We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
4
13
16
16
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
13
16
16
18
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 67 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2015 via mobile

Probably one of the worst hotels I have stayed in, in need of a massive refurbishment!

The AC in our room did not work and we were told they would fix it but that never happened. The towels we had wouldn't even fit round a child they were that small. We were up on the 3rd floor but the the two floors below were Derelict and like a building site, they have a bowling alley which looks like it was built in 1950 and not used since 1960.

No swimming pool and it's out the way of old town. There is a bus stop right outside, the only good point was its close to the best beach in split although no sand just stones so take a mat.

We came here for a festival so didn't really spend any time in the hotel I would only recommend staying here if u plan to do the same although you could probably get nicer and cheaper elsewhere.

Bar staff were friendly so one good point and the view from room was nice too!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Danielleabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2015

I was in hotel Zagreb in June. The location is great, the beach is only 100 meters from the hotel. Near the hotel, an entertainment park for children.Near the hotel is a great trail running along the sea. You are in the center for about 20 minutes by bus. Buses run very often. Everything is very clean. Hotel under the bar has a large terrace overlooking the sea and it is a nice place for drinking coffee. I am very happy with the courtesy of the staff, especially the staff at the restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dani_dani87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 24, 2015

For those interested in a communist-era holiday experience, they should consider staying here for a night. It is old and needs a considerable upgrade. I would give it 1 star because it did have clean sheets and a clean bathroom where the water did not leak on the floor. The reception staff was warm. Wifi is in the reception area only.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExpatPro93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights during the Ultra Music Festival. There were buses forth and back to the centre and the festival, but all in all the location isn't good.

Knowing that the hostel belongs to the military we spooked out a bit when a fight broke out with some festival goers and local middle aged guys at a breakfast. And the staff didn't speak english atleast not to us.

There's a beach near by but it's not much, the best thing was that the beach wasn't super crowded like most beaches are in july. Only a few locals sunbathing.

If you're going to Split, rent an apartment. The apartments are superior to this outdated bulky hotel in many ways (prices, locations, people and whatnot)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Temedilaatio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2014

My friends and I stayed at Hotel Zagreb last year, it was the only hotel available around the time of Ultra Festival. I am only writing my review now as I am still in shock of how horrific the experience was. The hotel was on the Ultra festival recommendations list. It is a 45 min bus ride to the city centre and was in the middle of... not sand.. but DUST. It's in the middle of a wasteland with skips, rubbish dumps and rats scuttling through the dirt; this being our view from our balcony.

When we checked in, we were asked to hand over our passports (standard procedure - no qualms with this), HOWEVER, when we later asked for directions to the Ultra bus stop the receptionist proceeded to write an illegible scribble on scrap paper of which turned out to be some other poor guests PASSPORT COPY.

We proceeded up to our room in the rusty, rickety, dark industrial lift reminiscent of a scene from a horror film and were surprised to learn we would have the pleasure of sharing our room with an army of ants.

We were pleased to see that our neighbours in the room next door were also in the same predicament and decided to head to the festival as quick as possible. Upon return, at about 5am, the temperature was in the high 30's. Naturally we asked the 'concierge' if we could buy some water from the fridge next to her, to which she responded "bar closed, you drink from toilet". Words can't express our utter shock and disgust that they wouldn't even serve us water which we were prepared to pay for. We then asked if there was a shop close by to buy water from, to which she explained that it is a 15 minute walk away. We weren't even sure if it would be open or exactly where it was and by this point we were exhausted and dying of thirst and just wanted to go to bed.

We waited in the lobby for 'breakfast time' which was served in a dingy, dirty canteen and consisted of powdered orange juice, clumpy hot chocolate and deli meats, as well as flies on the side "you want flies with thattt?". We retreated to our bedroom after finally sourcing some water that was not from the toilet and found that the room was boiling hot and stuffy. Our initial thought was to quickly turn on the air conditioning before we got heat stroke, but much to our distress, we found there was nothing but one measly plastic fan to "cool" the room. By this point can I stress, we had almost lost the will to live. In a desperate attempt to relieve our heatstroke, we thought of opening the balcony door to let in some "fresh air" which was fruitless as the heat billowed in mercilessly, bats were swooping around and by this point we were riddled with fear of attack from outside, as it felt more and more like a scene from a horror movie. The bed sheets were questionably itchy and we spent the early hours of the morning in nothing short of a frenzied state. One of our party was so disturbed by the lack of general hygiene, she wore a maxi sundress and knee high socks to bed to avoid any contact with unwanted bed creatures.

After the relief of having a cold shower in the morning, the temporary solace came to a abrupt end when the towel picked up to dry off with was spotted with (what looked like) blood. Thinking things couldn't get much worse, we went down to the lobby to enjoy a quick beverage before heading off into town. We ordered a coffee from the bar and were sitting enjoying ourselves until a giant cockroach scuttled out from the woodwork, hoping to taste some of our frothy delights. When we jumped back in horror, the lady behind the bar didn't seem to be in the least bit fazed and instead watched us for a moment, finally giving in and gently shooing it away with a napkin.

Fast forward to the last day - we had a bit of time on our hands and decided it would be "fun" to explore the rest of the hotel, as we'd heard rumours about the state of some of the floors. We ended up in some areas that may of been closed off and came across corridors with questionable stains, drawings and graffiti on the walls. One drawing was of a devil with a speech bubble saying 'Fack you' and there were many other wonderful pieces of artwork just like this scattered around.

I could go on forever about our adventures at the Hotel Zagreb but I think I have explained more than enough for you to get a feel of the place. At least I can gladly say I think can get through staying in any squalor after this experience. Lastly, SCREW YOU Ultra Music Festival for your shameful "recommendation"!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hebe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews