We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect City Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel More

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel More
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Brechin, ANGUS Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A perfect City Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We spent a lovely long weekend for our 34th Wedding Anniversary here at the Hotel More in Dubrovnik, Croatia. The staff were very helpful and welcoming, most speaking perfect English. The hotel itself is beautiful, spotlessly clean and well maintained. Our bedroom overlooked the bay and even had a jacuzzi bath and a self close toilet lid!! in the spotless bathroom. The hotels' situation overlooking Lapad Bay is picturesque, however, the weather for most of our stay was not on our side - although our last day was spent in wall to wall sunshine, lounging on comfortable teak steamer chairs overlooking the blue Adriatic Sea.

For people less active, however, it should be noted it is a considerable 15 minute trek to walk to the nearest Bus Stop to get the No 6 bus into town (every 15 minutes and buy a Dubrovnik Card, available at the hotel which gives very good value for money for bus trips and visits to museums and galleries) The pedestrianised walkway below the Hotel was an attractive meander - in the summer I should imagine it will be lovely for "people watching."
Also be aware, there are a LOT of steps and hills in Dubrovnik - particularly in the Old Town - make sure you wear comfortable footwear - walking the City Walls in heels is not recommended - not me I hasten to add!

Our only criticism of the Hotel was that for its five stars, it did not provide coffee and tea making facilities in the room. In this day and age, I would have thought that should be standard practice. I really do object to ordering lukewarm tea from room service which has a 20% charge added to it!!

On the down side, food in Croatia does not appear to take priority - every restaurant, cafe and hotel had versions of exactly the same rather poor, tasteless food. For a country that is so dependent on fishing, they appear not to be able to utliise the abundance of fresh fish to its detriment. Most dishes we had were tasteless and often only lukewarm. The best item to eat appears to be the obligatory pizza!! Mea Culpa Pizzeria in the Old City comes highly recommended. I can also heartily recommend the Steak Sandwich to be had at the top of Mount Srd, overlooking the city. The cable car up the mountain provided some splendid views and the Panorama Cafe certainly lived up to its name. Both the sandwich and the french fries were hot and tasty - a rarity it seems in Dubrovnik.

All in all it was a very successful first trip to Croatia and we probably will go back for another visit at some point - a hire car to explore the rest of the country could be a good idea.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Sea View or if you are splashing out ask for a Suite - you get your own jacuzz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JacquieSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    188
    45
    14
    5
See reviews for
108
534
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We have just returned from 7 nights at Hotel More. We ate dinner 3 nights in hotel restaurant by choice - vg food. Croatian wine good but expensive. Overall hotel was very comfortable and welcoming. Only complaint is we had several wet days and the hotel could do with some more living space where guests could linger - geared for sunshine and summer season. Also staff could be more forthcoming about excursions. Overall however we could not recommend hotel highly enough and would happily return. Short very efficient bus ride to Old Town. (Locally Atlantic Restaurant nearby also highly recomended).

Room Tip: Check availalbility and ? extra cost of Sea View room but Garden Room does offer Garden view and lim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CEDub_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

The hotel is located on a very nice and quite location next to the sea with fantastic view!

Pros:
- Superb service
- Great view
- Great rooms (real 5 star rooms)
- Romantic
- Quite area with some very interesting options for food at great prices
- A diving center is located just accross the bay
- Free internet on the main lobby

Cons
- moving to the center of the city takes some time (20-30 minutes)
- in autumn the area is SUPER quite

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ilias N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonOF
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We started off with a misunderstanding about our rooms but the hotel more than compensated for this and we were ultimately very happy with the rooms that we got.

Unfortunately, as we were slightly out of season, the cave bar was not open although we did go an have a look. It's probably one of the most amazing bars I have ever seen. Built into the rock with stalactites hanging from the ceiling. It really looks like something out of a James Bond movie. Truly incredible.

Our room had an amazing balcony with a jacuzzi which although was out of season, the hotel cleaned and made ready for us. The rooms were clean, tidy and well presented and the bathrooms are luxurious.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and we had the pleasure of meeting the owner of the hotel who was charming.

The old town is easily accessible by taxi or by bus and many drivers commented about the high quality of the hotel.

I would not hesitate to come back to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SimonOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Great hotel, fantastic location, friendly staff. I travelled on my own but felt most welcome at this hotel. Had a fantastic room overlooking the Adriatic sea. Wonderful breakfast .. what more could you ask for.. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is contemplating a holiday in Dubrovnik.
Easy to get into the old city on the bus.. Get a Dubrovnik card if you are visiting..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Carolwollington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croatia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed in Hotel More for 3 days in February 2012, and enjoyed every second of our stay. Location is excellent; 10 minutes walk from local supermarket and bus station from where you can take a ride to the Old town every 15 minutes (bus number 6). Bus fare is 10 kn (12 kn if you are buying ticket from the driver).
Also, hotel is perfectly situated, with beautiful view from restaurant, lobby, terrace, and of course, rooms with a sea view. If you like walks near the sea, and relaxing, pleasant atmosphere, with very friendly and helpful hotel employees, this is where you should go. Also, breakfast was amazing.
We choose this time of year to go to Dubrovnik because we wanted to avoid summer crowds. Unfortunately, winter trips have negative sides. One of them is closed Cave bar in the hotel (I guess that some kind of renovation is in progress), and the other is lot of closed restaurants in Dubrovnik (which doesn't mean you'll stay hungry :) ). Also, we didn't go to Lokrum island, since regular boat line operates only during the season. But, we are not sorry for the choice we made - we had a great time!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZIva19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Hotel more is a lovely modern hotel no quibbles. Would recommend without hesitation not for kids though young or teenagers not a bustling hotel. Just very relaxing for adults of all ages.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chesvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
0.7 km away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
5.4 km away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel More

Property: Hotel More
Address: K. Stepinca 33, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel More 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel More is an exclusive five-star boutique hotel situated in the Bay of Lapad, one of the most beautiful locations on the area of the City of Dubrovnik. The hotel view of calming green pines, of Mediterranean vegetation abundant with colors and scents, of the glaring azure sea, of rocky cliffs - those eternal stone guards and memorable sunsets, will astonish any traveler and guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel More reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
More Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing