We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
10
11
8
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
11
8
4
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 38 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2016 via mobile

I rate this hotel low because of the poor services and rooms. When we arrived we asked the desk for two keys but were told we could only have one because they had a 24-hour receptionist to let us in the hotel and our rooms if necessary. The first night our kids were out late and when my wife and I arrived we could not get into the hotel and spent two hours waiting on the street till our kids came back and let us in.
The sink and toilet were clogged and there was no one available to fix it. The rooms have no privacy at all as all the windows face the courtyard and because of the hot weather it was very stuffy in our rooms with the windows closed. The grounds were nice but all in all I don't recommend the hotel and would suggest another hotel in Antigua.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank AndyH1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2016 via mobile

Hotel Casa de los Sueños is a pretty little 8-room hotel located on a quiet street, close enough to the centre of Antigua, but away from the bustle of Parque Central. 
When we arrived (around 10pm) it was wonderfully quiet and peaceful. Of course, when the town woke up (around 6am), it was not quite so peaceful. Between the strange and exotic-sounding birds in the interior courtyard, and the guy blowing his nose two doors down, and a distant car alarm, noise is difficult to escape. The street outside is not a busy one, but the traffic may as well have been in the room with us. This is not a complaint about this hotel in particular, it's just an observation on Latin American hotel architecture in general.
The hotel is very pretty and tastefully renovated, with rooms set around an inner courtyard full of flowers and trees. The swimming pool and more gardens are in a separate attached courtyard. The pool is big enough to swim lengths, quite warm enough on a hot afternoon, and, in our experience at least, completely deserted. It even has a good view of Volcán El Agua on clear days.
A full cooked breakfast (included) is served in a pleasant semi-open restaurant area between the two courtyards, and the food was both filling and tasty. The service, like the service at the main desk (and in most of Guatemala, for that matter), is polite and deferential but low-key. I'm not sure about the English abilities of the staff as we didn't test it out.
Our room was spacious and nicely fitted out, in a kind of minimalist, almost monastic way, with plain yellow walls and solid, dark wood furniture. The bathroom is basic but clean and functional. The wifi was quite reliable in the main. A small coffee-maker was included, and bottled water was provided each day - drinking tap water is generally discouraged for foreigners in Guatemala - a nice touch.
The whole place is very serene and relaxed, a quiet and cool oasis in a town that can be hot, dusty and noisy. Indeed, it is pretty enough, and historic enough, to merit tour groups from time to time, but not often enough to become a nuisance. 
All in all, a very pleasant experience, and I would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank lukehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 15, 2016

Beautiful place, great location a few blocks from Parque Central, Santo Domingo, and Las Capuchinas. Nice sized room, huge king sized bed, adequate bathroom with no water temperature or pressure issues. The grounds are gorgeous and well kept. Daily breakfast is fine if you mix it up a bit between the Desayuno Americano and the Chapina. There are three great bars on the street (Cafe No Se, La Biblioteca, and Cafe Sky) and some excellent eateries (Angie Angie, Y Tu Pina Tambien) and if you are a night owl you can party close to home.
The staff's English language skills are limited but sufficient, and Monica the receptionist was outstanding in assisting us with navigating things like reserving a tour at Casa Popenoe across the street or getting us to a florist to bring a lunch gift to friends. Wi-fi is free but was extremely spotty in Room 5; it only connected if you were on the side of the bed by the door.
If you are a light sleeper you should probably look for a large hotel rather than a B&B. There was some street noise through the night, mainly the occasional cat fight, and it's a busy street starting in the morning.
Bottom line: the place is lovely, the location is great, it's clean and comfortable if not luxurious, and we would stay there again (and most likely will) in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Room 8 is a lovely suite upstairs away from the street
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2016

Located close to shopping, restaurants and close walk to many tourist attractions. The room was clean and comfortable with amenities like bottled water, coffee maker, and TV. Wi-Fi was also included, however, the signal was weak and service was slow. Hotel has a non-heated pool for cool dips with a beautiful courtyard. Breakfast is included and served strictly from 7:00 to 8:00 am. The street noise and other guests can be easily heard in your room so not recommended for light sleepers. The staff are very professional and helpful. What I like most about this hotel is the historic setting and location. What I least like was the restriction of one hour only for breakfast and that outside nose in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rick_From_Stavanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2016

Casa de los sueños has character; that of a traditional Antigua house. Beautiful gardens, charming details and corners all over the place. Breakfasts are good. The rooms are comfortable and one feels welcomed at the premises.

Room Tip: All are different, I prefer the ones that face the main patio/garden
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Luis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews