We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon”
Review of Union Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Union Street Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We recently spent the tail end of our honeymoon on Nantucket at the Union Street Inn. We were delighted with every detail from arrival to departure. The room was wonderful - comfortable and beautifully decorated. The service was just right - well informed, graciously helpful but unintrusive. We enjoyed the full breakfast and were pleased with the staff's willingness to accommodate my wife's gluten intolerance. The location was nice as well - just a couple of quaint, cobblestone blocks from everything. We are already plotting a return trip and will not consider staying anywhere else. Top notch!

Mike and A.J. S.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the courtyard and was charming. We also peeked in a couple others that were open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2011

Great stay, great owner and Carrie is an amazing innkeeper. She handled reservations and had lots of island suggestions that were perfect for our long weekend. The location in town was perfect and easy to get to the multitude of great restaurants in town. What a relaxing place with wonderful breakfasts on the patio. Everything that you can think of is provided. It was easy to see why they are rated the top B & B on the island!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harlaxton7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We live on Cape Cod but like to get to Nantucket at least once a year. This was our first time staying at the Union Street Inn and found that everything described on the internet was true to the word. The location to the downtown area, docks, many restaurants, shops, various points of interest was perfect for us. No one should miss the breakfast and afternoon treats--just great. Our Room, #2, on the first floor was a delight and had everything we needed. Not only the room but the entire home was in tip top shape. One thing most important was from the day we made our initial reservation to the day we left, Ken (the Inn Keeper/owner) and his entire staff were warm, took interest in us, were very helpful in suggestions, made reservations for us, and really made us feel at home. I would recomment this Inn and we will be back! Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We were delighted with the welcoming atmosphere and the authentic decor of the Union Street Inn. The Inn is a convenient walk from the ferry dock. Abundant flower boxes on the front of the Inn were adorned with autumn displays and boxes inside the entry hall contained umbrellas and beach towels for the guests to use during their stays. Our room and bathroom were immaculate; the bed was very comfortable. We were pleasantly surprised to find two soft wing chairs for reading and a round table on which to place our drinks, maps, etc.. A delicious full breakfast was prepared and served each morning by the friendly staff and/or the Innkeeper. My husband and I appreciated the 24 hr. availability of tea, coffee and ice water, as well as sweet homemade treats and iced tea laid out at 3 p.m. every afternoon at the Inn's kitchen table. The staff is eager to please and arranged an island tour for us and offered to make dinner reservations. Our three days on Nantucket felt like we were visiting old friends at their home.

Room Tip: While the room we stayed in had a private bath, I believe some rooms use a hall bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We've lost track of how many times we have stayed at the Union Street Inn over the past several years. Ken and Deb have done amazing job of creating a comfortable yet elegant environment for perfect getaways. Having stayed in many different rooms we have always found things to be perfectly in order with lots of little treats to really make you feel pampered. Their location could not be any better; off the main hustle and bustle but only a short walk to the ferries or dozens of some of the finest restaurants. We wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StellaV23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

From the moment we booked and spoke to Ken on the telephone, we knew that we were going to like this Inn. He was extremely helpful from the outset with information in relation to both the Inn and the island, and when we arrived we were not disappointed. Our room (no. 5) was beautiful, extremely comfortable and had everything we needed. The only disappointment was that the weather was still too warm to light the fire, but I imagine in Winter it would be very cosy. By way of warning, room 5 is on the front of the Inn and so there is a little traffic noise as cars pass. The bathroom was also teeny tiny, and so not recommended if you're not good at moving in small spaces. Therefore, if you're looking for complete silence and a spacious bathroom, room 5 may not be for you! Breakfast was delicious and we were given good recommendations for dinner. The Inn provides a very useful folder detailing all the island's restaurants and menus, so you can't really go wrong. Altogether, we had a great time, loved the Inn and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Horrayforholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

The Union Street Inn was everything we expected and more. My wife and I visited for a short getaway for our anniversary and we're very happy to say we made a excellent choice in selecting the Union Street Inn as our spot. A very charming 1770 home with lots of attention to details, very clean and very well kept. The decor was period style and the beds were very comfortable. We are very picky when it comes to those things and we both felt right at home. The staff was very friendly, knowledgable and helpful. We explored the island with their help on sightseeing and restaurant picks. The carefully planned out, home made breakfasts here are amazing and eating out on the patio was very relaxing.Having to leave was difficult. Looking forward to going back soon. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Check out website, pretty accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reelcharmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.3 km away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
204 reviews
0.2 km away
76 Main
76 Main
#4 of 14 in Nantucket
284 reviews
0.5 km away
The Veranda House Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
458 reviews
0.4 km away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
257 reviews
9.9 km away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Street Inn

Address: 7 Union St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3844
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nantucket
Price Range: $255 - $873 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Street Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Best Nantucket Boutique Hotel". Named #1 Small Hotel in the U.S.! A small boutique inn with designer interior. Ideally located in the heart of the historic village, this beautifully renovated Nantucket inn features twelve guest rooms with a crisp, tailored "New England-by-way-of-France" flair. Guests enjoy boutique hotel style and services mixed with a home-cooked country breakfast on the garden patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Union Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Street Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing