We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than just a place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of S&L Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
S&L Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 174 Dubrovnik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
El Sobrante
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“More than just a place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

We might unintentionally repeat what others have written but our recent experience at S & L Guesthouse made us feel it is more than just a place to stay; it's a special place to return to.

Ante happened to encounter us with our baggage as we were climbing up the steps from the main street up to the Guesthouse; somehow we'd mis-read a review that it was a short and easy walk from the bus station. It isn't far, but with bags and flight fatigue, we recommend taking up his offer to be picked up at the nearby bus station. After we settled in a bit, he and his wife graciously cooled us down with a serving of excellent ice cream, as he shared information about the neighborhood, Dubrovnik in general, the bus routes, and beaches.

We found the location of S & L well-suited to our preference to be slightly away from a city center, to get a feel for where residents live, and to shop at the local farmers' market nearby for fresh produce. It's also a great location for taking a ferry or long-distance bus as the stations are close by, or for renting a car. Note: although we bought a three-day Dubrovnik card, we didn't use the bus tickets up; it might be a better value for those who don't walk as much as we do or who go to every museum.

Our top-floor room was very nice: comfortable bed, its own bathroom, with balcony and view which made it especially nice to sit in the early evening watching the sky darken and lights begin to sparkle across the water. The kitchen/dining area is well-equipped; we prepared several meals during our week-long stay, and the terrace became ideal for sitting to eat and chat with other guests. It's great that S & L provides the use of a computer and TV, laundry done for a reasonable fee, amenities not always available at comparable accomodations.

Ante is a great resource; he also took us to the fort, made arrangements for an Elafiti Islands excursion, gave recommendations, dropped us off at a beach on his way to run an errand. We appreciate the personal stories he shared, and enjoyed being near his family - his elderly mother walking about the patio trying to communicate with us in her native language. S & L is a great place to stay in Dubrovnik!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank delalis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    23
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
128
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Cannot say enough to compliment the S & L Guesthouse. Ante and his family made us feel as if we were friends rather than paying guests. The help in all matters, from transport to and from the Bus Station, time giving us local information, taking us to the fort, and not forgetting the welcoming beers, was exceptional. The cleanliness was to such a high standard that grading does not do it justice. Thank you Ante and family for helping as have a wonderful holiday. Would we return ? A big YES.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oldgit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Echoing others reviews, this is without doubt one of the best apartments we have stayed in due to the location, the views (from our balcony even), the cleanliness and Ante's hospitality. Ante really makes you feel like part of his family and as others have said he piked us up from the Ferry Port when we arrived and dropped us back down to the airport bus terminal when we were leaving.

Highly reccomend this accommodation for all sorts of travellers, Ante has a beautiful home with a kitchen & dining area you can use if you don't want to eat out and free wifi / desktop PC, & cheap laundry service. Bus stop just down the stairs with frequent buses to old town - reccomend the Dubrovnik Card if you like visiting museums and want to climb the castle walls (includes bus trip tikets)

Room Tip: We stayed in the top floor room with a sea view room - excelllent views of port, check our photos
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank v3ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Bluff, Illinois 60044
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We have just returned after spending four nights at Ante's S&L Guesthouse. It was everything and more we had read about in previous reviews. Ante picked us up after our flight at the bus stop (great advice initially on how to maneuver to the Croatian AirLines buses). We had the small apartment on the first floor, immaculate and with everything we would need. The next morning Ante gave us great tips, explained the bus service and the Dubrovnik card, and then drove us to the top of the mountain for great picture taking. Each day any question was cheerfully answered, and his wife and family and so sweet. We met other guests, and everyone was friendly and willing to chat and exchange experiences. We walked everywhere in Dubrovnik, freely and safely. Ante is not only a great host he is a patriotic Croatian knowledgeable about the history and filled with civic and national pride.
a real treasure!

Room Tip: All rooms are spotless, the upper ones have balconies with a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meatthebluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

This was my last stop in Croatia and was traveling this part solo, so it was such a relief to have Ante, the owner, not only come pick me up at the bus stop, but spend at least 20 minutes explaining all that Dubrovnik has to offer, from restaurant recommendations to the best sight seeing options. As this guest house is about 20 minutes walking from the historical center, Ante detailed how to get around by bus. I had a single room which could be locked by key. The house was extremely clean, had beautiful views, and all the people staying at the guest house were very friendly. The value is unbeatable, and you won't find any other guest house that has a pet bunny hopping around the yard!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vobree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed at S&L Guesthouse for 3 nights in August. Firstly, the rooms are absolutely spotless. Ante, the owner used to be a first mate on a navy ship and takes great pride in the cleanliness he maintains in his rooms. He and his family are very friendly and helpful and they really couldn't do enough for us. Ante met us at the bus station and gave us a lift to the guesthouse. He also drove us into the old town each day (for free) and took us to the airport when we were leaving (very modest charge). The accommodation is lovely, comfortable and has great views. The area surrounding the accommodation is very safe and picturesque.

I would recommend to anybody staying here to call for a free lift from the bus station, or for a very good value airport transfer, as the property is a (pleasant) 25 minute walk from the Old Town and is half way up a hill (with a LOT of steps to negotiate - no fun with luggage).

I cannot recommend this place highly enough. We will stay here again next time we visit Dubrovnik and I will recommend it to any friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danrobbo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
99 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

I stayed at Guesthouse S&L for two nights on a motorbike tour around South-East Europe.

My single room was facing the street, so there was no sea view from this room. Common areas included living room with a computer with internet access, kitchen, dining area and bathroom. Everything was kept spotlessly clean.

Ante the host was really helpful. He gave good tips about what to see and where to eat. He did my laundry. He even took me to the old city center on his scooter, while I left my own motorbike in his garage. And it was simple enough to get back to the house by bus.

I wish I had had more time to stay here. Dubrovnik is a beautiful city and this is a very nice place to stay at.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlackXJ6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.4 km away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#10 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#16 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Adria
Hotel Adria
#25 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
1.3 km away
Villa Klaic
Villa Klaic
#3 of 174 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
2.1 km away
Villa Sigurata
Villa Sigurata
#4 of 174 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to S&L Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about S&L Guesthouse

Property: S&L Guesthouse
Address: Antune Gustava Matosa 26, Dubrovnik, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 174 B&Bs / Inns in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Would you like to visit princess of Adriatic coast -DUBROVNIK- and if you are looking for a quite , safe spot what value for your money than choose our clean , safe and friendly home.Within few minutes walk from ferry or main bus station ,Guesthouse S&L is practicly located in the middle of the city.We are not huge noisy property but quite homelike comfortable guesthouse . Every room has it own key.The guesthouse has two terraces and balcony from where you have perfect view at sea and Elafiti Islands.There is nice garden all around the house with a lot of flowers and fruits.Everybody can use the kitchen wihich is very well equiped. INTERNET (no password),SAT TV,AIRCONDITIONS -FREE .Our Standard double bed private ensuite is a apartment with separate entrance and it has room,kitchen, bathroom and wide terrace with garden in front.There are A/C and SAT TV in the apartment.Another double bed private ensuite has kitchen in comunity.It is spacious kitchen very well equiped.It also hes nice view at sea and marina.Turist and exscursion boats are in distance of 150 m so if you like to see Elafiti Islands or Natiolal Park Mljet it is very easy.There is bus stop near the house.It is 4 min by bus to the old town and beaches or twenty min walk.We would be very pleased to have you visiting us.Distances:bus stop 50mnearest shop 20mnearest restaurant 70msea 150mtourist boats 150mtourist info 300mbanks 200mseveral supermarkets 300mferry port 400mmain bus station 600mold town 1,5 kmbeaches 1,5 kmOut of charge :INTERNETPICK UP SERVICE FROM FERRY OR MAIN BUS STATIONcity maps and all posible infolocal phone callstowels and bed linenair conditionrefrigeratorall taxes included in priceWe charge :pick up from or to the airportlaundry servicePlease note that we only accept payment in cash on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your S&L Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s&l Guesthouse Hotel Dubrovnik
s And l Guesthouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing