We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Short Break”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Dalmatia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
ScottishM...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect Short Break”
Reviewed June 6, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I can confirm that the previous reviews are telling the truth! This is a spacious studio flat with everything you could possibly need plus a few extra treats thrown in, with its own lovely secluded garden, and winery downstairs. It's at the back of the owners’ house, which means it was both sheltered from the noise of the road and new marina works at the front, and the sun at the rear so it stays quite cool (there is air conditioning but we didn’t use it). It is informal but private. Having paid so much less for so much more space and the freedom of our own apartment, I wonder why anyone would want stay in a hotel.

The location is on the seafront in Lapad overlooking Gruz harbour (though note the apartment is at the back), so you can judge whether it’s safe to head to the old town or not simply by counting the cruise ships. It’s a bus ride to the old town, but Lapad itself is lovely, seems to have all the best restaurants, and it’s only a 10-minute walk to the ‘strip’ and from there down to Lapad bay for swimming, drinks or eats.

The unique selling point of this place though is the owners Marina and Mato, who treated us as their personal guests throughout the stay, showing us around the winery, indulging us with free samples, giving advice on where to go, booking taxis, getting us into busy local restaurants at short notice, discussing Croatia's recent history. Nothing was too much trouble for them, and they are always on hand when the winery is open. In short, when you book this place, your friendly personal English-speaking local advisers are thrown in for free.

As they had no other guests staying after us, we had full use of the apartment right up to the point we had to leave to catch our flight, which was a lovely touch and took a lot of stress out of the travelling. My only regret is I couldn't being any of the wine back because our hold luggage was right on the weight limit :-(

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olduns
Purdysburn
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quiet and restful but only 10mins walk from the Old Town”
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Mato, Marina and Nonna made us so welcome and the cool walled garden was a bonus- just what was needed for rest. and relaxation.Well equipped although bed rather low for our arthritic joints. only a few steps 12? to accessstudio apt. The level waterfront made walking easier and shops, ATM and typical tourist restaurants were 10 minutes walk or less. Oldtown prices dearer than local restaurants though. A marina was being built but didn't disrupt us - and will bring in many small yachts to the winery and small restaurants - see separate reviews.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: garden and hosts
Liked least: low bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian G
Halifax Region, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed July 10, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our 3 day visit to Dubrovnik was fantastic. Our stay with Mato, Marina, and family was a real pleasure. The 450 year history of the house is impressive and most comfortable, certainly exceeded our expectations. We love the location by the sea....far enough away from Old Town to relax but still accessible with ease.
The wine cellar and gift shop below the apartment adds to the unique experience.
Looking forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great friendly owners
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tofu_togo
Bonn, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“A wonderful week in Dubrovnik”
Reviewed June 20, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

It's a happy coincidence that we were suggested to change our apartment to this Little Dubrovnik because the one we meant to book was overbooked. Our host Marina and Mato and their mother are all very kind and friendly. We felt very much at home in this spacious and comfortable studio apartment from the welcoming cakes to nice decoration, garden and a large functioning kitchen. The apartment is quiet as it faces the garden rather than the road. There are good bus connections to the old town (Pile Gate), and organised tours can pick up from the nearby Hotel La Pad which is just 2 minutes walk away.

It's definitely a good base to visit Dubrovnik and the nearby towns like Mostar and Kotor. We liked to visit the local market on the other side of the harbour with a lot of fresh vegetables and seafood. We also enjoyed tasting the wine and liquor in their shop too! Cherry liquor is our favourite!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerLimk
Limerick, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for a stay in Dubrovnik!”
Reviewed October 22, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed in this lovely apartment for a week in August. Marina and Mato were wonderful hosts and made us feel really welcome. The apartment is perfect and the garden is so lovely and cool for breakfast or for relaxing with a nice bottle of wine in the evening. You have to try the wine that Marina and Mato produce! They arranged a hairdresser appointment for me locally – probably the best blow-dry I’ve ever had!
The bed was really comfy and everything you could possibly need was provided. I strongly recommend a stay in Little Dubrovnik 2+1 :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Really comfy bed and the private garden
Liked least: Parking our rental car
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barefoot2...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant stay in fantastic apartment,convenient,comfortable,lovely garden .”
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Highly recommend this property,close to the city and convenient to beach well equiped and furnished with the use of a lovely private garden.Many thanks to Mato and Marina our friendly and gracious hosts for a wonderful and relaxing stay in a property with real character

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location ,value and friendly hosts
Liked least: having to go home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wgap
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Wonderful hospitality with a great location, beautiful garden.”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Marina and Mato are wonderful and considerate hosts, they make and sell great wine on the premises. Convenient to go to the old city of dubrovnik by number 6 bus (10 mins.) The harbor is 4 metres from the front door with cruise boats moored accross the water. Plenty of local restaurants with a variety of food choices. Travel agency next door who can arrange any tours you want. From Lapad beach there is a beautiful walk along the shore. Can highly recommend "Little Dubrovnik" for a relaxing and frienfly stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing