We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, quiet with an Amazing staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Palacio de Dona Beatriz
Ranked #14 of 135 Antigua B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 March 2011

The Dona Beatriz is a few minutes walk from the center of the city, it is quiet, in a great neighborhood. We stayed in a room on the second floor ... which I would recommend ... it overlooks the pool and the courtyard garden. The staff did everything they could to make us comfortable. The hotel does not have a restaurant (except for breakfast .... which was wonderful and included) ... so Rudy made arrangements with some great restaurants for dinner delivery. We loved sitting in the courtyard relaxing after walking the beautiful Colonial city of Antigua. We stay in hotels over 200 nights a year around the world, this was one of the best. A great experience.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DandMtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2010

We arrived from the city and the hotel took our breath away. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa. This place was unbelievable with private courtyards, a full kitchen with washer/dryer, and living room with a fireplace. We felt very safe, as there were 2 guard checkpoints to get to the hotel from the main street. They also had a lock box for our valuables. This is one of the most tranquil hotels I've stayed at. We appreciated the free Wi-fi and access to a computer in the lobby which helped stay in touch with family while on the trip.

We enjoyed lunch at La Recoleta argentina Steakhouse (about a 15 minute drive)..what incredible food! We spent the days walking around Antigua and the evenings enjoying the fireplace in the room. We also went Zip-lining with Filadelfia Tours..what an experience!

The staff of the hotel were incredibly friendly and helpful, especially Rudy. He arranged most of our tours and transportation. Rene drove the shuttle bus that we took to Panajachel and to/from the airport. We felt safe leaving our main suitcase at the hotel while we spent a few days at the beach and then returned for a final night before leaving for the airport. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Antigua.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank serraturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

The hotel is perfect for couples seeking quiet time away from the noise of town. The owner and staff are very friendly and kind always ready to help with anything. The hotel is just a few blocks away from the center of town but the staff is always ready to give you a ride into town. We very much enjoyed our stay at Palacio de Dona Beatriz . We will always return to this hotel for it is our home away from home.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tivoliobene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

after floods and volcano disaster, we felt like in home, we had everything in the room, high speed internet, bath tub, telephone, cable tv, room service, great food and staff, they help us to orginize all our trip to get out from Guatemala, before everything happened the city, the view from our room and terrace was very nice and confortable to read a book and drink great coffee. Nice walk to principal street 5min inside the gardens, very close to ATM, Santo Domingo monastery, ruins, galeries, old fountains and coffee plantation.
good choice!! Peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pakq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2008

Stayed at the Palacio during a trip to Guatemala and Belize with friends to take in Semana Santa. The hotel is absolutely fantastic. We arrived at La Aurora Airport to be met by an organised transfer to the hotel. We arrived with few expectations but were absolutely delighted with the hotel. The decor is beautiful, the rooms large, airy, cool and really well furnished. The staff were truly the friendliest and most helpful of any hotel I've ever stayed in. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble and they were always happy to bring us a cold drink or some great coffe whenever we were in need of refreshment. The breakfasts were great - just what we needed to set us up for the day. The upper balcony which surrounds the central courtyard was great for a relaxing cerveza and a game of cards. The hotel even looked after some of our stuff whilst we went off for a few days to take in the sights of Lake Atitlan, Panajachel and Chichicastenango.

The hotel is situated about 10 minutes walk from the bustling town centre which was nice as you have all the amenities and attractions on your doorstep but you can retreat to sit by the pool or lounge on the sun terrace when you need a bit of peace and quiet.

A truly superb place that I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone who is looking for a little bit of luxury on their travels through Central America.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JohnnyBoyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2008

It is one of the best hotels in Antigua (Guatemala), with a nice atmosphere. Big rooms well decorated. Very clean & Confortable. Private car park. 1km away from the cathedral, but you can easily go walking. An appartament with 4 rooms (7 people) and more facilities (kitchen, living room, bathrooms, etc.) was $ 300.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pablossanchezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2007

I found this bed and breakfast to be thoroughly charming. My room was spacious with a wonderfully comfortable king size bed. The room was furnished with all sorts of Guatemalan art and artifacts. The bathroom was enormous. The courtyard area where breakfast is served is very colorful and tranquil. The location, albeit a bit of a walk from the main part of town, is secluded, very quiet, and surrounded by other attractive properties and lots of open space and trees with views of the mountains and volcanoes.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The price was completely reasonable, and I was lucky to be able to book it on short notice. I would return in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericsf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
1.8 km away
Real Plaza Hotel Suites
Real Plaza Hotel Suites
#39 of 75 in Antigua
163 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#7 of 75 in Antigua
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
1.2 km away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#5 of 75 in Antigua
322 reviews
1.4 km away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio de Dona Beatriz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio de Dona Beatriz

Address: Calle de los Duelos | Las Gravileas, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range: $102 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Boutique hotel as unique as the people who stay, offers personalized service, luxury accomodations, for business or leisure travel. With rich interiors, volcano views and custom designed furnishings, guests enjoy a comfortable, residential feeling. Once you stay here you may find it hard to leave!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Palacio de Dona Beatriz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing