We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fabulous Visit... Top-Shelf Innkeeper” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Martin House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Martin House Inn
Ranked #16 of 39 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Bolton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Visit... Top-Shelf Innkeeper”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

If you are seeking a reasonably priced, comfortable "inn" experience, convenient to shops and restaurants, this is a nice choice. The large porch is a wonderful place to chill in the late afternoon or enjoy breakfast in the morning. I had a small room with a single bed on the 3rd floor, which was perfectly adequate for my needs. Friends were in larger rooms which had plenty of space for relaxing and the beds were very comfortable. The towels and robes are of a very high quality. Sharing a bathroom is not for everyone, but it is part of the value-oriented inn experience, and was done very nicely at Martin House Inn. The widows walk was great fun to visit via a small stair on the 3rf floor. The innkeeper / hostess, Skye, is an amazing pastry chef and very accomodating. She was a pleasure to work with on the telephone and extremely helpful during my visit. The owners could pay more attention to maintenance, but the place is quite comfortable. I would highly recommend visiting this inn, given its convenient location and wonderful hostess. Three stars for the inn and 5 for Skye. Love the cookies!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    47
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
29
107
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Our room was beautiful and clean and our bed very comfortable. Skye was a wonderful hostess...full of energy, a great cook, always accessable and with a great knowledge of the Island and suggestions on food and fun! After a nice ferry ride to the island and a short walk to the Martin House, we were greeted with an outstanding wine and cheese welcome that set the stage for an excellent stay! The Bike tour with Nantucket Bike Tours is a must! The sunset out at Madaket Beach is awesome! Cisco Brewery is a must visit, and their are too many good places to eat to even start to name. Also, Sconset Beach is worth the journey...20 mins by bus, 2 hours walking, anyway you get there you will enjoy it! Skye recommended all of these and she was right every time! She was also able to recommend different restaurants depending on your tastes and preferences. Probably only two things that would have made this a perfect 5 of 5 in every way...first was truly a preference, the room was very light as soon as the sun came up...I liked this, my wife would have rather had some longer darkness. Secondly, our bathroom was too small. We made due, and it didn't distract from the overall fun, just something we would change. We got to see other rooms and some had shared bathrooms, while others had larger bathrooms. Different people have different preferences, just something to ask about. We WILL return to Nantucket and we will most likely stay at the Martin House!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Champ_Summers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

i called three days prior to my stay due to the pending of Hurricane Irene. The island was evacuated and the ferry was cancelled, yet these yahoos will not refund my money. instead they want to give me a two year credit on a future stay. With the school year starting, this was the last weekend we could have made the eleven hour drive to Nantuckete.

I am thankful that put the charge on American Express so I have some assurance that the charge can be disputed.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Stayed here with my wife as part of 3 night stay this week. Positives are: nice location,walking distance to town,stores etc, Bed was comfortable,and sheets/towels are 1st class,also liked the "widowspeak" a deck on top of roof where you climb up through stairs on the 3rd floor. The view of the boats were great..Negatives: had double bed room on 3rd floor,had NO TV,had to share a bathroom with other rooms on floor. Went to use toilet in a.m and found feces stains on side of inner bowl,and also hair in the bath tub.Not a pleasant sight.The staff person is a great pastry chef and very nice.However the breakfast was "carb city".Bread,rolls,scones,toast with butter or jelly. Also, there is only one small ice machine. The place is dated, and if you want to live like you are in 1810 this place is for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jonathan021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Berkshires, Mass.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

Stayed in a single with bathroom for two nights in mid June. It was perfect. Skye is a fun hostess, extremely helpful, and her baking (she bakes for both Martin and Cliff House) is superb! Even cookies at odd times of day -- most welcome! The house is a treasure -- well preserved yet modern where you need it to be (like air conditioners provided in upper rooms that get less air cross-currents). Very prettily decorated -- a feast for the eyes. Beds very comfortable. Bathrobes in the closets for borrowing. Would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MW-Egr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

We won a visit to Nantucket in a neighborhood raffle including a two night stay at the Martin House. The house is lovely! We especially enjoyed having our breakfast on the wrap around porch. There are many different room sizes and decor. We had a lovely room with private bath and a twin sized sleep sofa for our son who was traveling with us. The bath included an (apparently) recently tiled shower. Everything was nicely decorated and very clean! We also appreciated the view from the widow's walk - beautiful! We had access to a refrigerator, ice maker and glassware in the dining room which facilitated our evening cocktail hour. Skye was so pleasant and was great about answering all of our questions and making recommendations about restaurants, bike rentals, etc. We enjoyed her breakfasts and baked goodies. It was great to be within walking distance of the ferry, museums, restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrenkardD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

This was my third visit to Nantucket and my third stay at the Martin House Inn. It's a lovely property, very well maintained and a five minute walk from Main Street. Skye is an excellent hostess who loves her work. All the rooms are different and have their own charms. Their sister property is Cliff Lodge, so if Martin House is full, call them. Martin House is highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.2 km away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
4.4 km away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.6 km away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 39 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.1 km away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#14 of 39 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.2 km away
Seven Sea Street Inn
Seven Sea Street Inn
#3 of 39 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin House Inn

Property: Martin House Inn
Address: 61 Center Street, Nantucket, MA 02554-3666
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Martin House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Martin House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin House Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing