We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Location in Dubrovnik”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Madrid

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Dalmatia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
travelfan...
NY
1 review
“Perfect Location in Dubrovnik”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My husband and I chose Madrid based on the great reviews and location near the Pile gate - which did not disappoint. It is literally a 30 second walk to the Pile gate, which is great for meeting transfers or tours. Also, the rest of the Old City is at your front door - restaurants, pubs, even the walk to the Old Harbour is just a few minutes. I wouldn't spend any time looking at any apartments that mention the steps on the other side of the Old City - Madrid is in the perfect location with no big stone steps! (Just the staircase steps up to the apartment, 1 flight.) Plus, Bozo, the owner, is SO responsive, sometimes we'd get return emails from him in minutes! He set up our transfers and was very easy to work with - overall a great pleasure. As for the actual apartment, it is modern, just the right amount of space for a couple, and has everything you need: a nice kitchen, washer/dryer facilities and the all-important hot water for your shower. Dubrovnik and the Villa Madrid is a lovely vacation that I'd recommend to anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A S
Galway, Ireland
1 review
“Modern fully equipped apartment in ideal location in old town of Dubrovnik”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Had most enjoyable stay in studio apartment Madrid last week. Delighted with location ie adjacent to main street without the noise of the crowds and within walking distance of restaurants, shops, bars, buses and old port. Apartment fully fitted out - all the necessary modern appliances in place and sofa bed and main bedroom very comfortable with beautiful bed linen. Wonderful shower. This apartment has advantage over a lot of other properties in town as at is on main street level. Dubrovnik is built into mountain face and several properties have steep steps leading up to them which could be bothersome when carrying suitcases. We will definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kegs58
Ulverstone, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Modern, spacious apartment in old town, Dubrovnik. Excellent location.”
Reviewed October 8, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 days at the end of a 6 week European holiday. Raul met us at bell tower and directed us to the apartment. He discussed place of interest in Dubrovnik to visit and organised an airport transfer for our departure. The "London" apartment is very modern and spacious and was well equipped for pleasant stay. It even had a toaster which seems very uncommon in Europe! We didn't utilise the apartment's kitchen a lot, as we chose to eat out at the vast range of restaurants. We enjoyed our stay here very much. The only negative was the builders across the lane were a bit noisy. But that was unavoidable, there were simply doing their job. Normally, this would be a fantastic place to stay because it is in a quiet area of old town Dubrovnik.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious apartment in good location.
Liked least: Builders renovating in neighbourhood, causing early morning noise.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely brilliant apartment in an amazing location”
Reviewed August 4, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Bozo was very easy to contact and very friendly - we were going to book another of his apartments when he suggested this one as there are fewer steps and one of us has difficulty walking sometimes.

The apartment was spotless and done to a very high standard - it went far beyond our expectations and the photos don't quite do it justice!

Perfect location in the old town near Pile Gate, very easy to access everything from there. Great atmosphere outside, but not noisy inside.

Anka met us at the apartment and was great - she gave us a map and labelled it, told us the cheapest supermarket to go to, where the locals go to eat and even offered a taxi transfer to the airport if we needed it. Would definitely come back here if I ever return to Dubrovnik! Didn't need directions to the property - all we needed was the address as it's on one of the main streets, at the end near the gate.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Standard of the apartment and location
Liked least: There was nothing that we disliked
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandmajo...
Vestal, NY
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely Apartment”
Reviewed June 20, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

My husband and I spent several days at this apartment and enjoyed it. It is spacious, well equipped and convenient to sites in the Old town (but not up steps). It had a washing machine, which made travel much easier. The only drawback...and it is a minor one, is that the glass doors allowed light to penetrate from the living room to the bedroom. It has WiFI and my husband liked to do some of his work on the internet after I went to sleep.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Convenience/location
Liked least: glass doors
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goranka C
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just superb!”
Reviewed March 20, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

My husband and myself just returned from a one-week vacation we spent in Dubrovnik, in the apartment 'Madrid'. It is beautiful and modern, nicely decorated, well-equipped. After long walks around the Old Town, up along the city walls and museums, it felt good to come back and relax in such a pleasant place. Bright and sunny, and still in the very heart of the medieval city. Very quiet and relaxing as the windows are sound-proof. And no steps in this part of the town, which is quite important!
Madrid has everything - kitchen is very nice, with all the appliances for making a complete meal, but we didn´t bother much with cooking as restaurants and bars are so closeby.
I particularly enjoyed massages under the shower, the bathroom is big, with plenty of light, and again made with great care for detail. And my husband, of course, appreciated wi-fi!
It is very clean and brand new, and one can feel the effort and good taste it was decorated with. The owner Bozo was very helpful and gave us some good suggestions what to do and how to spend the time, so we visited many lovely spots.
We took the advantage of lower winter rates, and it turned out to be excellent value for money vacation!
I have already shared this experience with my friends, and will surely recommend it to anyone who wants to taste life in the Old Dubrovnik. Planning to come back some time soon.
Granka Cvijanovic, Zagreb, Croatia

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: difficult to single out, it was overall a great experience
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2012
Dear Goranka, Thank you very much for the nice review. It is so good to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in my apartment Madrid. I hope to see you next year again.
Best regards
Bozo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2017
Dear Regis, Thank you for review. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed my apartment in Dubrovnik.
Best regards
bozo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing