We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Villa Argentina
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We have just returned after spending a week at the Argentina. The staff are all friendly and welcoming. The rooms (and the beds and pillows!) are comfortable and clean. Quirky paintings! The breakfast buffet is extensive and the staff responded to our comments that the hot food was rather cold and by the end, it was all up to temperature. The food in the Caravelle restaurant is delicious. We can recommend the Dentex fish! Unlike in the town, the mussels are also well scrubbed and beardless! The gardens are delightful and the indoor pool looked wonderful. The hotel was still gearing up for the full season, but apart from the outdoor pool not being filled, there was nothing lacking. Free Internet use was also a bonus.
We loved Dubrovnik. We were very lucky with the weather. The Argentina and its staff helped contribute in no small measure to a very happy holiday. Thank you to all.

Room Tip: We felt it worth paying extra to have a sea view and balcony. Some of the lower floor rooms might h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gladick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your nice review about hotel Grand Villa Argentina. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will visit us in future again.
With very best regards from sunny Dubrovnik
Mario Matkovic
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

868 - 874 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2012

We arrived in Dubrovnik after risking our lives on the coastal road along Croatia from Slovenia and were total nervous wrecks seeking some solace for our frayed nerves. And that was exactly what we got! This hotel must be of the best that Croatia can offer as it is situated on the hill next to the old town with the most beautiful little swimming pool at its foot with a pier directly into the sea for fresh dips if you got tired of the pool. We had a suite with two baths and two rooms - in one of the rooms you could open the whole glass wall and the whole room turned into a magical terracce! In the morning as we opened the drapes a great sailing ship had cast its anchor directly in front of the hotel and it we lay in bed and just took in the sight of the sun, the wonderful blue sea and the great vessel so close we felt we could touch it! Food and service was the best - the prices were high but it was all worth it - go there right now!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pille2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you writing nice review about Grand Villa Argentina. We are very happy to see that your stay with us was a pleasant one. Comments like yours push us to work harder and to make our guest happy.
Thank you again for your stay with us and hope to see you in near future again.
With very best regards from sunny Dubrovnik
Mario Matkovic
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Excellent location because you can walk to the old town. You have the views of the old town from the pool and while you are swimming in the sea. Lovely to look at during night time or while having breakfast on the terrace. Great place to stay if you want to go several times to the old town, you can come back rest, have a great massage or sunbathe and go back out for dinner. Very good restaurants if you want to eat in.
Will certainly go back there again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dani N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear Guest,

every morning I like to check tripadvisor. It gives me a pleasure to start a day by reading comments like yours. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you for the 3rd time in Grand Villa Argentina.
With very best regards
Mario Matkovic
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I stayed one week at the Villa Argentina. The VIP restaurant: much to expensive regarding the served courses and a bad service. The fridge in my room was never refilled, the breakfast: every day the same and unefficient staff. Bad service at the bar near the swimming pool.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony: with a view on the terrace (= lot of noise in the morning and late afternoon)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacques S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for staying with us and I am sorry to see that your stay with us was not a plesant one. I encurage all our guest to contact us directly in case you have some issues during your stay. We hope you will give us a second chance and to see you in future again.

With very best regards

Mario Matkovic
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

One of the best Hotels in Dubrovnik with easy access to the walls of the old city. Spectacular views of the old town from the patio of the Restaurant Victoria - their a la carte restaurant in what was once the adjacent Villa Orsula. Right on the shore of the Adriatic looking across to the island of Lokrum - when the cruise ships aren't blocking the view! Quiet, peaceful gardens, lovely indoor/outdoor pools and a luxury spa make it easy for one to relax. Full breakfast buffet included in most packages but try one of the many restaurants in town for evening meals. Spring and Fall are the best times to visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony sea view room NOT directly overlooking the outdoor patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DWW47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice comments on Tripadviser pages. Thank you also for
choosing our hotel for your holidays and we are looking forward to your next visit!
Sincerely yours,

Mario Matkovic
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We would like to thank the staff and chefs at this hotel for a fantastic wedding reception on the terrace of the Victoria restaurant. We enjoyed amazing views and beautiful food and a fabulous wedding night in the hotel. The pool area was great with views and infinity pool. All in all a great stay, and very close to the old town and beach.

Room Tip: We had a room in the old building with a balcony, but there are cheaper rooms with views just as goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience from Grand Villa Argentina on Tripadvisor. It is great to see that we managed to go beyond your expectations as this is always our goal.

Thank you once again for choosing Grand Villa Argentina for your stay in Dubrovnik and double wedding and we are already looking forward to your next visit.


Sincerely yours,

Mario Matkovic
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Stayed here in May of 2011. The tourist season hadn't officially started but we enjoyed the hotel. It was a 5 minute walk to old town and it had it's own private beach. The water was still cold but refreshing. Great breakfast buffet but to dine in the restaurant at night was pricey and the food was okay; however, I didn't like the food I ordered (personal taste) and they very gladly offered to take it off of the bill without my even asking. Great hotel for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank goddesstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear Guest,


thank you for staying at Grand Villa Argentina and for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor. Hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.

With very best regards

Mario Matkovic
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
162 reviews
0.5 km away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
853 reviews
5.1 km away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
2.5 km away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,983 reviews
1.4 km away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#22 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: $182 - $539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing