We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chez Daniel is simply great!”
Review of Chez Daniel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chez Daniel
Ranked #1 of 133 Antigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chez Daniel is simply great!”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We spent 10 wonderful days at Chez Daniel, and loved every minute, especially coming "home" after long forays into Antigua and the surrounding (beautiful) area. Some days, we felt so comfortable just hanging out, reading, sipping great coffee. Daniel, Maria Elena and Marleni are warm and attentive, and always ready and willing to offer recommendations, travel tips and arrangements. We will defintely book Chez Daniel for our next trip to the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    21
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
58
133
32
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The lodging is quiet, generously sized, well maintained, and a true delight. Daniel's staff is well trained to please, and the breakfasts are more than continental. Daniel's willingness to allow guests to buy their own food allows you to supplement the given fare. Daniel is a quirky but infinately patient and knowledgable host. Be sure to sit down with Daniel to discuss your plans -- he will undoubtedly offer other suggestions you would be well advised to consider.

Room Tip: Wi-fi reception in the end room is a bit iffy. They have a small book exchange offered to guests th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCM3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I enjoyed every minute I spent at Chez Daniel.
The whole house is very nice and I really liked the fact that it is just a small B&B, this makes the atmposphere at Chez Daniel very familiar.
I was positively surprised to have such big room and big bathroom and I absolutely loved the bed, I so wanted to take it home with me :) And it was nice to be woken up only by singing birds in the morning and with a wonderful view on the volcano :)
In the room you have a lot of space for your clothes and you can use the kitchen, so this is an ideal place also if you want to stay for a longer period of time. The room and the whole B&B were always very clean and the whole staff were very friendly. Most of the time I was in contact with Marleni, she is one of the loveliest people I have ever met and she gave me so many good recommendations on where to eat, shop, what to see etc.
Breakfast is really nice: I loved so much the cappuccino :)
I think Chez Daniel offers a great service even before you get there: I always got a very prompt answer to all my emails, they arranged transport from the airport for me and they even re-confirmed by booking per email prior to my arrival. And of course you get amazing service when you get there, too :)
I hope to visit Antigua again some day and I would definitely choose Chez Daniel again.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room from which you can see the volcano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancyBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed for three nights in order to visit the town if Anigua and to climb the Pacaye volcano.

This is a beautiful, new B&B, set in nice spacious grounds. The rooms were huge with big bathrooms. Comfortable beds, very clean, free purified water and cable TV chucked in.

The manager was helpful with all sorts of recommendations of where to visit and eat.

Breakfast was simple but served in a nice area. There was lots of books and more info on Antigua than you could need.

The B&B is about a 15 minute walk to the square. Worth getting a cab back in the evening ad the streets are poorly lit. This costs c.4 usd.

We would definitely recommend staying here if you visit Antigua.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfergus1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Excellent place to stay

Chez Daniel B&B is an excellent place to stay, featuring large and comfortable rooms, cozy inner courtyard, well-equipped kitchen available at all times (great for families with children), friendly and efficient service from Daniel and Marleni, postcard-like view at the volcano from the 2nd floor balcony. The hotel is 15 minutes of leisurely walk away from the main city square. I would certainly recommend this place for staying in Antigua, Guatemala.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_B1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This small B&B is a real gem and an excellent value. We'll gladly recommend this place to friends and family. The room's (and bathroom's) quality and cleanliness are exceptional. The view of the volcano are spectacular. Nice breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice. Daniel, Marleni, and the rest of staff are absolute pleasure to deal with. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garoldm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Host Daniel built his B & B to give his guests a sense of space and comfort and absolutely succeeded. The gigantic bedrooms with vaulted ceilings contain even more impressively large, modern bathrooms. You are greeted by views of Daniel's courtyard garden with a volcano beyond every morning you open your door on your way to your fresh French croissant and coffee breakfast. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KendallWithACamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#8 of 82 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.7 km away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#4 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#15 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.7 km away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#6 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#28 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Daniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Daniel

Property: Chez Daniel
Address: Calle de San Luquitas No. 20, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choosing to stay Chez Daniel ensures that your visit to Antigua will be both a relaxing, economical but most of all, memorable. When you arrive Chez Daniel, you will be greeted by the comfortable, quiet and secure atmosphere of our B&B, with its majestic view of all three volcanoes in our Panchoy valley and numerous photographs that display a more profound and intimate view of the Guatemalan culture. It is the perfect place to start your exploration of Guatemala and Antigua. The rooms are very large, elegant and light filled, with ample bathrooms including a bathtub, and are equipped with flat screen cable television. We provide all the ease and comforts you will need to have an unforgettable experience in your home away from home, Chez Daniel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chez Daniel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing