We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice inn!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nantucket
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Carlisle House Inn
Ranked #10 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cooperstown, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice inn!”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

This is a very charming B&B on Nantucket Island with a great location. The innkeeper was very friendly and accommodating and the inn was beautifully decorated and very clean. There is a shared computer and sunny breakfast room, where thankfully coffee was available 24/7! Heather, our host, served a fabulous breakfast including her homemade pumpkin bread and fresh fruit. We were very comfortable in the only room on the 1st floor, despite the small bathroom. Off-season the inn and the neighborhood was very quiet and peaceful. We think the availability of beach items would be another plus on-season, and highly recommend the Carlisle!

Room Tip: First floor room is right next to breakfast room and shared computer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Architage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    36
    13
    8
    7
See reviews for
24
88
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We were supposed to stay at the Carlisle House Inn the weekend of Hurricane Irene. We live in Manhattan and had a flight to the island. Our flight was cancelled and the Mayor of NY was advising people to not travel. We asked for a refund or some discount on our stay at the Inn, knowing we had no way to get there and it was technically a state of emergency. The inn owner was extremely unsympathetic and stated clearly her cancellation policy would not allow for any adjustments. While we understand she has a business to run, this was an extreme exception. As a client facing business, this is not a way to attract or retain guests. We were very turned off from this experience especially knowing that the airline gave us a full refund for canceling our flight and other friends who were traveling that weekend were also given refund from their hotels.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlislehouseinn, Owner at The Carlisle House Inn, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
This reviewer provides an incomplete account of what really happened when she called to cancel her reservation because of the storm. Our cancellation policy mirrors that of all the other B&Bs on Nantucket, and is in fact less stringent than some. When cancellations occur at the last minute in unusual circumstances such as those caused by Hurricane Irene, we offer a gift certificate to be used at another time. This reviewer failed to mention that she has a gift certificate that can be used for the same length stay at another time. We certainly hope she will come visit us in the future, using her gift certificate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crestline, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

As far as old house B&B's go, it probably doesn't get any better than this. It literally IS within walking distance of the ferry and within the little town. It's actually tastefully decorated, NOT cutesy, very appropriately traditional Nantucket decor... it fits the area.

Our room was on the third level so the roof had a slant to it we had to duck, but at least the room wasn't overstuffed with furniture as so many are. The windows opened and we were able to enjoy fresh breezes and the quiet neighborhood. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was small but workable. The breakfast room was sunny and pleasant.

Also, the proprietor was nice and ran it like a proper business not a hobby. Everything was clean and in working order. We would stay here again and maybe pop for a fireplace room if the season was right.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I visited the island over Memorial Day Weekend and found this property through BedandBreakfast.com. The innkeeper was pleasant and accommodating during the booking process.

I was only on the island for one night and was not looking for luxury, so I was happy with this charming inn and felt like the rates at this property were very reasonable. The best part of the property for me was it's location. It is walking distance from the island nightlife, but on a quiet street so guests will not be disturbed.

The inn has an older, antique feel to it, but is a great value for the location and compared to other B&Bs in the area. I stayed in the Sconset Suite. There's a beautiful four poster bed and a small sitting area with a sofa and small library. It was a nice place to have a glass of wine and look out at the garden. Breakfast on the porch was nice, fresh fruit salad and pastries.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happysquirrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The Carlisle House Inn has become a getaway that my wife and I look forward to every year. The Innkeeper Heather has welcomed us for years like we are part of her family. We are greeted with homemade delights on the counter and a smile.

The morning breakfasts are delectable and the Inn's amenities (beach towels, etc) make traveling to an island very easy.

The location, Nantucket Island, needs no explanation - just PARADISE!

We'd recommend this stay for anyone looking for a great getaway!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We were extremely pleased with our stay at the Carlisle House, a traditional bed and breakfast inn, conveniently located steps from downtown. Rooms are a good size for the island and kept clean, with everything in working order. Inn was quiet in the evenings and mornings, which we really appreciated for a relaxing long weekend. Nice common areas and beautiful grounds. Innkeeper Heather was incredibly helpful and pleasant, starting months before when we made the reservation through our checkout. Breakfasts served at a reasonable hour and each day the offerings varied slightly. Cheese and wine reception was an excellent touch to mingle with other guests before heading out for the evening. Would highly recommend to other island visitors!

Room Tip: We stayed in Cisco, which we liked the location, size, and decor. The bed was squeaky; but nothing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLCote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The Inn was a typical B and B. It had great location, and the owner, Heather was a great hostess. If you are looking for a reasonable place to stay in Nantucket (if there. Is such a thing), this is a good place.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecnalkram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
4.3 km away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
260 reviews
0.2 km away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#7 of 14 in Nantucket
246 reviews
0.4 km away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.2 km away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
177 reviews
0.1 km away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 38 in Nantucket
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlisle House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlisle House Inn

Property: The Carlisle House Inn
Address: 26 N Water St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3548
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic charm and convenience are the hallmarks of this year-round downtown inn, formerly a whaling captain's home, situated just five minutes' walk from the ferries, shops, restaurants and beaches. Enjoy a warm and welcoming atmosphere and a variety of rooms to suit any traveler, from singles and double with shared bath to spacious queens, kings and suites with private baths. Free Wifi, A/C, TVs in every room, including some large flat-screen HDTVs. Four guest rooms have working fireplaces. Included in your rate is a delicious continental breakfast featuring home-baked breads and muffins, seasonal fruits, yogurts, cereals, coffee and tea. Common areas include a cozy parlor, guest office and lovely garden. We look forward to welcoming you at any time of year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Carlisle House Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing