We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time in Nantucket-- really great stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Union Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Union Street Inn
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“First time in Nantucket-- really great stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

My husband and I spent about 10 days driving up the New England coast. We decided to take the ferry to Nantucket for 2 nights. We chose the Union Street Inn because of the great reviews on Trip Advisor and they didn't disappoint. The location was perfect, within walking distance of everything in town. With it being the end of the season, our proximity to the beach was not an issue. We rented bikes one day and the beach was not far. Everyone at the inn was very welcoming and accommodating. Our room (#5) was fairly simple, no frills, especially compared to other places we stayed, but it was just right for us. Our bathroom was pretty small too, but it didn't bother us at all and the innkeepers were very straightforward about it before we booked. Although small, we never heard our neighbors. Breakfast was wonderful both mornings we were there and it was still warm enough to enjoy it outside. My only complaint would be the rather high price, but I understand you don't go to Nantucket looking for a bargain. We really did have a great stay and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Room #5 has a small bathroom (shower, no tub), but we probably wouldn't have noticed unless it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lboog7011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    32
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
312
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Millburn, NJ
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

If you want to experience a top shelf B&B you need look no further than the Union Street Inn! They do it all right with an understated, elegant, and friendly level of super service!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vkcampi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

If you are looking for a walkable location on Nantucket, this is your place. The staff is very nice and the breakfast is fabulous. One block from city center and all the transportation rental agencies in town. The rooms are comfy and well appointed but you have to understand that there are a lot of creaks and noise in a 300 year old house. Quite neighbors are a bonus.

Room Tip: Top floor might be helpful to not hear your early bird neighbors walking around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lingjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield County, CT
Level Contributor
265 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

The hotel is 50yds from the center of town. This is a great old home that has been turned into a wonderful boutique hotel. I stayed in room 10 with a nice big King bed on the 1st floor.
The walls are thin so you can hear voices in adjoining rooms when lying in bed. The bathrooms are also on the small side. However versus what else is available in Nantucket these are small issues. The cooked breakfast each morning (included) is excellent. If comparing hotels you should take $25pp of their room rate to make comparisons.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nodrama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willow Street, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We recently spent the tail end of our honeymoon on Nantucket at the Union Street Inn. We were delighted with every detail from arrival to departure. The room was wonderful - comfortable and beautifully decorated. The service was just right - well informed, graciously helpful but unintrusive. We enjoyed the full breakfast and were pleased with the staff's willingness to accommodate my wife's gluten intolerance. The location was nice as well - just a couple of quaint, cobblestone blocks from everything. We are already plotting a return trip and will not consider staying anywhere else. Top notch!

Mike and A.J. S.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the courtyard and was charming. We also peeked in a couple others that were open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watkinsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Great stay, great owner and Carrie is an amazing innkeeper. She handled reservations and had lots of island suggestions that were perfect for our long weekend. The location in town was perfect and easy to get to the multitude of great restaurants in town. What a relaxing place with wonderful breakfasts on the patio. Everything that you can think of is provided. It was easy to see why they are rated the top B & B on the island!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harlaxton7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Truro
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

We live on Cape Cod but like to get to Nantucket at least once a year. This was our first time staying at the Union Street Inn and found that everything described on the internet was true to the word. The location to the downtown area, docks, many restaurants, shops, various points of interest was perfect for us. No one should miss the breakfast and afternoon treats--just great. Our Room, #2, on the first floor was a delight and had everything we needed. Not only the room but the entire home was in tip top shape. One thing most important was from the day we made our initial reservation to the day we left, Ken (the Inn Keeper/owner) and his entire staff were warm, took interest in us, were very helpful in suggestions, made reservations for us, and really made us feel at home. I would recomment this Inn and we will be back! Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.5 km away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.4 km away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#9 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 km away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.6 km away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#5 of 13 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.5 km away
The Veranda House Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Street Inn

Property: Union Street Inn
Address: 7 Union St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3844
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Street Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Best Nantucket Boutique Hotel". A small boutique inn with designer interior. Ideally located in the heart of the historic village, this beautifully renovated Nantucket inn features twelve guest rooms with a crisp, tailored "New England-by-way-of-France" flair. Guests enjoy boutique hotel style and services mixed with a home-cooked country breakfast on the garden patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Union Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Street Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing