We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location Location Location!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin
Ranked #10 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Location Location Location!!!”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I stayed at the cottages for a girls weekend and was more than impressed. One could not ask for a better location as the cottages are a short walk from the Hyline Ferry, overlooking the water and cobblestone streets of Nantucket. We had 2 cottages that were clean, spacious and had a beautiful balcony overlooking the Gazebo bar. In addition, the staff were very friendly. We were able to take a bus to the beach and the hoetel provided beach towels, chairs and a cooler. Overall, we had a great experience and will definately be staying at the Cottages again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    31
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
43
70
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Beautiful rooms, great location and great service. I definitely recommend taking advantage of the Beach Bus while you're here...they'll pick you up, take you to the beach and provide you with towels, beach chairs and a cooler. Looking forward to my next trip already!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cristina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I have stayed at the cottages twice now and I don't think I can go anywhere else. I have stayed in both the loft style and larger multi bedroom cottages too and each time I really enjoy the experience. The decor is light and airy, much like a beach cottage. The kitchens are a good size and have all the basics you need to cook, it wasn’t something we did but nice to have the option. They also some equipped with the Keurig coffee machines. The rooms are very open and have plenty of sunlight; the beds are really comfortable too. The location of the cottages really can't be beat; you are in the heart of down town and can walk to everything which is great. I highly recommend staying here if you are visiting Nantucket!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tara t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We had 2 of the cottages above Provisions for a girls weekend and we could not have been happier with the Cottages at Boat Basin! We were pleasantly surprised to find the rooms, clean, modern and well decorated! The beds were comfy and linens crisp white! We had the perfect balcony overlooking the water and the gazebo bar right downstairs. Everything was right at our finger tips and we could walk anywhere! Would stay here and recommend to anyone looking for a nice place to stay right in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a Balcony with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazionway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We traveled to Nantucket for a wedding and had a great time. The accommodations were great. Everyone was VERY friendly. The driver took us on a tour of the island and helped us get to other destinations. They addressed every need and provided a mending kit for a dress prior to the wedding. We had a cabin on the water and it was just a surreal stay. Worth it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duckyjensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

.

We just returned from 3 nights staying in the Kitty Wake cottage at the boat basin . It’s a beautiful spot at the end of the pier Kitty wake is a 2 bedroom upside down cottage . The 2 -bedrooms are on ground level with a full bath no tub small shower . The master bedroom with queen bed no TV & window air conditioner . The guest rm has 2 twin beds that can be put together for a king bed ,which we did & it worked out great , Window air conditioner & flat screen TV . Neither bed room had a chair which would have been nice to have . You go up stairs using a spiral staircase There is a ½ bath up there & living room /dining area & small kitchenette. There is NO air conditioning up stairs though there is a sliding door to a deck overlooking the water . There are 2 fans to help move the air , The rooms were clean though the drawers in the bedroom & kitchen had a musty smell. The overall cottage just didn't have that up to date warm cozy welcoming feel we were expecting for the price we were paying & other places we have stayed . The rooms just lacked some decorating touches & it definitely could use a fresh coat of paint . The bed was very comfortable as was the fairly new couch . The cottages at the boat basin are certainly a wonderful spot but with the high prices you do pay you have expectations for an upscale cottage as well which we couldn’t say we found on this stay . Though as for the staff I cannot say enough positive things on how great they were

Room Tip: I would asked which rooms were recenty updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TobyCapecod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxhaw NC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I know I am in the minority here but I was not thrilled with our Boat Basin experience. I think I should point out a few items that might matter to others that have similar travel tastes. Ours was a small unit, which was fine since there were only two of us. It was impeccably clean which was great. It was precious to look at, classic New England coastal decor but for me that's where it ended. The bed was a queen and not comfortable. On vacation we like to spread out and get a good nights sleep. The bathroom was no larger then a closet and had nothing that says luxury. The kitchen was fine but the one thing we would have used was the coffee maker which was either broken or I just simply wasn't using it correctly, I don't know as there were no directions. It was one of those one cup deals, of which I have used plenty but for whatever reason this one didn't work. It was also quite noisy day and night with boats coming in, you are right on the docks, and the parties at night. The curtains were inadequate to keep out the morning sun, so we were woken up around 4:30. It was a cool place but not in the least relaxing for us, we left there tired. As far as accommodations it was just average. All of that made the $700 a night price tag a little hard to swallow.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brownfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.5 km away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.5 km away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.5 km away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
9.7 km away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#11 of 14 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.4 km away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 14 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin

Property: The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin
Address: 24 Old South Wharf, Nantucket, MA 02554
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin offer a front row view of the island's natural wonder. Enjoy waterfront cottages and lofts with decks and harbor views, kitchens, free Wi-Fi, bicycles, a beach bus and pet friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages At Boat Basin Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing