We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to break it down....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Finca Filadelfia Coffee Resort & Tours
Ranked #17 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2012

It's hard to review this place without breaking it down into categories.
1) Sunday breakfast buffet: approximately $13. Nice variety of food, sometimes not as hot as it should be. Weak service, fantastic views and overall just really nice way to spend a Sunday morning.
2) zip line canopy tour. Fun but very overpriced for the little amount of time you're there. Maybe 20-30 minutes though they tell you is 1. 1/2 hours. Skip it.

3) coffee tour: more expensive than others in the area but worth every penny. Juan Jesus was our guide and he was fantastic! Very knowledgable, funny, and very thorough. It was educational and fun! Do it!

Finca filadelfia was really one of the nicest little getaways outside of Antigua. I would go here evy weekend if I lived in Antigua! It's lovely! Beautiful grounds, great views of the volcanos, and just a nice atmospehere overall!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
7  Thank travelincritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Finca Filadelfia Coffee Resort & Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2011

Arrived thru a friend's recommendation and was pleasently suprised by the beautiful setting and view of the volcanoe. Coffee was delicious and staff ready and helpful.

Will recommend and come back!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MMAbbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We stayed 3 nights at this amazing resort. I like old stylish bedroom. We took Coffee Plantation Tour and we had great time. Our guide loves his jobs, he could speak about coffee hours and hours. Very good experience and worthy of a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank flutela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We had an truly enjoyable experience at Finca Filadelfia. We went to see birds and on that mountain with a guide (Roberto) and on our own saw many birds. There is a network of trails and small roads that gave us access to all kinds of habitat within the finca - from 1500-2430 m. The birding was very good though the cost for guide was a bit high.
The room was quite nice with a fireplace that was used nightly but i could not stay awake because the bed was so comfortable. The manager and staff were extremely helpful. The manager helped us with arranging our trip onwards (due to closed roads because of prior rains) and with various other issues and questions we had. The food was exceptional and the guatemalan buffet was a value.
An added bonus were the tennis courts with a great view.
I would return in a heart beat and look forward to drinking coffee atop the mountain with my gal and our guide.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Great service, peaceful, not in downtown Antigua, but a fantastic experience...A must have experience...

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank Becapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Revisits are not typically our thing. More like”been there – done that – moving on to see what is next” …..but The Filadelfia Coffee Resort in Antigua, Guatemala was too tempting to pass up for another long holiday weekend. We had been there in January as part of a longer trip in Guatemala and really had fun.

….well, at least the public demonstration (roughly 30,000 – 40,000 upset because the sitting president allegedly had an opponent “terminated”) in Guatemala City, had occurred a two days prior to our arrival (only a few disgruntled individuals bearing signs were wandering the main avenidas) and we were able to work through the normal congestion around the airport before heading out to Antigua. How about an slight earthquake with a magnitude of 6.1 on the Richter scale (must have been some shifting of tectonic plates….like who cares…it’s the fact the ground is moving and you’re trying to stand still….and “slight” is the wrong adjective to use with any earthquake).

The road to Antigua from GUA is almost always “rush hour” no matter the hour….buses and truck…cars and scooters….seems like every inch of pavement is taken by someone trying to get some place. For us, the ride is entertaining…always something different.

Asked our driver if he would mind stopping at a bank drive through window so we could handle a quick currency transaction…of course…no problem…and the conversion rates is far more favorable than the airport or the hotel…..now we have some walking around local money.

The air clears and the temperature drops pleasantly as we leave the city, gaining some altitude on the short 45 minute drive to Antigua…no wonder so many local city dwellers head for countryside retreats on weekends.

Soon we are winding our way down familiar cobblestone roads, entering Antigua and working our way through foot traffic and bicycles along the outskirts and toward the guarded calle arbolada de Filadelfia. There are familiar faces, broad smiles and several hugs from the staff upon arrival….as well as the freshly brew café and assorted jugos. Let us show you to your suite.....so many fresh flowers we’re wondering if we're attending a wake...fortunately no deceased in sight?

The next five days past too quickly…mule rides into the mountains - and we are reminded why mules are strong, determined and sometimes stubborn, volcano treks up Picaya…..a long steep trail that may best be attempted early in the AM….worth the effort (you can cheat and ride horses), excellent dining at both upscale (Panza Verde www.panzaverde.com/en/dining.htm) and modest restaurants (Sabe Rico…Thanks for the special vegetarian lunch packed for our Picaya trek….also loved the secluded courtyard dining).

The Filadelfia remains a very peaceful, private retreat – a place to come home to – even if it is your first visit….close enough but not too close to the tourist activity and crowds of Antigua centro.

Maybe another long weekend next year…

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank omegaet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

We recently visited La Antigua Guatemala and stayed at Finca Filadelfia. The entire experience was wonderful and the staff especially helpful. The resort offered tours of the coffee plantation, mule rides up the mountainsides, as well as the opportunity to relax and enjoy the unique beauty and serenity of the plantation and grounds.

For us, it was not only a welcome 5-day respite from the work-a-day world, but also a chance to appreciate a simpler, more measured way of life. Gracias, Carlos, Sofia and all the staff at Filadelfia Resort and Spa. Hasta luego!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 9,258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
2.4 km away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
2.2 km away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
2.9 km away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 75 in Antigua
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
885 reviews
3.2 km away
Soleil La Antigua
Soleil La Antigua
#19 of 75 in Antigua
485 reviews
3.1 km away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#8 of 75 in Antigua
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Filadelfia Coffee Resort & Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Filadelfia Coffee Resort & Tours

Address: Mts Al Norte de Iglesia de San Felipe de Jesus 150 | 150 meters North of the Church of San Felipe de Jesus, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#16 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#19 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: $150 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Finca Filadelfia Coffee Resort & Tours 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Filadelfia Estate is located in Antigua, Guatemala. On the outskirts of the ancient city of Antigua, the former capital of the Spanish Empire of Central America, among the green coffee bushes lies Filadelfia Coffee Estate, owned for generations by the Dalton family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Finca Filadelfia Coffee Resort & Tours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filadelfia Coffee Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing