We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Dinners at sunset”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Sale Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Romantic Dinners at sunset”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

This is a large hotel set in beautiful grounds with dramatic scenery. It is very clean & weel cared for the staff are friendly & is anothe example of Riviera Travel picking the ideal place for its clients. We manage st secure an outside table on the terrace of th large restaurant on each of our 4 night stay & each night we witnessed the most beautiful sunsets over the mountains Stunning!

Room Tip: Such a large hotel their seemed to be rooms on all elevations with different aspects ours (208) ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommoSaleCheshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Argosy hotel with the Trip Advisor community.
We are more than happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our unique restaurant location contributed to your experience.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,
Josip Konjevod-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    512
    154
    36
    12
See reviews for
149
631
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Great room, good food and very clean. Spacious with lovely al fresco dining, live music in the evenings and two bars (one of which is beside the pool). Location is very close to bus stop, number 6 takes you directly to the old town in about 10 minutes. Access to the see for swimming is within 5 minutes walk with pedalos, canoes and an inflatable fun park. There is also a small shopping centre attached to the hotel.

Warning... It is a very couply hotel and almost all are pensioners. However as a couple in our early 20s we still felt very welcome. Tap water in the room is drinkable but they don't serve it in the restaurant, and a smile from the waiting staff might be nice too! The room has high ceilings and a spacious bathroom which is cleaned daily. Fantastic value for money, definitely recommended :) :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieR0bb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience at Argosy hotel with fellow travelers. It’s always pleasure to read recommendations from our guests.
I am glad the hotel met your expectations and you enjoyed your stay in Argosy and I also hope this will encourage you to visit us again soon.
Best wishes from Dubrovnik,
Josip Konjevod-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
167 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Just returned from a nine day stay at this lovely hotel. We can only reiterate the general view on trip advisor. This hotel is exceptionally clean, has friendly staff, good amenties and can boast a great location - where else (in a three star hotel) can you sit on a sun terrace eating your breakfast overlooking the adriatic sea. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choices. Plenty of sun loungers and two pools with a lovely pool side bar which serves a good value snack as well as drinks. The hotel location is excellent, 20 mins bus ride away from Dubrovnik Old Town (just 12kn one way), a 15 min walk from the port and a 10 min stroll to the busy Lapad area. In addition, within a short walk from the hotel, there are a wide variety of shops, bars and restuarants and two pebbly beaches.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the adriatic sea are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jasowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Guest
It really is appreciated that you have taken the time to post your review of Hotel Argosy following your time with us. I was delighted to hear that we met all your expectations , and I trust that we will have the pleasure also of welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind regards,
Josip Konjevod-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Welcoming and friendly staff, great location, beautiful grounds; a very pleasant experience in every way. Our room had French doors on to a terrace, was very clean and comfortable. Great food with loads of choice, even for a vegetarian. Amazing views from the dining terrace, particularly at sunset. The pool was large and spotlessly clean; it's easy to get into Dubrovnik by bus, which goes from just down the road. Reception staff were extremely helpful. Can't recommend Hotel Argosy highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Guest,

it's always a pleasure to read such a nice review. All the staff is doing it's best to make the guests holidays as pleasant and memorable as possible.
It makes us proud and happy that you enjoyed your holidays so much, which means all the effort each team member is giving is paying back.
I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Best wishes from Dubrovnik!

Josip Konjevod-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Stayed for four nights in the 3 star Hotel Argosy, we were on half board and we travelled with Riviera and this was the second part of a two location touring holiday.
This is a huge hotel not so much in height but it's footprint is very spread out, that's not such a bad thing as you do have your own space. We had a ground floor double room right at the end of a spur, room 144, we had a brilliant view from our patio and the sun used to set at 8.15pm behind one of the islands in front of us. The hotel advertises that Wifi is available throughout the hotel but it didn't work in our room or on the patio, but it did work by the pool and in reception etc I put this down to how far away we where from the hotel office, I was grateful for the free Wifi anyway.
The rooms, despite being set in the old style were very clean and the bed very comfortable, the bathroom was basic but again clean and practible having shower gel / shampoo and a hair dryer.
The overall food was excellent and lots of it cooked in front of you, the choice was excellent and they catered for almost every need, the staff in the dining rooms were very friendly and attentive and you could sit almost anywhere you liked, the outside terrace faced the West so you could sit there with the 8.15pm sunset dipping out before you. The house wines were excellent and very reasonable compared to some hotels, a couple of glasses for £4 and a bottle for about £7. The pool we used once but it was very clean and towels were supplied at the pool side, there were lots of sun beds available however this was June.
The hotel is just a 10, 15 minute bus ride into Dubrovnik, it's the No.6 and costs 15 Kuna (about £1.50) if you pay the driver and 12 Kuna if you buy the tickets in the hotel, you can only buy singles, the bus goes from just down the road from the hotel (the terminus) and you can catch it back from the just outside the Town walls (entrance No 2) in Dubrovnik. A word of warning however, leave your British manners in the hotel when catching the No.6 bus from Dubrovnik up to the terminus, it really is a free for all to get on, elbows out and keep moving forward!!!!!! if you find that difficult, the bus does run every 10 mins, so eventually, you'll get the hang of it.
This hotel is run very efficiently, its clean and very friendly, the food is excellent and the staff do actually go out of their way to help you enjoy your stay. It's access to the fantastic City of Dubrovnik makes this hotel an excellent choice if you want to pop in and out of the City or just laze about in the Hotel. We had an excellent stay.

Room Tip: We asked for a sea view and got a brilliant one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank DerbyFolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Guest,

I was delighted to read your positive comments regarding your recent stay and it was also great to hear that you had excellent stay. I’m happy to read that we met all your expectations regarding efficiency, cleanliness and food quality but your comment for our staff makes me really proud.
Thank you very much for taking time to post this review and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again in hotel Argosy.
Best regards,

Josip Konjevod-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

we were on a coach trip and stayed at the argosy for 4 nights HB, the hotel is part of an hotel complex with several hotels situated on an headland called Babin Kuk just outside the town of Dubrovnik, our room had a stunning view across to the sea,the food was excellent with plenty of choice,no complaints....

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank percy894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear guest,
thank you very much for choosing Argosy hotel for your holiday and we're glad you really liked it.
It's good you had a room overlooking the see and had the chance to enjoy our spectacular views which are just as lovely during the day or at sunset. Also I’m glad you enjoyed in our food
Hope you get the opportunity to visit Argosy hotel again in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Josip Konjevod-General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

This hotel has beautiful views and is well located only 20 mins by bus to the old town of Dubrovnik. The highlight of our stay was each evening dining outside or on the covered terrace (sunsets, Islands and passing cruise ships). The staff are friendly and helpful and high standards were maintained throughout our stay. This hotel offers a relaxing atmosphere with quiet, clean areas to sunbathe in a garden setting. You can choose from a low key evening in the hotel or travel to the old town quickly and cheaply for a lively evening (the buses run till 1am in the morning) You also have the option of walking to the other Valamar Hotels (Lacroma Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik President and Club Dubrovnik which are all minutes away with a variety of facilities and fantastic views. We really loved the coastal walks one way takes 20 mins to Gruz Harbour and the other is 25 mins to Lapad. There is seating and shaded areas along the walks. We would like to thank all the staff we had a lovely stay and hope to return soon. In Dubrovnik the city walls and Cable car experience is amazing but do it around 4pm when its quieter and cooler.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and the room was spacious with a lovely vaulted ceiling.We had a sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HywelLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent comments concerning our Argosy hotel.
Our Guest Services Team strives to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable stay and from your comments I can see our team excelled in making you feel welcome and comfortable and I will pass on your comments to all of the Team.
May I thank you for being our guest and taking the time to review our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Dubrovnik, hopefully very soon.
Kind Regards,
Josip Konjevod-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.3 km away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.2 km away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#13 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
0.2 km away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
1.8 km away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Argosy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Argosy Hotel

Property: Valamar Argosy Hotel
Address: Iva Dulcica 140 | Babin Kuk, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#20 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Argosy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic garden paradise in Dubrovnik's green oasis Set in the picturesque and peaceful Babin Kuk peninsula, the Valamar Argosy Hotel welcomes you as a newly refurbished and upgraded 4* hotel. Its stunning landscaped gardens, stylish rooms, infinity pool and wellbeing area, all set the scene for an ideal relaxing and romantic getaway. With the old town of Dubrovnik just 15 minutes away and a selection of beaches at your fingertips, you can mix and match the activities you love to create your own unforgettable Croatian holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valamar Argosy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argosy Hotel Dubrovnik
Argosy Dubrovnik
Hotel Argosy Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing