We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
86
31
12
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
31
12
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach towelslovely hotelcomfortluxurycroatiasea
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 135 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Me and my wife visited beautifull Istria and we found a small pearl close to city of Pula. Located on the beach everything is perfectly cared and we realy spent exellent two days in a small paradise. This is a "must" when you visit Pula, Croatia.

Room Tip: Sea view room is realy beautifull
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2012

My wife and I toured around Croatia and we arrived in Pula after 6 one evening so without looking at reviews we decided to stay at the number 1 rated hotel. What a mistake.

I logged the address into the GPS and whilst we ended up close by we had trouble finding the hotel as it wasn't well sign written other than on the steps - we had to ask locals where it was.

The lovely lady on reception showed us the rooms available, there were 5 out of 10 and we chose the best that was large and had by good views of the sea. It cost €144 without breakfast and we said we would stay for 2 nights.

Within half an hour of lugging our suitcases up 2 flights of stairs because there was no lift, we realized we had mad a mistake and I told the staff we would leave in the morning - this was reinforced after I read the reviews on Tripadviser. Getting to the room meant going through 2 locked doors so when you went out you had to lock/unlock 4 times.

The decor of the rooms is 70's style, full of unneeded furniture, very dated and in need of a refurbishment. Whilst large and with a balcony, the bathroom was only 2 meters X 2 meters and there was nowhere to put your toiletries. There is only room for 1 person at a time and if you are large you would struggle in the small shower.

The wifi had poor reception and we had to sit on the floor by the door to Skype our family. I asked for tea making facilities and was told there were none.

After reading the reviews on the restaurant and seeing there was noone eating inhouse we decided to eat out. We also didn't eat breakfast at €15 each because in the morning we just wanted to be out of the hotel.

The lady at reception was very nice but I was surprised when I asked what there was to do in Pula she said she didn't know because all she did was go for walks with her baby.

This hotel is extremely poor value for money as it cost effectively €174 if you had breakfast. We had arrived after staying at a 5 star hotel in Debrovnik that cost €180 per night and it was 10 times better and had all the extras like swimming pool, health centre, gym, etc.

My strong advice would be to stay in Rovinji just 30 minutes away as we did and then day trip Pula. We moved to 5 star Hotel Lone for €150 per night including breakfast and this is soooo much better than Valsabbion.

Room Tip: Don't stay!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Grant196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2011

A beautiful oasis to be found at what seemed to be a residential area built around a beautiful cove. This hotel was just wonderful. For the gastronomic experience alone it was worth the trip. The food as well as the wait staff was superb. More professional waiters I have not yet come by! My husband and I spent hours over luxurious meals in a peaceful setting. We were there at the end of September and the weather was quite warm so we took advantage of the sea across the street. The rooms were beautiful and roomy with the sea views outside our large balcony. More of a very contemporary bed and breakfast. Cannot say enough wonderful things about this hotel. Just go!!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are just wonderful.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowqueen101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Great location, great furniture and art pieces...not a great hotel....rooms (13) filled with too many pieces of furniture, too big for the space, not comfortable and over crowded...A/C NOISY and did not work properly...50 channels on the TV list, most of them blocked, plastic conforter in bed...HOT. Good breakfast. Needs to work the details, can be perfect but it came short, very short.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank wasspitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We had the opportunity to stay here for two nights at the end of July. All we can say is that this was a very unique and memorable expereince. Of course it depends on what your goals, are but for our part this is the perfect place to get away to for a couple of days.

The Gastronomic Experience:
We dine all of the world often at Michelin stared restaurants in the US and Europe. Bottom line, Valsabbion if it were in a country that was rated would absolutely be a 2 star. But the experience which is unique goes well beyond that because the attention to every detail is absolutely stunning.

From the decor to the perfect dish or utensil, from the unusual ingredients to the creative presentation and from the quality of the preparation to the flavor profiles. This restaurant exudes genius and is a credit to its owner and what must be a maniacal attention to detail.

Also don't miss the wonderful breakfast in the morning as it is also a great example of the attention to detail.

The Hotel:
The hotel exhibits many of the same detailed items as dinner and you can tell the same hand is at work behind the scenes. The rooms are all different and we would definitely recommend that you reserve an Ocean Front room with a balcony (confirm this as they did mess up lug reservation and we dod not get that room). The decor is very modern and eclectic and while not perfect (bathrooms are small) the experience is a good one.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aboutsot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews