We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jared Coffin House
Nearby Hotels
The Veranda House Hotel Collection(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beachside(Nantucket)
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wauwinet(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Elephant(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$225
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Nantucket Hotel & Resort(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$185
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Union Street Inn(Nantucket)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
21 Broad Hotel(Nantucket)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Internet
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
105
88
38
17
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
105
88
38
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdaniel websterno elevatorbagelssingle roomin townhistoric hotelthe main housecontinental breakfastoff seasoncomfortable bedheart of downtownwhaling museumold housebike rentalsrestaurants and shopsair conditionerrooms are small
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Nantucket in November is an interesting time to visit. Coming off season definitely has its perks and drawbacks. The stay at the Jared Coffin House was amazing. It is a great location just a short walk from the pier with a very friendly staff. Our room was a great size but the beds could have been more comfortable.

The staff offered to help make reservations in advance but we opted to make them upon our arrival. We definitely recommend Lola 41. It's one of the few places open and it gets crowded on the weekends. If it's still warm, its also worth renting a bike and heading to the brewery. The staff at Youngs is very knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlillie308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Stayed in a small room with single bed in the main building. Just enough room for one. Bed was comfortable with soft pillows. Being late in the season the crowds were sparse and so was the street noise. Located a short walk from the pier and at the end of one of the main shopping streets in Nantucket. Hotel has a restaurant and bar which were closed at the time of my visit. Breakfast isn't much so you may need to go out for the morning meal. The staff was exemplary in making sure everything was to my satisfaction.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingwestI10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

A great bed and breakfast (almost large enough to be a hotel). Has bar and restaurant in the main building. Terrific location in town within walking distance to the docks, shops, restaurants, etc. Beautiful and atmospheric building and rooms. Only issue was the mattress in our room. It sloped down in the middle so we spent the whole night either very, very close or climbing the outer sides of the mattress to get some breathing room. Avoid room 408 or ask if they have changed out the mattress!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim1845, General Manager at Jared Coffin House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Dear Nancy T - thank you for feedback regarding the mattress in room 408. I apologize for the inconvenience you incurred and please know we have replaced the mattress with a new one. Thank you for the kind words otherwise and on behalf of the entire team at the JC, we thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Jim Storey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Traveling in late October is great is you like quiet, an occasional cold day and cosy inns. Jared Coffin house is a good place to commune with the spirit of the founders as you hear the wind beating against the house on a raw, rainy evening as you are cosy in your warm bed. The rooms are good size, and the reception is gracious. The desk staff were exemplary in their desire to meet your needs, and the place was clean and well tended. The breakfast was a bit sparse, but I like my yogurt and fruit more that sweet pastries. The island is fun to explore with the help of a car. If the weather had been warmer biking would have been fun. Even off season with lots of seasonal closing it was an experience that I will savor. I am not a person who enjoys crowds, so I loved the quiet air of a town returned to the locals.

Room Tip: Walls were thin in the good old days, so quiet conversations are required.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

this hotel is being upgraded, without losing the charm of its wonderful history, and our rooms (two couples) were excellent, a little more expensive because they were larger. The location in the center of Nantucket town simply can't be beat, since everything but a surk beach is within walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pisces025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews