We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food/ Very crowded”
Review of Black-Eyed Susan's

Black-Eyed Susan's
Ranked #30 of 152 Restaurants in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

Wait staff courteous and quick. Comfort food breakfast and brunch.
This is not the place of you are looking for a quiet place. It is hopping! You have to wait outside if tables are not available. Very small space

The woman greeting patrons at the door could be more inviting.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank ingridt88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 573 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2018

After all the excellent things we'd heard about this establishment, we went in with high expectations. Maybe that was the downfall. However, for two persons, to spend $68 for a breakfast that was diner quality, at best, and then feel rushed the entire time you are eating, not my thing. It seemed like a refill of coffee killed the server each time, and asking for a water refill as we were scoping out the rest of the day, a literal sigh escaped the server. I could overlook all of that if the food was spectacular, but frankly it just wasn't. I really wanted to like it given the good things, but just wasn't up to snuff that day.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rmc1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2018

We were 10 minutes late for our reservation ... we had to go to an ATM since they only accept cash! We were greeted by the host: "You are 10 minutes late, in 5 minutes I was going to give you table away! There are 10 people waiting!" We had just made the reservation in the late afternoon so unlikely we wouldn't have shown up! And over the next hour +, 3 couples (each alone) came into the restaurant - 2 were seated at the bar and one at a table.
Took a while to get a menu and our server was unfriendly and not very communicative - and it is a small noisy place so we had to ask to have her repeat things! Thankfully the food was good but the greeting when we arrived and service will make me think twice about returning!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018

There was a line to get in for breakfast but wasn't a long wait. Got in to a seat at the counter - this place is small but so cute! Had great fun watching the cook - very talented and fun to watch! He has it down! Old-fashioned service, with hand-written tab and free coffee refills. The coffee was really, really good.. nice and strong. Ordered the veggie scramble - watched it being made too- and it was amazing. Really enjoyed our breakfast and made friends with a couple at the bar who gave us recommendations of what to do during the day as we hadn't been to Nantucket before. Really cute place and wanted to return but had busy schedule the next day.. Highly recommend - please note they accept cash only.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank musimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2018 via mobile

Food was delicious but it was too hot sitting at the counter and the host is unfriendly and rude with no custom service skills. She practically kicked us out before we were done.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank cbrehm234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black-Eyed Susan's also viewed

 

Been to Black-Eyed Susan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing