We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, atmosphere, rooms”
Review of La Villa Serena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Villa Serena
Ranked #5 of 131 Antigua B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent service, atmosphere, rooms”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I had the privilege of staying at La Villa Serena in February '11 for 5 days. My stay couldn't have been better. Marina is a hostess that truly cares about her patrons. She is happy to suggest excursions, arrange transportation, and just chat about life in Guatemala. A more homey atmosphere could not be created. Her staff is happy to accomodate guests and cook some of the best food I have ever tasted. It is home cooked food, but better than that which is here at home! Guatamalan and Central American specialties are the order of the day. The rooms are each unique with individual themes, many of the decorations are artifacts, and possessions that Marina has collected in her worldly travels.

Would I return? In a heartbeat. I really developed a love affair with Marina, her staff, and La Villa Serena. If you are thinking of a trip to this part of the world, your experience will be enhanced greatly by a stay at La Villa Serena.

Room Tip: Rooms have different themes and are different sizes. Ask when you make a reservation what size/room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
45
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Our party of six were treated like family. The rooms are beautifully and uniquely furnished. Lots of old world charm and with every comfort. It doesn't seem possible that the staff could treat all guests as lavishly as we were treated, but I'm sure they would like to. I hope to bring my wife back for a visit someday soon.

Room Tip: We had three rooms booked and I got a peek at a couple others. One seemed as fabulous as the next.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ned O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I found out about La Villa Serena from a friend who stayed here before. I fell in love with the place long before I got there. The hotel is a gem, like a bouquet of flowers. Everything is beautifully placed with absolute great taste. The six rooms each have a charming unique theme. Large and clean. My room had a window that opened to a jasmine tree! The aroma every morning was heavenly. The garden is a sanctuary of flowers and plants, a retreat, a serene place to sit in and enjoy a book or a talk with a friend.

Marina, the owner, is a dear, charming and worldy lady. She has full command of english language. A world traveler herself, she understands what it takes to have a great vacation. She went out of her way everyday to make us feel at home. She helped us arrange trips to Tikal, Chichi, Panajachal and Coban. She even spend a day with us as a tour guide in Antigua. Her staff is very friendly. They made the best food i tasted in Guatemala.

If you enjoy peace and quiet, a home away from home, and would like to make new lifetime friends, visit La Villa Serena. Thank you Marina!

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

I stayed here for four days in late January/early February of this year. The few wonderful reviews on here do not do the place justice. I love luxury hotels, but in the last few years I've decided to seek out more unique, boutique like hotels and inns that represent the surroundings, but are still comfortable, and somewhat pampering. La Villa Serena certainly fits that bill! It's in a quiet spot in Antigua (and we did stay a couple other places in Antiqua that were nice, but quite loud at night), but is still walkable to everything - we never took a taxi. We spoke no Spanish, and were not only delighted to discover Marina spoke perfect English, but thrilled that she was willing to arrange anything for us, even when we were no longer actually staying at her inn - we called her up from another hotel and she arranged a trip to Tikal for us! We hiked the volcanoes and went to Chichi, all with pickup at the inn and payment through Marina - couldn't have been easier! This is not something she pushes, it is just something she offers. The inn itself couldn't have been more delightful: large rooms, clean as could be, decorated tastefully, and with very charming details including wood beams, wood doors, small balconies, tiled bathroom floors, etc. There is a lovely courtyard you can have your complimentary breakfast in, as well as shaded areas for dining, hammocks for reading, etc. I sometimes found it hard to leave, as I would have liked to just spend an afternoon reading a book there. I cannot recommend this place enough. I will absolutely stay there again.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AureliaDifani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kobe, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
419 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

We stayed there for 3 nights and had a great time. It is located in a quiet area,but not far from the squire(10 min. walk). Each rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable.The owner, Marina speaks English very well and she always smiled and made us feel at home.We had tamales for breakfast and tasted really great, so we asked for her to have it again and she prepared for our last day.
When we returned from Pacaya Volcano at night, we were too tired to go to the restaurant and she offered some bread and tea in her kitchen.
Thanks Marina!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2010

I was supposed to stay only one week in Antigua but I ended up extending my trip by an additional week due the charm and hospitality of this place and its owner. I found here something that I rarely find in my trips. In Villa Serena you can find an absolute dedication to every detail, an incredible sense of beauty and excellent taste. Every detail has been carefully thought through.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2010

I went to Antigua for Semana Santa and was lucky enough to get a room at La Villa Serena at relatively short notice. ( I doubt people will be able to do this in the future when word spreads however)

The rooms each have a unique theme which have been done really well ( even an aussie one for me !) and are of the same standard as a 4 star hotel.

As there are only 6 rooms around a great little courtyard it has a great friendly family atmosphere . Make sure you head up to the roof deck to take in the incredible view of the looming volcano from the comfy banana lounges !

I really enjoyed sitting in the kitchen at breakfast and discussing my adventures with the dynamic mother daughter duo of Marina And Marietta ( they spoke better english than me !) and in many ways my time there felt like i was on a home stay .

Being a 10 minute walk from the center it felt like you were staying in the "real " Anitgua and meant that it was super quiet which combined with the excellent beds i was always bouncing out of bed to take on another day in Antigua.

I even got help with my spanish
stay here - its great

kevin gibson

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
1.6 km away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.9 km away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#7 of 75 in Antigua
310 reviews
0.8 km away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#29 of 75 in Antigua
422 reviews
1.3 km away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
1.6 km away
Hotel Sor Juana
Hotel Sor Juana
#4 of 131 in Antigua
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Serena

Property: La Villa Serena
Address: Callejon del Espiritu Santo #16, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Villa Serena 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet and secluded neighborhood, we invite you to visit our premises and delight yourself in our lush vegetation and our collection of more than 300 hundred orquids. Have a wonderful and restfull night's sleep in an extremely confortable mattress and cover yourself with a cozy down conforter. In the morning have an amazing complimentary breakfast, including homemade marmaledes, fresh juices and Antigua coffe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Villa Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing