We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Carlisle House Inn
Nearby Hotels
Nantucket Inn(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$478
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
76 Main(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$549
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Periwinkle B&B(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$496
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
21 Broad Hotel(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$519
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Brass Lantern Inn(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$455
US$445
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Elephant(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$895
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wauwinet(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$650
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$747/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$1,130
US$715
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$1,295
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sherburne Inn Nantucket(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
129
37
15
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
129
37
15
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast porchthird floorbrant pointin townyogurtoutdoor gardenquiet stayshort walkwithin walking distancewater pressurecakesjetties beachwe've stayedlocation is excellentb b'swe loved our staywine festival
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 197 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We were supposed to stay at the Carlisle House Inn the weekend of Hurricane Irene. We live in Manhattan and had a flight to the island. Our flight was cancelled and the Mayor of NY was advising people to not travel. We asked for a refund or some discount on our stay at the Inn, knowing we had no way to get there and it was technically a state of emergency. The inn owner was extremely unsympathetic and stated clearly her cancellation policy would not allow for any adjustments. While we understand she has a business to run, this was an extreme exception. As a client facing business, this is not a way to attract or retain guests. We were very turned off from this experience especially knowing that the airline gave us a full refund for canceling our flight and other friends who were traveling that weekend were also given refund from their hotels.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank AllisonB821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlislehouseinn, Owner at The Carlisle House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2011

This reviewer provides an incomplete account of what really happened when she called to cancel her reservation because of the storm. Our cancellation policy mirrors that of all the other B&Bs on Nantucket, and is in fact less stringent than some. When cancellations occur at the last minute in unusual circumstances such as those caused by Hurricane Irene, we offer a gift certificate to be used at another time. This reviewer failed to mention that she has a gift certificate that can be used for the same length stay at another time. We certainly hope she will come visit us in the future, using her gift certificate!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2011

As far as old house B&B's go, it probably doesn't get any better than this. It literally IS within walking distance of the ferry and within the little town. It's actually tastefully decorated, NOT cutesy, very appropriately traditional Nantucket decor... it fits the area.

Our room was on the third level so the roof had a slant to it we had to duck, but at least the room wasn't overstuffed with furniture as so many are. The windows opened and we were able to enjoy fresh breezes and the quiet neighborhood. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was small but workable. The breakfast room was sunny and pleasant.

Also, the proprietor was nice and ran it like a proper business not a hobby. Everything was clean and in working order. We would stay here again and maybe pop for a fireplace room if the season was right.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2011

I visited the island over Memorial Day Weekend and found this property through BedandBreakfast.com. The innkeeper was pleasant and accommodating during the booking process.

I was only on the island for one night and was not looking for luxury, so I was happy with this charming inn and felt like the rates at this property were very reasonable. The best part of the property for me was it's location. It is walking distance from the island nightlife, but on a quiet street so guests will not be disturbed.

The inn has an older, antique feel to it, but is a great value for the location and compared to other B&Bs in the area. I stayed in the Sconset Suite. There's a beautiful four poster bed and a small sitting area with a sofa and small library. It was a nice place to have a glass of wine and look out at the garden. Breakfast on the porch was nice, fresh fruit salad and pastries.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happysquirrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The Carlisle House Inn has become a getaway that my wife and I look forward to every year. The Innkeeper Heather has welcomed us for years like we are part of her family. We are greeted with homemade delights on the counter and a smile.

The morning breakfasts are delectable and the Inn's amenities (beach towels, etc) make traveling to an island very easy.

The location, Nantucket Island, needs no explanation - just PARADISE!

We'd recommend this stay for anyone looking for a great getaway!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We were extremely pleased with our stay at the Carlisle House, a traditional bed and breakfast inn, conveniently located steps from downtown. Rooms are a good size for the island and kept clean, with everything in working order. Inn was quiet in the evenings and mornings, which we really appreciated for a relaxing long weekend. Nice common areas and beautiful grounds. Innkeeper Heather was incredibly helpful and pleasant, starting months before when we made the reservation through our checkout. Breakfasts served at a reasonable hour and each day the offerings varied slightly. Cheese and wine reception was an excellent touch to mingle with other guests before heading out for the evening. Would highly recommend to other island visitors!

Room Tip: We stayed in Cisco, which we liked the location, size, and decor. The bed was squeaky; but nothing that can't be fixed
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLCote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews