We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
65
19
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
19
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bedroom and bathroom top floor perfect location steep sides nice apartment old town these apartments ploce gate worked fine hot water lounge area flights of stairs our honeymoon washing machine small kitchen fantastic views first floor
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 88 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2017

We had an apartment on two floors at the very top of the building. The stairs are a bit testing when carrying cases but otherwise ok if you are reasonably fit. This is what we thought at the time.
Location - perfect. We often nipped back to drop things off or pick things up and you are never more than 5 minutes away from anywhere in the old town. You are also just a ten minute walk form the taxi drop off point.
Top Floor - small kitchen set up with just enough of what you needed. We ended up making breakfast and it was perfect for that. The TV was not much good for us as we could not find anything in English but having said that, you would not find TV in Croatian in England.
Bottom Floor - bathroom fine. Only issue that my wife noted was that the blind was not long enough so people could see part of you. Not a problem for me though. We also ran short of toilet rolls and had to make some calls to get some more. There are no maids so anything you need you have to make a call for. The bedroom was fine although we did not that the safe was only attached to a shelf in the wardrobe which could not be locked. It looked as if it could just be taken out. The apartment though felt perfectly safe so we soon forget this.
The apartment has a quaint feel to it with exposed beams and is nothing like a corporate hotel room. This felt exactly right and in keeping with where we were. It is also next t a church so you do hear bells every hour - and also a quick tinkle on the half hour. Can't say it bothered us though.
The acid test is would you go back and it is a definite yes for us. It was ideal for what we wanted and was clean and well maintained. Juts make sure that you can handle the stairs and are not put off by the bells and you will have a great time.

Room tip: Don't go for top floor unless you can handle the stairs
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jeffrob111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2017

This apartment is a true home away from home, nicely decorated with lovely views of the Dubrovnik rooftops and located smack in the middle of everything. We loved being able to step right out into the center of the Old Town with all it's beautiful sights. We would also happily stay here again if we come back, One minor thing to take into consideration; there are quite a number of stairs to climb to get to the apartment, very good exercise and we did not mind but could be trying for anyone with trouble walking

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank UlrikaAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2017

Great apartment in a great location. Communication with Ana to arrange meeting time was easy, and I felt she was always available to answer any questions I might send her (though I didn't need to!). Like most places in Dubrovnik steps are involved! Apartment is spacious, with all necessary amenities, and being on two levels makes it feel very special. And one could hardly be more central

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2017

Large apartment in the old town, right next to the main square. Apartment spotless. The tcheck in process went very smoothly. The girl who checked us in was so helpful. Apartment is well appointed. Has everything you need. Well worth it.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile

Secret apartments
The apartment is beautiful. Comfortably furnished, nice decor and very spacious.
It's located right in the heart of the old town and, once you've got your bearings, easy to access all the relevant tourist areas.
Ana met us, as agreed, at the entrance to the old town as no cars are allowed within the old town walls.  She was very friendly and informative and the transfer that had been arramged for us was very easy (although perhaps slightly overpriced as we paid the same for a return tranfser from Lapud which is further away from the airport). 

The apartment was very hot on arrival however we managed to keep it cool enough after that, though I do think the apartment would benefit an extra aircon unit especially upstairs.

Unfortunately we encountered a few problems during our stay:
Firstly we realised the previous occupants had not cleaned the crockery or glassware very well, there were a number of items visibly dirty and we had to rewash them. Not a major issue and, whem we let Ana know she was suitably apologetic.
We also discovered the previous occupants had left half eaten food in the freezer.  Again not an issue but I would have expected this to have been picked up by the cleaners although I must say, on the whole the apartment was very clean.
Secondly we discovered the front of the aircon unit in the bedroom kept falling open (revealing a very dusty grille). We informed Ana but received no response.
Thirdly we discovered (as we were trying to get ready to go out) that the hairdryer didn't work.  Again Ana was very apologetic in her text and dropped off a new one promptly, unfortunately the new one stank of smoke, it had evidently been brought from a smokers home and, as suxh, wasn't pleasant to use.
Fourthly, and most frustratingly, we discovered we were unable to take a bath.  This was very disappointing as it looked a most lovely bath and one of the things that drew us to the apartment in the first place.  The disappointment was compounded by Viktor's response.  Initially he was apologetic and sympathetic and, indeed, gave us 600 kuna back by way of an apology. However, he then told us he had fixed the problem and so we tried again to have a bath and the same happened.  We had to use all of our towels to mop uo the flooding and I messaged him again to tell him about it.  This time he was less than apologetic and indeed verging on being rude (telling me it wasnt a 4* hotel so problems do happen!) when I pointed out that I appreciated problems happen but that the apartment was advertised as having a working bath (as he told us we wouldn't be able to use it for the rest of our stay) he lied to me and told me they had never had previous problems.  As you can see from my photograph the wood surround to the bathroom door was all warped with water damage so clearly they had had this problem previously.  On learning we would not be able to make use of the bath for the rest of our stay I asked for more pf a refund as the 600 kuna previously given was much less than 10% of what we paid for our 6 night stay.  Needless to say I didn't get it and was subjected to further rude replies from Viktor.  A real shame that put a dampner on the first part of our honeymoon as, had Viktor simply been more apologetic and perhpas sent round a bottle of wine or something it wouldn't have felt quite so much like we were being taken for a ride.

Overall however I would still recomment the apartment as it's location is second to none and, if you don't have any problems and therefore don't need the 'customer services' offered by Viktor you'll be fine.  The only other thing worth mentioning is that you will encounter noise especially on a weekend.  Closing the external shutters does help but if you're a light sleeper take some earplugs! Oh, and it is up some rather steep stairs!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LauraEWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
butterflyservices, Manager at Secret Apartments Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2017

Dear LauraEWD,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Secret Apartment. We 're very sorry that we have not met your expectations. We apologise for the inconveniences you met during your stay, part of your honeymoon.

Your review is very objective and we thank you for that we would like to add some comments:

Cleanliness: it is our top priority. As soon as you informed Ana about it, she indeed apologised and was ready to clean back. You arrived in the morning and because it was extremely hot, she let you settled in before the standard check-in time at 16.00 pm that would give us time to have a complete check of the property between two lets (included the kitchen crockery, utensils etc).

Customer service: We are sorry to read your thoughts. We value our guests and we want to make sure they have a great experience from A to Z. As soon as you contacted us we have answered and helped to fix in a very timely manner. You called us on Saturday evening at 18.00 pm to report the issue with a water leak and asked us to to bring you fresh towels and to have the water leak fixed while you were out for dinner. As property manager, we contacted the owner to make sure a plumber come. We could not get a hold on a plumber on the evening. You mentioned us the inconveniences with the kitchen crockery, the hairdryer (replaced in a very timely manner) and on top the water leak. We completely understand that it was annoying. We refund you a 10% discount on your stay as token gesture on the evening. We follow up next morning, waiting to have a plumber. Meanwhile at 14.00 pm you had a bath and called us to report the water leak. Viktor told you that we were waiting to have a plumber however you wanted to have it fixed before 16.30 pm and you ask us for a larger discount as the bath was the reason you chose to stay at the property. We’re sorry that you find it rude. We tried to make you understand that the property is privately owned and we do not have a maintenance/plumber available as a Hotel does. Viktor came to the apartment right after to check if he could find where the leak was coming from and try to fix it himself. He also brought you fresh towels in the time frame requested. As Viktor could not find from where the leak could come from, he recommended having a shower to make sure you do not have to cope with a leak again. A plumber came on Monday but he could not fix it. He will not be able to do anything only after season. (Few days of work are needed). We tried on Sunday to find one alternative accommodation with a bath so we could offer you however no similar property in the Old town was available. We're really sorry that you considered our customer service as rude - we have tried our best to assist you and explain the situation.

Apartment: there is A/C through in bedroom and in the living/kitchen area above.

Taxi/Transfer rate: The price is displayed at the airport and at the taxi station 35 Euro/260 HRK - there is no misleading information.

Noise: the apartment is central, in the flat part of the Old town. It has sound proof windows and wooden shutters to prevent any noise.

Stairs: We are careful about the information to make sure our guests can access the property so the information are clearly stated “The Secret apartments are located in a flat area of the Old Town, There are no outdoor steps. Indoors, note that there are 55 steps to reach the apartment".

We are sincerely sorry and apologise for inconveniences you cope with. Trust that we would have loved to make your honeymoon stay a very special one.

We would love to have you back in the future. We will make sure you leave with no misunderstanding and with a positive impression of our services.

Sincerely,
Isabelle, Ana and Viktor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews