We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (494)
Filter reviews
494 results
Traveller rating
351
72
35
24
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
351
72
35
24
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brant point grill harbor view room bedroom cottage children's beach off season cupcakes the cottages luxury hotel in town charming hotel complimentary shuttle short walk called the front desk beautiful room main building the location is perfect jetties beach
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 494 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2018 via mobile

Stayed in a 2 bed 2 bath town house , pricey but well worth it for 5 people, super location walk to everywere , great staff, provided transportation and restraunt was top noch, get the lobster bloodymary.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank rosejdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2018

Dear rosejdg;

Thank you for your recent visit! You likely stayed in one of our two bedroom cottages. They are such a great layout! Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a kitchenette/Dining area, a den and a living room. Not to mention a private deck (which the one and three bedroom cottages don't have). I agree, they are wonderful.

We hope to see you again soon, enjoying a lobster bloodymary and overlooking the harbor!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2018

Our family had a wonderful Labor Day weekend stay at the White Elephant. We have stayed at the White Elephant twice before, including the previous Labor Day. In the past we have been in the main building with a Harbor View room. This time we elected to stay in a garden cottage. We had the Lilly Pulitzer cottage, which was charming and fun. The cottage was comfortable and the perks of staying at the White Elephant are numerous. We enjoyed having our morning coffee in the garden, which has chaise lounges and chairs. We loved the bikes for exploring the island or for just biking down the road for a morning beach walk. The shuttle service is excellent and convenient, particularly for the ferry and local beach transport. We also love that the hotel provides beach chairs, towels, and umbrellas. The staff are lovely, friendly, and professional. We want to give a special shoutout to Gary. He went above and beyond to make our stay as comfortable as possible. He even went as far as to carry our chairs down the platform at Jetties beach. He did so without our asking, as he saw that my father had a stroke and has a hard time with his balance. Gary could not have been more kind, and staff like Gary are the reason we will return to the White Elephant.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2018

Dear Kelly G;

Thank you for staying with us in our adorable Lilly Cottage. As you are aware, we partnered with Lilly Pulitzer to make this cottage over in their very unique style. It turned out amazing. I am glad you chose it and that it worked well for you.

I am glad Gary took good care of you! It is nice that you mentioned him!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Great location, quiet, friendly staff. Small kitchen available so breakfast was easier. I would recommend renting a car if you want to go to other parts of the island as it is not walkable. Beaches are awesome.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NorthDakotaSioux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2018

Dear NorthDakotaSioux;

It sounds like you were either in one of our two bedroom cottages or a residence, since you had a kitchenette. If this is an important feature, we absolutely recommend you mention this while making reservations. I am glad you loved it.

Getting to beaches other than Jetties, Children's or Steps can be done by bike, Uber, the island Wave Bus or taxi. Renting a vehicle for a day or two is also a wonderful idea.

Thank you for posting your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2018

We stayed for an evening before renting a home with 10 family in Nantucket. Great way to start the vacation. Amenities were great, the staff beyond exceptional with great service across all arenas. We will stay anytime in Nantucket.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2018

Dear Bill C;

Thank you so very much for taking the time to post your review. I am glad you treated yourself to a night before the family vacation. It is important to take that time too.

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2018

Our family of two adults and two toddlers had an excellent stay this summer. The hotel is located just outside of town - allowing it to provide a quiet retreat while still being walk-able to downtown. Its proximity to Children's Beach was a huge plus for our kids - as were the beach toys and wagon for hauling everything back and forth. Our suite was small but a great layout for families, and the view from our patio was spectacular. The front desk staff were fantastic, and we loved the complimentary shuttle to in-town destinations and Jetties Beach. The concierge could've been a bit more friendly, and the restaurant's menu was limited and a dash overpriced (roughly $18 for a simple children's meal!) but otherwise, it was a charming place and we'll definitely be back.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EBO925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2018

Dear Elisabeth O;

Thank you for bringing your family to stay with us! Our suites are a good layout and work well for two adults and two kids. Once they get a little older we recommend a larger cottage or residence. I am glad to hear you loved our new wagons. They are truly adorable.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews