We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This could be our favaourite hotel”
Review of White Elephant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Elephant
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“This could be our favaourite hotel”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We had a really fabulous stay at the White Elephant. This is probably, our favourite hotel, not just because of its location, well appointed rooms and facilities but because of the very warm welcome that we received. The staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel at home from the very beginning. The Spa was excellent and we had one of the best meals of the holiday in the restaurant.
We would recommend this hotel and certainly, will stay there again. Excellent in every way.

Room Tip: We had a room which overlooked the harbour which was excellent. It is worth choosing one of these ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Montagnedereves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear Brit abroad;

Thank you for posting your review. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay!


Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    59
    30
    23
    11
See reviews for
87
216
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was our first trip to Nantucket. This hotel was outstanding in too many ways to count. I will focus however, on the personalized and attentive service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbdiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear rbdiaz;

Thank you for posting your review of the White Elephant. I am glad you enjoyed the service we provide! Please let me know when you come back to stay with us!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I stayed at the White Elephant in a one bedroom cottage. What a dream! So well appointed, the perfect amount of space, a very, very comfortable bed. Just perfect. There are lawn chairs right outside on a communal lawn which was so relaxing. A short walk to the main hotel for afternoon cheese and port and a short walk into town. It is truly the best place to stay on the island, 2 thumbs up!!!

Room Tip: I prefer the cottages to the main hotel, much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaineDish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear MaineDish;

Thank you for posting such a nice review. I am glad you enjoyed yourselves! Please let me know when you come back to stay with us!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

this was our first trip to Nantuckett and as soon as we arrived we knew we would go back
Everything was as we hoped .The white Elephant Hotel is one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in.The rooms are first class as was the service in the hotel.we did look at the accomodations as well for future visits and already looking forward to going back.
I have no reservations on recommending this hotel.Easy to walk to town ,fantastic views across the Harbour.Superb breakfasts .What more can you want.We thought far better than the sister Hotel

Room Tip: we had one with Veranda so that we could sit outside worth asking for
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith186463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear keith186463;

Thank you for posting such a nice review! I am really glad that you had such a wonderful stay. Please let me know when you come back to visit with us!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westford, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

One of our favorite places to visit in the world! Both the island, and the White Elephant. Always a very accommodating staff. Rooms beautifully appointed, and meticulously clean. Food amazing! Entertainment in the tavern is a blast!
Charm of the Winter Stroll is second to none. Will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAndD80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear TAndD80;

Thank you for posting your review of the White Elephant. It sounds like you had a wonderful time! Stroll is an EXCELLENT time to come! Please let me know when you come back to stay with us!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

There are many amazing and quaint places in Nantucket to stay, but if you are celebrating a special occasion and want to be comfortable and not worry about anything, this is the place. we stayed before our wedding and the staff couldn't have been more thoughtful and helpful. They made the weekend that much more special. Every last detail is perfect - lasting memories.

Room Tip: Big rooms that face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agatha Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear Agatha Z;

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. It sounds like you had a wonderful stay. Please let me know when you come back to visit with us!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

You can't get a better location in Nantucket. Walkable to town and walkable to the beach. Gorgeous rooms and to die for Sunday brunch. Also saw some celebs during the Nantucket Film festival.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear Frank R!

Thank you for posting your review of the White Elephant. The FIlm Festival is a wonderful time to come! Please let me know when you come back to stay with us!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
9.5 km away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#11 of 14 in Nantucket
224 reviews
0.2 km away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.4 km away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
264 reviews
0.6 km away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
459 reviews
0.7 km away
76 Main
76 Main
#4 of 14 in Nantucket
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Elephant

Property: White Elephant
Address: 50 Easton St, PO Box 2580, Nantucket, MA 02554-2258
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — White Elephant 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Elephant has been an exclusive summertime retreat since the 1920s. The height of preppy New England elegance, this is the place where brides dream of being married and families come for generations. A stone's throw from the center of town, this 64-room island treasure has accommodations ranging from garden cottages to suites on the harbor. The hotel's mascot, a white elephant named Trunket, presides over its greener than green lawn. Set with plush lounge chairs, it overlooks bustling Nantucket Harbor and calm Children's Beach. Brant Point Grill serves up a famed Sunday brunch, with their signature Lobster Bloody Mary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your White Elephant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Elephant Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing