We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first choice for a nice winter get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seven Sea Street Inn
Ranked #3 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great first choice for a nice winter get away”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I brought my family down after reading a book about the real Moby Dick ship, The Essex, and was game to learn more about Nantucket history and present (for that contact the visitors center).

The Inn (or B&B as it might be known) is nice and cosy with a gas fireplace in the library (nice books) and eating area (nice continental breakfast). It's got a nice location, walkable from the ferries and very close to the whaling museum (closed January 4 to Feb 4 or so, take note!), lighthouse, Children's Beach. The innkeeper nicely offered suggestions on good nearby food and found a tour guide for a drive around the island (Sabra - good) and we also found you can get a walking tour (Bill-didn't try him) from the Visitor's Center on Federal St.

The building and rooms are nicely decorated and have thermostat powered electric heaters and also big heater/ac units. We were able to get blankets and there was an airbed that just fit in our room for my daughter. Walls on Nantucket are thin but the 7SI's walls were thick enough and we slept well and don't think we disturbed others either. There were more than enough TV channels, hot drinks available anytime (from the common area) and a fridge where food could be saved. There is a widow's walk with ladder entry which my daughter and I climbed up (not for the unfit, but worth doing during day if you're not drunk and not a clutz). I booked directly with the owner for a good winter price. I think the owner said that they can accomodate a total of 26. This Inn makes a great place to stay off season and I'd assume any time of year.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonWogga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    64
    15
    1
    3
See reviews for
63
289
29
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe,NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Matt, we had a great time this weekend. We felt like family, returning to the Inn. It looks great with the upgrades. We always look forward to our trips to the Island and staying at the 7 Seas Inn. We will see you in May when we come back again. Keep up the great work. Tom and Marjorie Carton

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I had reason to be on Nantucket for work for one very rainy weeknight in early December - definitely not a prime tourist season! Matthew and staff were extremely personable, accommodating, and friendly. The atmosphere at the inn was welcoming and relaxed, but extremely clean, private, and professionally run as well. All the amenities you would expect at a top notch establishment, but also the charm and character of a family-run inn. The attention to detail and comfortable setting were greatly appreciated. And the location was ideal, especially for someone on foot. I hope to have the opportunity to return to the island for a longer stay for pleasure in the future and would definitely return to Seven Sea Street without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandwich, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I've stayed on the island several times, but never in such a warm and inviting inn as the Seven Sea Street Inn. The post and beam architecture, fire place, and cozy decor offer that quintessential Nantucket charm, while Claudia's insanely delicious peach cobbler and cream bananas seal the deal. The staff was friendly and courteous and the location is ideal, just a skip to the center of town. My room had all the modern amenities I needed but still managed to maintain that cozy inn feel and comfort. I would recommend the Seven Sea Street Inn to anyone who is looking to channel a true Nantucket island experience. I will certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quakertown
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2011

I usually hate staying at independent hotels because they almost always prove to be a disapointment. Seven Sea's is the exception the the rule. The staff was great, the continental breakfast was possibly the best I have ever had and the rooms were very cozy. If you stay there make sure you take a few minutes to go out on the roof! My only complaints were the bed was rock hard and I wish they would take down all the signs in the room asking to to help save water and electricity (pet peeve of mine because I paid to use it right?) As a whole though if I'm ever back in town, it will be my first choice on hotels and I think the Seven Sea's will definitely be hosting my next vacation!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msp3672, Owner at Seven Sea Street Inn, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
We appreciate this nice review very much, citing our staff hospitality, our continental breakfast, our cozy guest rooms, the wonderful view we offer from our roof deck and most importantly the desire to be a returning guest on their next vacation to Nantucket.

With regard to the comfort level of our Stearns and Foster beds, I would simply explain they offer a cushioned top layer but are “firm” (not extra firm - which is a manufacturer option). Our feeling is most guests are looking for a bed that offers good strong support with some top layer cushioning for comfort, as a balance, and this is what our firm variety offers. I’m sorry he found the bed to be too firm but this is a personal preference and we think we provide what the majority of our guests prefer. Regarding in room signage, we try to be sensitive to this issue - I believe we have just one sign in the bathroom asking guests to please leave towels on the floor if they’d like them changed or hang them up if a change is not desired, in an effort to be environmentally friendly and save water and energy.

Sincerely,
Matthew Parker
Owner/Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Can't say enough about our stay at Seven Sea Street Inn. Nantucket is a very special place and the Inn is a perfect complement to its history and ambiance. Comfort and hospitality a major priority of Matt and Claudia, but never overbearing. The Inn's location was just right, rooms were very nice, a very homelike environment. Wife and teenage daughters truly loved it.

Room Tip: The suite was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

The Seven Sea Street Inn is a superb place to stay on the island. Matt, the host and staff are friendly, helpful and very accommodating. The inn could not be more conveniently located just a short walk to the town center, the whaling museum, the ferry terminals, and several excellent restaurants.

We have stayed at seven Seas several times and have always been greatly pleased with everything from the breakfast to the accommodations. The rooms are always in great condition, very clean, and very well appointed. There is internet services available and two very nice common areas for guests to relax in, read, or even work if need be. The common areas also have working gas fireplaces, a nice touch. The inn is located in a very quiet residential area.

As a Bed and Breakfast, the breakfasts are terrific and for us, just right. There are two seatings which should accommodate any schedule. The inn provides a variety of breakfast offerings including gourmet English Muffins, waffles, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, danish, muffins, juice, coffee and tea, etc. There is coffee or tea service available at any time.

Matt, the inn keeper is terrific and is always available to answer any questions you might have or to offer suggestions concerning dinner or other activities.

We would highly recommend The Seven Sea Street inn without reservation and look forward to staying there again on our next trip to Nantucket.

Paul and Joanne S.

Room Tip: Every room we have ever stayed in has always been well furnished, very clean, in excellent condition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.2 km away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
4.2 km away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.3 km away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.5 km away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 14 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 km away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Sea Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Sea Street Inn

Property: Seven Sea Street Inn
Address: 7 Sea St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3545
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seven Sea Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Sea Street is a beautiful red oak post and beam Inn, designed with an authentic Nantucket ambiance in mind. We invite you to experience our charming Inn, where we pride ourselves on the attentive service and cozy accommodations that will make your stay with us a fond memory. Our location couldn't be better, nestled on a quiet side street and just a short walk from Main Street, Steamboat Wharf, Jetties Beach, and Brant Point Lighthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Seven Sea Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Sea Street Inn
Seven Sea Street Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing