We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel but housekeeping let it down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very good hotel but housekeeping let it down”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We visited for a week over the Easter period in a basic double with seaview. The room, 512, was large and very comfortable with plentiful L'Occitane toiletries. The seaview did not disappoint and although the basic rooms do not have balconies, the large windows can be opened to enjoy the sea air.

The hotel has a well equipped lovely sea view spa with pool, hot tub, sauna and steam room. We found the treatments offered at the spa to be good value for money. Access to the beach is a real attraction at this hotel and makes the ten minute walk into the old town very worthwhile. It's fantastic to have a city holiday where you can also spend time on the beach.

The breakfast buffet which was included in our room rate was average - no complaints but not outstanding.

The plusses really outweigh the minuses at this hotel but if you hold yourself out as being a 5 star hotel then this is the basis upon which I will rate you and there was one aspect of our stay that fell far below 5 star standard and this was the housekeeping. It sounds so fussy but I expect more from a 5 star hotel with these rack rates and have certainly never experienced this kind of shoddy style before. Rarely were our curtains ever opened - they were always just left the way we had half opened them in the morning. Once the bedspread was removed on the first night, it never made a reappearance and was just left on the window cill for the whole week. The bed was made poorly every day - please see the attached photo which shows the bed just after housekeeping had visited. Towels that we opted to re-use were not re-folded. It seemed really out of kilter with the rest of the hotel's offerings and has brought down my rating.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytraveller12397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luce b, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor's pages.
Many thanks for mentioning size of our rooms, our l'Occitaine toiletries,nice sea view from your room as well as our spa and good treatments you experienced during your stay.
I am so sorry that you had objection on our housekeeping lady and I've already reacted, because
the way she made your bed ( attached photo) is not in our standards.
I am so sorry that you did not mentione your objection during your stay because I am sure that we would avoid your dissatisfaction.
Once again I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and should your travel bring you back to Dubrovnik , I would be delighted if you choose our hotel again,

Sincerely,

Luce Baca
General Manager
Hotel "Bellevue", Dubrovnik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,050
    321
    70
    10
    5
See reviews for
167
968
30
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dorking
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Stayed 3 nights and everything was near perfect. Didn't try the beach because was early April and not warm enough, nor the restaurant in the evening but no reason to think these wouldn't be ok.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevinDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luce b, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice comments od Tripadvisor's pages.
I hope that you will be back with us again and have opportunity to use our nice sandy beach,
swimm in cristal clear Adriatic sea and taste delicious food in our restaurant "Vapor" with mediterrainen cuisine.
I look forward welcoming you back soon !!
Best regards,

Luce Baca
General Manager
Hotel "Bellevue", Dubrovnik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We have just returned from this Hotel 10 nights. Classed as 5 Star. We booked a "superior " Sea View Room but the room was small with small balcony and bathroom. Breakfast was buffet and was average. Both room and breakfast 3 star. Cost of food very expensive. Good seaview with access to beach. Good pool.
Staff very helpful and the hotel was spacious. 20 minutes into the old town. Would not recommend staying here for more than 4 days and most people when we were there did not stay for long periods

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luce b, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for posting your comment on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay.
I am really sorry to read that our hotel did not meet your expectations in certain aspects.
I appreciate your positive comments about friendly staff,nice pool and nice sea-view from your room and I will be happy to share your comments with my team.
Regarding the size of your room , surface of the room, bathroom is 29 m2,while surface of the balcony is 5,5 m2.
Our suites are more spacious from 56 m2 untill 110 m2 and in a case that we have availibility
we are always willing to upgrade our clients and I am sorry that you did not tell us anything during your stay with us.
As in April swimming season does not start yet we always ecourage our guests to take
advantage of our highly trained concierge staff regarding informations how and where to go to
explore not only old city of Dubrovnik but also its surroundings ; inland and islands.
Croatian coast is very beautiful and has more then 1000 islands and small islets.
Regarding our buffet breakfast more then 100 different items are displayed every morning and also you could order a la carte without any charge.
I appologise for any disappointment caused and I would be more then grateful to receive further details in order to review and improve our offers for your next visit.

With kind regards,
Luce Baca
General Manager
Hotel Bellevue, Dubrovnik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

An amazing experience, and a wonderful hotel. Currently in the middle of a 3 night stay here in Dubrovnik. Setting is idyllic, with sumptuous views and terrific balconies that provide retractable sunshades and outdoor furniture. The hi-tech touches make all the difference to lovely, spacious and well-appointed rooms. Was fortunate enough to experience both the deluxe and 'apartment' accommodation here - and what a treat the apartment is. For someone who just came to Croatia off the heels of a Cannes stay at the iconic Carlton, this hotel was catering to a tough crowd - and it delivered. Already one of my favourite hotels in the world. Will certainly return!

Room Tip: Corner apartment = money well spent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank businss_travell3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luce b, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice comments at Tripadvisor's pages.
I am very happy that you appreciated the style and architecture of the hotel as well as a nice apartment.
I am looking forward welcoming you back soon.
With kind regards,
Luce Baca
General Manager
Hotel "Bellevue", Dubrovnik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed here when I was funemployed a few years back. Location wise it's great...close enough to walk to town or just take a bus or cab...far enough from all the tour groups. The private beach is a stunning mix of blue green waters. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. The morning breakfast was great...only upstaged by the beautiful views of the private beach and ocean

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luce b, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice feedback about hotel "Bellevue", about friendly staff,about
our buffet breakfast.
Regarding your comment about private beach, according Croatian law the beaches can not be private. Hotel pays concession for the big part of the beach to be only for our guests, but second part of the beach is public.!
Thank you for mentioning cristal clear blue green water. Adriatic sea is clean and clear.
Should your travel bring you back to Dubrovnik in the future my team and I would be delighted
if you choose our hotel again.
Sincerely Yours,
Luce Baca
General Manager
Hotel "Bellevue", Dubrovnik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Just returned from three nights in this wonderful hotel, and would return like a shot! The hotel itself is beautifully placed on the cliff top above a lovely little private beach (exclusively for hotel guests), about 15 minutes' walk (uphill!) from the Old Town's Pile Gate, where the airport bus drops you off. The room (208) was immaculately clean with a wonderful balcony overlooking the sea, a decent-sized bathroom, plenty of storage space and comfortable beds. Everything about the hotel feels top-quality and the staff clearly take a great deal of pride in working there. Little things like the outside-facing glass elevator with views over the beach, and the restaurant being built around a full-sized palm tree all add to the overall impression that this is somewhere quite special. Breakfast (included in the room rate) was excellent - wide choice of traditional cooked and cold choices, fresh fruit, cereal, etc. The bar has a nice atmosphere in the evening, especially if you can sit outside on the terrace. My only minor criticism would be that the bar menu is somewhat limited and quite pricey - but not indecently so! If the weather isn't brilliant, there is a very pleasant indoor (infinity-style) pool with a jacuzzi, sauna and steam room.

For a little final touch of luxury, the hotel can arrange a limo transfer to whisk you back to the airport - for not very much more than the cost of a local cab. This was a wonderful first visit to Croatia, and I would give this hotel the very highest possible recommendation! (One final thing to note - the hotel itself is not brilliantly signposted if you're arriving on foot. The tourist kiosk in Pile Gate can give you a local map and directions, which are pretty straightforward).

Room Tip: It appeared that there were a small number of rooms with no balcony, but the vast majority have a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luce b, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your kind feedback regarding your stay at the hotel
"Bellevue" in Dubrovnik.
I was delighted to read that you appreciated the style and architecture of the hotel.
Thank you for your generous comments about our buffet breakfast and I hope that during your next stay with us that you will taste also food in our fine dining restaurant Vapor with mediterranean and croatian cuisine.
I 'll take great pleasure in sharing your compliments with all my staff.
Sincerely,
Luce Baca
General Manager
Hotel " Bellevue",Dubrovnik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This is a special place with staff that go far beyond normal reception duties. Setting is just perfect and if you want to save money book the no- balcony rooms off season which are corner rooms with views both sides and windows that open onto the beach below. It is an amazing small hotel that deserves its rating, also quite beautiful and no, I do not have shares in the hotel but have travelled a lot and think this deserves praise. Walk into town. We changed to sister hotel Dubrovnik Palace, great facilities but too big and package tour type hotel. Miss you Bellevue.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zabi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luce b, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Guests,
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. !
Thank you for choosing our hotel and thank you for recommending our hotel on Tripadvisor
pages. Hope to see you soon with us again !!
Best regards,
Luce Baća
General Manager
Hotel "Bellevue" Dubrovnik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
3.0 km away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 67 in Dubrovnik
782 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 67 in Dubrovnik
609 reviews
1.1 km away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,921 reviews
3.2 km away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
2.9 km away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 67 in Dubrovnik
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik

Property: Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Address: Pera Cingrije 7, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL BELLEVUE DUBROVNIK, one of Europe’s coolest new hotels according to the Sunday Times, is a unique hotel for discerning individual guests with an appreciation for luxury and attention to detail. The hotel is located in a spectacular 30 meter-high clifftop position overlooking the Adriatic, few minutes walking distance from the Old city of Dubrovnik. All 91 luxurious bedrooms and suites have sea views and are equipped with the latest technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing