We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful. still learning the tourist trade.”
Review of Soleil La Antigua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Soleil La Antigua
Ranked #16 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2016

the room was great. beds comfy. bathrooms large. kitchen stocked with essentials (note coffee made in percolator, not usual coffee maker. they leave fresh bottles of water each day.
they ask that if you want to conserve energy and help the planet (which i do) to only put the towels you want to change in the bathtub, otherwise they will leave the ones you are using. did that, but every day they changed the towels! just not necessary and wasteful.
they do not have a concierge which usually is quite helpful. they rely on a travel agency in the hotel itself to book taxis, arrange tours (only with their agency), and ask questions. the folks there were unbelievably incompetent, ineffective and a waste of time. they knew nothing about their own tours, let alone any other questions we may have asked. best thing about the agency was one of the drivers josue, but he is on night duty and not available during the day.
without a concierge, the hotel should be leaving the local magazine in each room, even a flyer about what the hotel has to offer, but none of that info is readily available.
don't get me wrong. my friend and i enjoyed the hotel immensely. it's beautiful, surrounded by volcanoes, lush greenery growing on the property. sculptures in the garden, but i think they are still learning about the tourism trade and customer satisfaction.

Room Tip: previous reviews recommend away from the pool. went off season so was not an issue. asked for a qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosRMendizabal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Soleil La Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review!

For all the Staff of Hotel Soleil La Antigua was a pleasure to be at your service in this opportunity. For us is really important to know about your experience with us, we are going to improve the travel agency service and also the concierge because we have the service maybe we have to let you know about this. All your suggestions will be taken to give you the service that you deserve. We hope you can give us another chance to make you change your mind and let on you only good memories. Thank you once again for your amazing comment and we hope to see you in a near future.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2016

Resort is good . Room very clean . No free wi fi . Need more activides . Nothing inside to do in resort . Need a least a store inside no souvenirs . Employees and resort need more training . I ask every day for my room and if I was in the hotel. The breakfast need more variety every day was the same.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back have pool and restaurant better than the villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulino G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosRMendizabal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Soleil La Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for given us part of your time and let us know about your experience with us during your visit to La Antigua Guatemala. We want to apologize with you for not accomplish your expectations about us, all your suggestions will be taken to improve our services and provide you the service you deserve. For all the Staff of Hotel Soleil La Antigua was a pleasure to be at your service and we hope you can give us another chance to change your opinion about us and create on you only good memories.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

They charge daily for wi-fi. Really? For a such a big hotel they can not offer it to their clients? Big hotel outside the historical center, if you want to stay in their compound, they do offer 2 pools and tennis courts.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
Thank ale g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosRMendizabal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Soleil La Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for given us part of your time and let us know about your experience with us. For all the Staff of Hotel Soleil La Antigua was a pleasure to be at your service in this opportunity. All your suggestions will be taken to give you the service you deserve. We hope to see you in a near future in this your home in Guatemala.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

An amazing history. Stunning architecture. The city is bustling with tourists from all over the world. Great shopping and restaurants. Make sure you exchange your currency at a reputable money exchange

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank Rja1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosRMendizabal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Soleil La Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for given us part of your time and let us know about your experience with us during your visit to La Antigua Guatemala. For all the Staff of Hotel Soleil La Antigua was a pleasure to be at your service. Now you know you have a home in Guatemala. Hope to see you in a near future.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in June and a had a wonderful stay.
Staff was always pleasant and helpful with anything we needed. Free shuttle Transportation to/from downtown Antigua/parque central was great! The staff at Cova were phenomenal in putting our tours together and gave us great advice. The hotel is clean, beds were comfortable, breakfast was great-our housekeeper Sandra was the best! Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Primavera95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosRMendizabal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Soleil La Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for given us part of your time and let us know about your experience with us. For all the Staff of Hotel Soleil Antigua was a pleasure to be at your service in this opportunity. We hope can see you in a near future in this your home in La Antigua Guatemala and continue making in you only good memories.
Best Regards,

Carlos Mendizabal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

Can't seriously believe that in 2016 any hotel would charge for Wi-Fi. It is five dollars a day per device for Wi-Fi. Not per room, per device!
Otherwise the hotel is lovely. There are two pools, gorgeous gardens, and the rooms are very clean. The linens are top-quality and the beds are very comfortable. The restaurant was a bit pricey but expected at this level of hotel. Very safe location with safe parking and good security.
Front desk ladies were very helpful. Gentleman at the tourist information was great.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosRMendizabal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Soleil La Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. For all the Staff of Hotel Soleil Antigua was a pleasure to be at your service during your visit to the city of La Antigua Guatemala. We also want to let you know that all your suggestions will be taking on note to give you the service you deserve in a next opportunity. Sorry for the little things that changed your experience. We hope can see you in a near future and can create on you only good memories. This always will be your home.
Best Regards,

Carlos Mendizabal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel is located on the outskirts of Antigua...a short walk to the main town square. It has many well appointed rooms, a pool, a great spa, and provides an incredible breakfast. Cappuccinos and wine by the glass are great here. Wifi is strong and reasonably priced. Great views of the surrounding volcanoes. We had some trouble with staff being able to speak English or carry through with some requests due to lack of understanding so I would suggest they hire someone to cater to international groups to ease the problems. I would also suggest dedicated space for groups to use free of charge for short meetings or gatherings. Overall, a great place at a good price. I'll be bringing many groups back here.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank KellsAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosRMendizabal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Soleil La Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for given us part of your time and let us know your experience during your stay. For all the Staff of Hotel Soleil Antigua was a pleasure to be at your service. All your suggestions will be listen to continue growing and give you the service you deserve. We hope can see you in a near future in this your home in La Antigua Guatemala. You always will be welcome.
Best Regards,

Carlos Mendizabal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
1.6 km away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.7 km away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
945 reviews
0.5 km away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 75 in Antigua
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.7 km away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#24 of 75 in Antigua
204 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Casa del Parque
Hotel Casa del Parque
#36 of 75 in Antigua
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soleil La Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soleil La Antigua

Address: Poniente 9th street | Carretera a Ciudad Vieja, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#15 Business Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: C$159 - C$286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Soleil La Antigua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soleil La Antigua, colonial style to keep the harmony with one of the most beautiful destination, ANTIGUA GUATEMALA is a treasure chest of customs and traditions and is situated on the base of a volcano, it combines with full service hotel, restaurant, Mayan Thai Spa, gym, gardens, pools, tennis court and more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Soleil La Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soleil La Antigua Hotel Antigua
Soleil La Antigua Guatemala
Antigua Villa Guatemala
Soleil La Antigua Hotel Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing