We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual and excellent...”
Review of Hotel Galija

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Galija
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Pula
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Hotel Galija has very welcoming staff who set a very warm and hospitable tone to their establishment. Some rooms are in a block just across the street from reception, and if possible you should book the room called "Nicol', tucked away next to room 21. The decor and furnishings here are a mix of art-nouveau and gothic, but the double bed is just as comfortable as a modern one, and the modern bathroom is faultless. I did not stay long enough to sample more of the hotel's facilities, but the breakfast buffet was excellent. Just down the hill from the hotel and turn right then right again will bring you to the Arena ; down the hill, across the crossroads and you are in a market square, with a supermarket up the slop to the left, close to the main road. In the other direction from the market is the pedestrianized street which leads you to the Arch of Sergei and beyond that, to the Forum. I would willingly stay at the Galija on any future visit to Pula.

Room Tip: For something unusual, ask for the room called "Nicol"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank obsSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

This hotel was recently renovated. It has large clean rooms and friendly staff. It is close to all the tourist attractions - you can walk everywhere. The staff were friendly and its easy to park the car

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farmerlarousse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed in the part of the hotel which was across the road from the reception area. It was sort of alright as rooms go but nothing special. However the location is convenient and felt very safe at night. Breakfast seemed a bit odd - there were no staff around so I went behind the bar to get my own cup and glass.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The hotel is located near the city's center but please know that it is a 10-15min drive to a beach, I was not clear on that. After arriving I was given my room right away, the room had 2 single beds and I requested 1 queen. I went back to the front office and they immediately fixed the situation. I ran into a few other small issues while staying at the hotel and I will say I was very impressed at how lovely the girls at the front desk were. They always made sure that I was well taken care of and after being in Berlin where customer service was non existent, this was a nice welcome change.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryfra13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Good location but hardly any service at the Reception. All the staff were engaged running the restaurant primarily. We called one to the Reception desk, she gave us the keys and that was about it. Any further questions, we found them either in the restaurant or the kitchen. We asked some basic touristy questions and were told to ask at the town's Tourist Information...
The Reception was about a 3x4 sq m area with hardly any info leaflets nor did it feel welcoming.
We had 2 rooms - the double was OK, not well furnished; the top floor twin was so very tight. The Reception assured us our rooms were nearby. They were in fact consecutive room numbers but on different floors.
Each had a bank of 3 identical switches together for the bathroom, none identified: one for the light, one we didn't know and one we worked out through chill showers that it was for the water boiler!
Room rate excludes "city tax" which we knew about and was alright, but there was a charge of 4x15kn for "registration". Whose charge?
At breakfast, they ran out of forks, cups and milk at the same time, but we had to ask and wait for forks to be washed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WCho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

A small, clean and tidy property set in a perfect location for discovering Pula old town. The hotel is split and is on 2 sides of a small street. The side that houses the restaurant is the old part with the new and updated part of the hotel on the other. I can't comment on the standard of the old part of the hotel but the new rooms are what you would expect from a small, mid-range boutique hotel - reasonable sized rooms with modern decoration. The beds are probably the most comfortable I have slept in for a long time and the air conditioning was really effective which was a bonus as it was HOT!!!! Servicing was quick and effective and breakfast was ok although it appeared to be a constant battle for the staff to keep it stocked. All in all the Hotel is fine but they are charging 5* prices (over £100 a night) for what is very much a 3* hotel. I would use it again - mainly because of the location but will be looking elsewhere first.

Room Tip: Insist on a room in the new part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chief123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We booked at short notice after a weekend in Venice. 2 rooms, 2+2 and another for our parents. Rooms have been renovated, our room was a 2bdr apartment, whilst not yet finished was comfortable and quiet with all creature comforts, wifi, cable tv, aircon etc ... Have to say the staff were excellent, went out of their way to help us find a rental car. Central location, easy access to Pula attractions and 150kn each way from the airport. The restaurant food is great and the pizzas some of the best I've eaten - even after being in Italy for a week. We normally stay in $$$$ hotels and Hotel Galija gave us a welcome bed for the night. Our only criticism is the relatively simple breakfast offering similarly as described in other reviews.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank DLo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pula hotels
3.7 km away
Park Plaza Histria Pula
0.4 km away
Amfiteatar Hotel
Amfiteatar Hotel
#10 of 31 in Pula
196 reviews
0 km away
Pula City Point Rooms
Pula City Point Rooms
#20 of 31 in Pula
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Adrion Aparthotel
Adrion Aparthotel
#6 of 31 in Pula
39 reviews
3.3 km away
Oasi - Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
3.9 km away
Park Plaza Arena Pula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galija

Address: Epulonova Ulica 3, Pula 52100, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Istria > Pula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Pula
Price Range: $100 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galija 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galija, a small family hotel located on the south of the Istrian peninsula in centre of the 3000 year old town of Pula. Modernly equipped, it offers a pleasant stay to its guests all year round. Hotel Galija is oriented towards tourists, travellers and business people. It offers the possibility of organizing small business banquets and business seminars. Our restaurant is the source of Istrian, Mediterranean and international cuisine that binds tradition and proficiency of our chefs. We offer homemade pizzas from a wood-fired oven. Location! Location! Location! We are located in the town centre in the vicinity of ancient monuments that belong to the rich heritage of Pula's history. In the vicinity of the hotel there are many banks, main post office, which are at service to our business clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Galija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galija Hotel Pula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing