We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveller rating
323
98
32
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
98
32
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews villa dobric the main hotel small luxury hotel old city minutes walk from the main roman emperor room hotel wonderful boutique hotel the hotel staff within the walls junior suite your luggage rooms are small breakfast was delicious spent nights amazing location breakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 466 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2015

My daughter and I traveled to Split, Croatia where we were fortunate enough to stay at Hotel Vestibul Palace on 9/ 30/2015. The location was superb; located next to the Vestibul where the Opera Singers entertained the visitors of the walled Palace. Our two story room was very charming and offered all the amenities. A beautifully displayed of options for breakfast was a welcoming way to begin the day! The staff was very helpful during our stay and upon our departure, we were given a gift. We highly recommend this hotel and hope to return someday!

Room tip: Excellent location!
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2015 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel located within the Palace walls. The rooms are sleek, modern, and tastefully decorated. The staff was very accommodating and the breakfast was one of the best we had on our trip. Overall, the hotel is well worth the price!

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2015

Split is famous for its large pedestrian only area which incorporates elements of Diocletian's Palace and the medieval city that built up around it. If you are staying in Split to my mind it would be unthinkable to stay anywhere but inside this unique area that is completely unmotorized except for a few electric service vehicles. There is a host of good restaurants and cafes within the old city. There is also a great variety of small hotels to chose from, none of them part of a chain.

The Vestibul Palace is actually two distinct properties, the hotel proper which is right nest to the vestibul, a large octaganol building that was part of the palace and Villa Dobric which is on the opposite side of the old city near one of the few remaining original towers from the palace. When I booked the hotel was full, but we did get a room at the Villa Dobric or annex as it is called on the website.

When you book the hotel will give you the option of booking guided tours and using the services of their driver. We arranged for airport pickup and after a long series of flights from Canada a very well dressed young man with a spotless new Mercedes was there to greet us and lead us to the hotel.

Since there are no cars allowed in the old city you must make a short walk from parking area. It was nice to have this fellow lead the way and pull the luggage. The Villa Dobric is an old building that has been completely modernized. On the main floor there is a breakfast area, outdoor terrace, small bar and large TV. The wifi works better here than in the room, but that's not a hardship as sitting on the terrace is very pleasant. The young lady who checked us in was also very well dressed and every staff member we encountered was uniformly polite and spoke decent English. The answer to every request was "Of course!".

The room was just fine with a king bed and modern plumbing with lots of hot water. The TV had a lot of channels, but no English news services - neither BBC or CNN. No big deal, especially if you have the internet.

The Villa Dobric serves a perfectly acceptable continental breakfast, but guests there can eat breakfast at the hotel where it is really good and including smokey bacon, eggs prepared any way you want, salads, fruits, pastries and cured meats. It's definitely worth making the short walk to the hotel.

We did take advantage of the guide and driver services during our three day stay and it helped us enjoy the area immensely. At the end of our stay the driver, by now our friend, delivered us to the small boat in the nearby city of Trogir where we were going next. Yes, you pay for these services, but they really take the hassle out of planning a trip to Split.

Finally, the staff were unerring in their recommendations of restaurants. I really can't say enough good things about this hotel.

Room tip: Don't be afraid to book the annex if the hotel is full. It might be an even better choice.
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank maritimeexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2015

Recently, my husband and I had the opportunity to take a trip to Croatia. We stopped at a variety of boutique hotels and this hotel did not disappoint. The hotel is charming and located right in old town. The staff provided us with excellent service and also recommend an awesome restaurant called Restoran Bokera. We loved this restaurant and had the best waiter ever! The food was delicious and our waiter recommend a really good Croatian wine that became our favorite Croatian wine for the trip.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GJHarlancouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2015

A unique experience - stay here and you will be able to tell everybody you've actually slept in the Emperor Diocletian's Palace. You need only to reach out your hand to touch some of the ancient Roman ruins (that aren't so ruined - people still live and work in them and walk the ancient hallways every day). One wall in our room was about 1800 years old but the rest of the room was 21st century modern with all sorts of luxurious furniture and fittings. The staff was wonderful, the included breakfast delicious and the location incomparable. You're just a short walk from shops, restaurants, museums and ancient history and the beautiful Riva is a 5 minute walk away.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mitch-miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews