is beautiful. It's quiet, peaceful and relaxing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the windows looking out to sea.
Liked least: My pillow was a bit high for me.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2015
Thanks so much for your wonderful review, it is so nice to read that we made your stay on Norfolk Island. We are a little biased but we think the view from the deck is pretty sensational too! Thanks for staying with us at Whitewood Sea and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKlovesto...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow! A must see property on beautiful Norfolk Island”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I travelled to Norfolk Island in July 2014 and stayed at Whitewood Sea for 3 nights. The airport meet & greet, local mobile phone and local information provided meant I was well equipped and informed on arrival to Norfolk Island.

This new property impresses with uninterrupted views from the large deck to Philip Island The main bedroom also benefits from the view (see photo). The modern design and style of the property includes a fully equipped kitchen and laundry. The large bath in the main bathroom is a touch of luxury. The owner has put a lot of thought into the guest experience and it shows - the bowl of fresh local fruit was a nice touch and didn't last long!

Although a car is an ideal way to get around Norfolk Island, the property is a short easy walk to one of the island's top restaurants which means a long lunch or dinner can be enjoyed without the need to drive.

Whitewood Sea will delight travellers looking for something special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The modern accommodation is exceptional. The booking included airport meet & greet and local mobile phone.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2015
Thanks so much Kathleen for your lovely review. We think Whitewood Sea is pretty special and glad you do too. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to us soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$204
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing