We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location and unusual hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Luxe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Luxe
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Canandaigua, New York
Level Contributor
154 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great location and unusual hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in late December. The location is fantastic - just a short walk to the Palace and the Old Town of Split, and from our room, we could watch the ferries in the harbor coming and going, which was a lot of fun. It would be hard to beat this location!

As others have noted, the rooms are decorated in a modern design, though with all the purple and matchy-matchy items, it felt a little bit like a 12-year-old girl had picked out all the matching items at Target. I was fine with that - it was fun. Not something I would want in my house, but fine enough for a few days.

Comfortable rooms, and good service. The breakfast had lots of choices, including a coconut cream cake item at breakfast one morning! Hot eggs and sausages or eggs, and lots of pastries, but also cereal, cold cuts, yogurt and fruit.

The parking is free for people staying in the hotel, which was also a big plus. There's a gated lot around the corner. If you're headed down the street towards the Old Town, you go past the hotel and then take the first left, which curves around behind the hotel, and their lot is marked on the left. It has a gate, but you can push the button and they'll let you in. Parking is a big issue in Split, so this was appreciated. Be aware that the street leading to the parking lot is VERY VERY narrow with lots of cars parked up both sides, so you'll want to go slowly.

Our only complaint was that each morning, our non-smoking room absolutely filled with cigarette smoke at around 6:30AM, which woke me up and made it unpleasant to be in the room. We switched off the heating/fan system to avoid this happening the second morning, but it happened anyway. I'm very sensitive to smoke, and so was not happy about it. The first morning, I asked at the reception desk about it, and they had our room aired out and the problem was reported, but it happened again the second morning. I reported it again, but since we were checking out, there was not much to be done. A major disappointment. Not sure if this is a normal occurrence.

Room Tip: Rooms above the 4th floor have good views of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    207
    34
    10
    2
See reviews for
101
307
38
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights in this wonderful new and modern boutique hotel. Ideally situated within short walking distance to the Palace, ferry harbour, promenade. Pretty young friendly and hospitable receptionist made us very welcome. Breakfast was very good and beautifully presented buffet service. Everything about this hotel was perfect and we can't wait to return to it and this wonderful city.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jianina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

I have stayed in 4 other hotels in Split. Unless you want to stay inside Diocletian's Palace (old town) this is probably the best choise. Close to everything (the Riva, Diocletian's palace, the open market, ferries and catamarans, bus,and train stations the airport bus stop, taxi rank etc.), besides being a very modern hotel.

Excellent staff and breakfast. Unlike other hotels in Split they accepted late checkout without any discussion.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PavlosGRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in early October. The hotel was fun, the staff were super nice, helpful whenever we needed them, and otherwise out of the way. The location is ideal...5-minute walk to Diocletian's Palace, ferry, and bus terminals.

The breakfast was very good and offered a lot of variety, everything from cold cereal/musli to sardines (two kinds!). Best of all, it was open until 11, which was very nice since I like to sleep in on holiday.

The interior decorating was rather interesting and very colorful, but that was fun. Bathroom was HUGE and the bed comfy.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croatia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

we stayed at hotel luxe for four nights and it was perfect, we reserved a standard sea view room but they gave us a free upgrade to a superior room that had a balcony with a perfect view. the staff was grate, very polite and helpful, the rooms are perfectly clean and very stilish, the food was grate and we even had a grate time at the whirlpool in the Wellness area.

Room Tip: we had a room 406 and it was grate i advice to choose a room with sea vew
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jokka55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

My husband and I started our honeymoon in Dubrovnik and ended it in Split. Hotel Luxe definitely stands out from the crowd -- it has a very distinct design and colour-scheme (purple, silver, turquise, and white) that is consistent throughout the entire hotel and gives it a very modern feel. The room is decent size and has a couple of features that make it definately more appropriate for couples than families. For example, here is a glass wall between the shower and the bedroom, and although it can be closed with a curtain, it does give the room a very sensual feel which is further enhanced by multiple lighting setting in the washroom and by built-in speakers throughout the room. I would not stay here with children. Also, I would not bother booking a seaview room, as there are simply too many buidings between the hotel and the sea. Breakfast in the hotel was good and so was the service (for example, one of the days it was raining and the reception was gladly handing out umbrellas). Location of the hotel is good as well, as it is very close to the Old Town. However, I probably wouldn't spend more than a day in Split. The contrast is especially noticeable right after coming from Dubrovnik, which has a very different vibe to it.

Room Tip: Don't bother booking a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torontoniana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago
Level Contributor
96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

Just perfect for visiting Split's main attraction, the Dioclesian Palace, located some 3 blocks away. Inside of the hotel has a very modern look, rooms are very comfortable, with a balcony with great view onto the bay. Good breakfast, very good service, it has a high standard and you need no more......

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RicardoLeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
1.0 km away
Divota Apartment Hotel
2.2 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0.5 km away
Palace Judita Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Cornaro Hotel
Cornaro Hotel
#4 of 57 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Marul
Hotel Marul
#5 of 57 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.1 km away
Dioklecijan Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luxe

Property: Hotel Luxe
Address: Kralja Zvonimira 6, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luxe 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's hard to imagine that in the same place where a factory was built almost 100 years ago today stands Dalmatia's most exciting and fashionable boutique hotel. Within steps of the ancient city of Split you can now enjoy old world charm and state of the art luxury. Hotel Luxe features comfortable and modern rooms, a cozy wellness area, dining room and lobby bar with a view of the city life of Split. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Luxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing