We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A peaceful spot in the bustle of Antigua.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Las Marias

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Las Marias
Ranked #7 of 129 Antigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
“A peaceful spot in the bustle of Antigua.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Spent 3 nights here at the start of our holiday. Its a short walk from the centre of Antigua but no problem at all. The staff were incredibly friendly and looked after us really well. The room was spotless. Breakfast was simple but tasty in the lovely little courtyard.
I'd definitely recommend this as a place to stay to enjoy Antigua.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    64
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
87
23
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Our education group of 6 small families and teachers stayed here so comfortably. The staff is amazing, very accommodating and helpful. And all of them were so fun and kind with the kids. The breakfast is just what you need, and there is a perfect amount of common space for socializing. Excellent experience.

Room Tip: It is difficult to find on your own, but be persistent. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenngeist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ochiltree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Lovely bright airy room with ensuite. The garden was very well kept, staff friendly and helpful. The hostal is in a private security entrance street and feels secure. The breakfast is adequate and is self service in the terrace around the garden, very pretty.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkkk64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I was a bit surprised upon arriving to the Hostal to find out how "far" it is from the Parque Central (main plaza). Don't get me wrong- it is only a 10 minute walk. Still, it is located about as far as you can get from the Parque Central while still being in the charming part of Antigua. In the end the location did not detract from my visit. Also, it gives the hostal the advantage of being very, very peaceful and quiet. The staff was always helpful (even let me borrow one of their own bags since I forgot a purse; thank you!) and the price is good. However, it is not the right place for you if you are looking to be in the middle of the action in Antigua.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwadem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

My husband, son, daughter and granddaughter spend 2 nights at Hostal Las Marias and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. The breakfast was excellent and the staff was very helpful in providing information as to phone #'s to order food and transportqation. We got to order fried chicken and it was delivered to our room (Pollo Campero). Everytime we wanted to go to the central park we asked the person at the desk to call a tuk tuk for us since I can't walk long distances and had no problems traveling back and forth. You felt very secure and safe in this hostal since it has a gated entrance. I have no hesitation in recommending Hostal Las Marias very highly. Rooms are very clean, beds are comfortable and the prices are reasonable!

Room Tip: There is one room with a fireplace and it is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guatemalteca983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The friendly staff at the hotel add to the charm of this truly wonderful hotel! Just far enough away to hear only birds but close enough to walk to central park in 5 minutes (and a very safe walk as well) I have been traveling as a single female, and felt very comfortable walking to and fro - so much so, I kept returning - 6 nights in all. Hostal Las Marias is a wonderful escape from the noise and cars of La Antigua- all just a short walk away- or a tuk-tuk for 5Q.
** if you travel with you bike, the friendly staff accommodate bike storage and even offered a hose for me to clean my bike after a ride. When I return to La Antigua next year, you will find me staying here! Best night sleep in La Antigua (not to mention, hot coffee early in the morning, just outside your door!)

Room Tip: all the rooms are wonderful- I stayed in 3 of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bethany e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

My cousin and I spent three days at Hostal Las Marias and loved everything about it. It's a beautiful house (it's basically a mini hacienda) with a gorgeous garden, located inside a gated community. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable and the service is the best part. The owner was so attentive and nice, she even helped us secure a reservation at a fancy restaurant where one of our favorite musicians was playing one night. They also offer airport pickup which is great, especially if you want to spend little to no time in Guatemala city.
Oh and did I mention the breakfast was DELICIOUS? The house itself is a few blocks away from the city center but the walk is safe and pleasant.
We hope to return to the lovely city of Antigua in Dec 2012 and we already know we will be staying in Hostal Las Marias.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamburglar25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#45 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#26 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
1.8 km away
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
#22 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
23.9 km away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#59 of 82 in Antigua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.9 km away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#15 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Las Marias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Las Marias

Property: Hostal Las Marias
Address: Calle a San Bartolo | Las Jacarandas #7, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Las Marias 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Las Marias is a hotel with a mixture of style Colonial folklore of Guatemala and today's comfort facilities. We are located in a quiet area of the city of Antigua, away from city center's noisy movement but a few blocks from the Central Park. Hostal Las Marias is a ten- room family-owned, the rooms are arranged around a garden courtyard and are comfortably furnished with private baths and cable TV. Each room is decorated with carefully selected hand craft details from the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Las Marias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing