We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Update on a great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel la Catedral

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel la Catedral
Ranked #12 of 80 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Yankton, South Dakota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Update on a great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed last year as well, and the upgrade is considerable. Same affable staff, same great location, same beautiful grounds.. Many more breakfast choices, and they have added a lounge which is lovely. Exciting things are happening at Hotel La Catedral! We love this place.

Room Tip: Only eight rooms to choose from. All are good, there is street noise but it drops precipitously at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwydox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco G, Gerente at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this review, 20 November 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por hospedarse con nosotros fue un placer haberle servido.
Los esperamos en otra ocasión en esté rincón colonial, que puede disfrutar del hotel y de la Ciudad.
Atentamente.
Marco G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    53
    9
    0
    4
See reviews for
56
98
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

I found Hotel la Catedral on trip advisor. I am glad I stayed there for my week in Antigua.

Lovely renovated old (1550's) house with modern touches. There are only 8 rooms. Some without windows/ however very high beautiful wooden ceilings- but that is the style of homes; rooms from that era. I asked for an air ventilator and one was brought to my room asap. They moved me from a nice room in the back to a larger room for the rest of my stay which I thought was a nice gesture as well.
The rooms are comfortable. The whole place is very clean. But what makes the place wonderful is the great staff. All of them genuine and caring. The location is as central as you can get in Antigua. I don't mind walking on the cobblestones and uneven sidewalks; but that is part of the charm of this Latin America city -fyi do bring a small hand held flashlight when you do go to Antigua --walking at night can be a challenge.
I think Hotel la Catedral is a boutique style hotel without trying to have any of the pretenses --
it is charming and very well done. I look forward to returning. They seem to be adding a bar area which will make it a little more competitive with the other top end boutique hotels of Antigua.


Even though I would not say the hot water is extremely hot (it is a house from the 1550's and it is Guatemala--nor that the wifi works well in your room (the walls are that thick; but then again the wifi is complimentary) but it works well in the patio/verandah and such a nice place to sit and relax. It was so pretty at night with lights and the soothing sounds of the water fountain. The flowers and greenery just make it that more charming and relaxing
I definitely would stay there again. It is a value with the wonderful breakfast included.

Just book early since it seems to have caught on already!

Room Tip: Depends--at first I thought the larger room on the corner would be too noisy. But it wasn't for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atl404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco G, Gerente at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this review, 20 November 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por hospedarse con nosotros fue un placer haberle servido.
Los esperamos en otra ocasión en esté rincón colonial, que puede disfrutar del hotel y de la Ciudad.
Atentamente.
Marco G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

This hotel was a family home until a year and a half ago; it was part of the palace. Although it is only 1/2 block off of the plaza it is very quiet with a beautiful inner court yard filled with plants and flowers and comfortable seating. The rooms are modern yet maintain a colonial feel with beautiful furnishings and new bathrooms. The location does allow for some noise at night but only minimally and not much of an interference. The breakfast is great, made to order. We were a group of 6 women and so we had almost the whole place to ourselves and we were all really pleased with this "find" thanks to reviews here which were on target. The staff was so nice and attentive and we would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: I had room # 4 which had a little sitting area and a king sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelover1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco G, Gerente at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this review, 20 November 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por hospedarse con nosotros fue un placer haberle servido.
Los esperamos en otra ocasión en esté rincón colonial, que puede disfrutar del hotel y de la Ciudad.
Atentamente.
Marco G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

We had a wonderful stay at la catedral. The rooms are beautiful, the staff are amazing & the food & ambience absolutely first class. We would recommend this hotel to anybody. Thanks for a relaxing & lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco G, Gerente at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this review, 20 November 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por hospedarse con nosotros fue un placer haberle servido.
Los esperamos en otra ocasión en esté rincón colonial, que puede disfrutar del hotel y de la Ciudad.
Atentamente.
Marco G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

I just stayed here over the New Year's holiday and had a great time. I tried to book at the Santo Domingo but couldn't get a room so I ended up staying here. I was a little worried as I was traveling with my girlfriend who is accustomed to the finer things in life, but we both ended up loving the place and glad we stayed here over the S.D. Everything from the charming courtyard where we had excellent traditional (included) Guatemalan breakfast each morning to the beautifully done rooms, to the brand new bathrooms to being in the perfect location made us love this place. Marco at the front desk was as good as it gets with helping us pick restaurants, book a hike to the volcano, transport to the airport and get tickets to the best NYE party, etc. And the location was perfect, right next to the main square, and a comfortable walk from just about everywhere we went, which is another advantage over the S.D. which is somewhat out of the way. Being that there are only a few rooms here made the service that much better and definitely the place to stay if you want to be away from the madding crowd. The only real downside was that our room was right on the street so it was a tad noisy, but we ended up leaving the light/vent on in the bathroom which provided enough "white noise" to block out the street noise, so maybe request a room on the other side of the courtyard, and this may not be much of an issue during less busy times.

Room Tip: ask for a room not on the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco G, Gerente at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this review, 20 November 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por hospedarse con nosotros fue un placer haberle servido.
Los esperamos en otra ocasión en esté rincón colonial, que puede disfrutar del hotel y de la Ciudad.
Atentamente.
Marco G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

I just spent this Christmas holiday at this hotel with my husband and my 3 year old daughter, and it was absolutely magical. The breakfast is delicious, the service is great, the rooms are modern, and I love the fact that the owner of the hotel grew up in this house. Apparently we stayed in the room that was hers as a little girl. The location was ideal and you an walk anywhere from this hotel. I truly felt like I was in someone's home.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco G, Gerente at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this review, 20 November 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por hospedarse con nosotros fue un placer haberle servido.
Los esperamos en otra ocasión en esté rincón colonial, que puede disfrutar del hotel y de la Ciudad.
Atentamente.
Marco G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
147 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

Perfect location with good service and the staff was very friendly and always there to help.
Rooms are all unique and breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smookToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco G, Gerente at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this review, 20 November 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por hospedarse con nosotros fue un placer haberle servido.
Los esperamos en otra ocasión en esté rincón colonial, que puede disfrutar del hotel y de la Ciudad.
Atentamente.
Marco G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 km away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#2 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
23.2 km away
Casa Santo Domingo
Casa Santo Domingo
#6 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#22 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
1.0 km away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#5 of 80 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.4 km away
Casa Encantada
Casa Encantada
#9 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Catedral

Property: Hotel la Catedral
Address: 4ta. Avenida sur # 4 | La Antigua Guatemala, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 80 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel la Catedral 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Catedral is an authentic Spanish Colonial house, originally built as part of the "Palacio de los Capitanes Generales" in the center of Antigua, Guatemala. Its construction began in 1558. The space was rebuilt in 1754 and it was used as the residence of the General Capitan. The hotel is located one block from the Central Park and the Cathedral (Catedral de Santiago). It is within a minute or two walking distance from many restaurants, cafes, boutiques, and Spanish Colonial ruins. As one of the original structures in Antigua, Hotel La Catedral preserves its charm and elegance and it has been completely restored to bring you all the comfort and rest you're looking for during your stay. It has a very cozy and romantic environment, just like Antigua itself. The hotel has 8 rooms with a King Size bed or with two Full Size beds. Each room individually decorated to give you a slightly different feel each time you visit us. All of them are equipped with Flat Panel TV set, DVD Player, Cable TV, Security Box, Wireless Internet (at no additional cost), telephone and alarm clock. All bathrooms are stylishly and individually designed with antique marble. All toiletries and hair dryer also included. All our rates include, Full a La Carte Breakfast, free international calls to designated countries (time limited) and private parking in the same location. In the same facilities we have an equipped private meeting room and a Family Lounge-Bar. We also organize and coordinate your Tour needing's to any other beautiful destinations as well as transportation from and to Guatemala City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel la Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing