We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excelente experiencia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Meson del Valle
Ranked #29 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Guatemala City, Guatemala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excelente experiencia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

We celebrated our engagement in the hotel. The hotel is very cosy and private, makes you feel like home. Had a delicious breakfast by the garden and sat outside with the laptop to relax.
It's a great choice for couple's getaways.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler13413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    60
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
20
71
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

The hotel is located in a very quiet place and 3 blocks away from the central park. The rooms are very good and clean, has a shower and jettub. Breakfast included but the cook is not always on the hotel ( at least for our stay), so you have to set it the night before when you want the breakfast so the cook can come. The breakfast was very typical and delicious and a good amount.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose_C_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

On a recent visit to Guatemala, I stayed at the Hotel Meson del Valle in Antigua. I have visited Antigua, on many occasions, and this is the best hotel in the city I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. The hotel is located just a block and half from the park, and there were beautiful views of both the Arch and the volcano as I stepped outside my hotel room door. The rooms were nicely furnished, and the gardens were breathtaking. I was told the hotel was under new ownership and the staff and new owner were friendly, helpful, and cordial. I could not have asked for a better experience. I give it my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RK-Alaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

This is a very small hotel with a cute garden and a very good location to be able to walk around Antigua. It is only three blocks away from the park in the center of town.
The rooms are basic and clean, but really dark and humid. Our room had a very strong smell of humidity. They gave us a dehumidifier to make it better.
The place is run by a few young women who were very helpful and eager to please us with breakfast and other arrangements.
I'm not sure about the value because we didn't look at any other hotels, but I wouldn't have paid any more than we did ($80/night for 2 people, breakfast included) for this place.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAG19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mexicohicks1, Owner at Hotel Meson del Valle, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
We appreciate any reviews, but would perfer fair reviews. This couple was correct on us being a small hotel with "helpful and eager to please service". However, when they call (a large suite room with queen size bed, separate sitting area, flat screen TV & a bathroom with a 2 person corner jacuzzi tub and separate shower), a basic room, they could not be further from the truth. For a normal or basic room in Antigua Guatemala, you get a single or double bed, no TV, no sitting area, and sometimes shared bath. We, at Hotel Meson del Valle, offer excellent value for the way above average room types & service. During the rainy season, most of Antigua is very humid, including hotel rooms, and this guest's stay was right at the end of the rainy season. I feel we did a good job of accomodating them by giving them a dehumidifier. Most hotels would not even have this, but we try to give a better service than most. I am sorry this guest did not feel great about our hotel, but I hope they maybe return to Antigua during the dry season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#25 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.4 km away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#16 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#3 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
#22 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.3 km away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#9 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.0 km away
Casa Florencia Hotel
Casa Florencia Hotel
#30 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meson del Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meson del Valle

Property: Hotel Meson del Valle
Address: Avenida Sur #11C City center 5a | Sacatepequez, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meson del Valle 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful 4-star hotel in the colonial city of Antigua Guatemala, 2 blks from central park, on the famous Arch Street. We offer everything you need for a comfortable & enjoyable vacation. All 10 beautiful rooms are w/bath (some w/Jacuzzi tubs), cable TV, DVD, fast WI-FI & a guest internet computer to use free, breakfast offered, travel agency, travel services & a helpful bilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Meson del Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing