We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Not many monuments have music and a heartbeat.

This is a somewhat unique monument in that walking past the entry there is music playing. Walking... read more

Reviewed September 2, 2018
bcs488
,
Grand Rapids, Michigan
a memorial, militry for ww2 (as many are)

it an imposant memorial as eastern europes can for ww2 memorials, ukraine has sufferd a lot during... read more

Reviewed March 26, 2017
BX-driver
,
Sint-Katelijne-Waver, Belgium
Read all 61 reviews
  
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
39
18
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
18
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews soviet union mother heartbeat forest hero ww2 monument ukraine city
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 61 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2015

Well worth visiting. Quite a moving experience and important to visit and remember part of history in the Ukraine.

Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2015

I was impressed by the history of this place. Many things I did not know as a westerner coming here. I would definitely recommend this place to see

Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2015

Visited back in Oct 2013 when it wasn't nearly as dangerous, this great memorial was dedicated to those who perished during the Nazi-Soviet war back in 1941. Kharkov, as a hero city, had many civilians who were either killed or captured by the Nazis(( That was quite historical. As a commeration of our heroes, this memorial was created. Wonderful!

Thank Laxiaozi08200912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2014

Especially if you like ants. This was in October. But beautiful in the forest. WW2 monuments themselves are...very Soviet. Stony. Serious. They have caretakers who will scold you for climbing up the stairs for a photo next to the bas relief monument. Saying people are buried there, you're walking on their graves! Hmm... Is that why they put steps there? Besides, the graves are in the grassy portion. We weren't exactly throwing a party. A somber rememberence of my father who fought not so far away. Walk down to the tree-lined river to see a burst of fall colors. But do keep walking. If you have good weather, you have active ants, nearly a centimeter in length! No one else had a problem, but they seemed to love chomping on me.

Thank jed g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is a fantastic tribute to all of the war dead from 1941 until 1945 and it stands at the entrance to the park which is huge however this was not a good time of the year to visit it as weather wasn't very good, summer would be better.

1  Thank ionabars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews