We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
111
90
39
19
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
111
90
39
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews daniel webster bagels no elevator in town beautiful inside the main house off season continental breakfast comfortable bed small room heart of downtown old house our honeymoon restaurants and shops wonderful stay white elephant ferry
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 271 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2016

Years ago, "The Jared" used to accept very well behaved dogs.

They no longer do, or at least they did not when I was last there. My Jack Russell Terrier, "Shubael" used to love to stay here. The rooms were luxuriously antiqued and the beds were very high and plush.
The dining room, is simple and easy with very "New Englandish" foods cooked to perfection! The richly tasting steaks are wonderful!

Shubael, always got a tiny piece after we dined there, which he LOVED! The hotel staff, always made him feel like a little King and catered to his every need, then.

The rooms are lush with antiques and the hotel sits right downtown, an easy walk from the Steamship Ferry. The staff are super great, caring and polite.
I love "The Jared" and would stay there over an dover and over, it's a wonderful warm and inviting hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a nice room, they are all great!
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Shubael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Jared Coffin House, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2016

Dear Shubael,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I was delighted to hear that our team provided you with such wonderful service, and that they made your visit, along with Shubael’s, a truly memorable one in past years.

Our sister property, The Cottages & Lofts, is pet friendly and offers unparalleled water views overlooking the Boat Basin while welcoming four-legged friends with a host of fun treats and pet amenities; we pride ourselves on ensuring that they receive the same high level of service and hospitality as their owners do.

We hope to welcome you back to Nantucket for a future visit and if I can be of any personal assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at msharlet@NIResorts.com. In the meantime, thank you again for your kind and thoughtful message.

Sincerely,
Michael Sharlet
General Manager
Jared Coffin House and The Cottages & Lofts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2016

Not my typical style of hotel, but pleasantly surprised. It's only a black or 2 from the ferry terminal on Broad Street and very near the epicenter of Nantucket town proper. The room felt like a bedroom with sash Windows and a very nice residential style dresser. Real hardwood floors with an area rug and posted beds. The bathroom was larger than one would expect. The whole property very clean. They provide complimentary water, coffee etc in a small "kitchen" area off the checkin desk/lobby. The gentlemean manning the desk was very polite and provided a typed list of local restaurants that were open as this was the off season. I would stay again and recommend to anyone looking. Note: I had a room with 2 beds, they were twin beds. Just be aware.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScubaTomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 11, 2015 via mobile

A nice spot in the heart of downtown walking distance to most things. Room is nicely appointed. Good spot will definitely visit here again. Beds are quite comfy and pillows are heavenly. Staff is very helpful in directing and answering questions.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Firemuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania J, General Manager at Jared Coffin House, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2015

Dear firemuppet,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the convenience of the location. Thank you too for your kind words about the staff.
Kind Regards,
Tania Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 5, 2015

Stayed here for a few days. Rooms are comfy, esp beds. Bathroom tiny but functional. Location is perfect! Even Santa visits here during Stroll weekend! Breakfast is included, but limited. This B and B is upscale and worth the extra cost. I hope to stay here again, in 2016.

Cancellation policy is unfortunate and strict, just be advised.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania J, General Manager at Jared Coffin House, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2015

Dear Suzie K,
Thank you so much for your review! Stroll is such a lovely time to visit the island and we are happy to read you may come back. Having Santa in our lobby on Stroll Saturday is such a lovely tradition and its so nice of him to make the time to meet with all the children on the island during his busy season.
Kind Regards,
Tania Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2015

We actually stayed here in October 2014. I've been meaning to write this sooner. Got a great package deal. We loved the location of the Jared Coffin and the feel of it(everything was in walking distance). The room we had was small but oh so charming with a cattycorner bathroom! We stayed for 3 nights. The one drawback is that it was located on the side of the building over the outside bar, which was still opened in the evenings. Since the weather was lovely, we had our windows opened so we could enjoy the cool evening air. I could hear the sound of glasses and ice clinking laughter, talking and Monday night football! All nice sounds but not good for sleeping. The breakfast was adequate. The staff was fabulous and aimed to please. This was a 65th birthday trip and Rachel, one of the managers found out and gave me a lovely box of chocolates and also gave us some recommendations for activities, restaurants, etc. We liked just sitting on the front porch steps hanging out.One evening, we did eat at the restaurant located in the hotel called PRIME. IT was very good and of course, convenient. Nothing is a bargain in Nantucket. There is a Stop and Shop in the center of town where you can get a prepared lunch and sit along the water and enjoy. Here are a few other suggestions that I'll pass along for food and fun: The Boarding House--up the street -don't miss the tomato fennel soup; Brant Point Grill. Excellent service , dinner, food and ambiance. The Club Car--did not eat there but do have a cocktail--cucumber gin and tonic. The Dunes--up the street from the hotel, the place of my birthday dinner..mmm. everything was so delicious! Unfortunately, it was a toss up between The Dunes and Languedoc..a lovely French restaurant also right up the street..was also highly recommended. Don't miss the Whaling Museum..also right up the street. It was absolutely fascinating if you are into history. since the weather was lovely , we rented bikes and toured. There are 2 bike rental places. One of our destinations was the Cisco Brewery. And for the best tour of the island, make a reservation with Island tour with Gail..6th generation Nickerson .. she is quite knowledgeable and will also show you some homes of the rich and famous!

Room Tip: When booking. ask for a quiet room.
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim1845, Manager at Jared Coffin House, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2015

Dear BarbaraandT - thank you very much for such a comprehensive review and we certainly appreciate your kind words. From all of us at the Jared Coffin House, thank you for sharing and thank you for staying with us. Regards, Jim Storey GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews