We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The hotel is located in Borik, close to Zadar. The town is not very easy to reach by foot, so he best thing to do is take bus 5/8 in front of the hotel. There is also a tourist train for 10 kuna/pers. The hotel is a nice family resort with a large pool, a slide and a beach in front of the hotel. It was a little bit to calm for me, because the animation team was already gone. The hotel is good for familys/ older people, but not for young people because there is nothing in the area to do. The hotel is very nice and clean! The staff was so friendly! The food was good, a lot of choices. The all-In was not really all in, it finished at 22H.
My room was on the 3th floor, not with swimmingpool view. The room was big, with a nice bathroom. First i had a problem with the balconydoor, because you need to pull to both sides of the window. The airco was good. The only negative was the internet, It was not free.
The welness was really nice! Its a good hotel, but a little bit boring.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathalievb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    202
    70
    30
    8
See reviews for
332
121
8
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We had a fun few days here. Good food, nice rooms (our room was at Hotel Adriana). Great pool and beach. Prices are too high for what you get.

Room Tip: Try to stay at Hotel Adriana. The hotel is nicer, and you have access to Funimation Borik as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thundanutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Music is loud around the pool all day long, evening shows start too late for a family with small children and are again extremely loud - so those having panorama room, can not sleep until 23:00 -, water in the drinking machines smells and tastes mouldy and the beverages contain too much sugar. Beach outside the hotel is dirty. But apart from this all, we really felt good. The hotel is nice and clean, the staff is very kind, food and pool are ok, you can buy water at the corner and fortunately you'll find other beaches nearby. In Croatia, this is a good hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abrakadabra845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We were two families meeting up in Zadar with five kids between us (ages 8 to 15). I expected I'd hate the place but grin and bear it. I came away very impressed.

First - this is a family resort. If you have low tolerance for the sounds of kids and generally high decibal levels around poolside etc, you probably won't come here or like the place.
If these things don't bother you (no noise noticed in the rooms by the way - just restaurant and pool areas), you will have a great time here.

Rooms - a little spartan and dorm like, but quite functional. Queen size bed = two twins pushed together. We had a sea view room where the sea view was behind the hotel (looking out towards Zadar with the sea about 3/4 mile away in that direction). Our friends had a family room in the building adjacent to ours (we had two rooms side by side). Air conditioning was a bit anemic which was a bit of a problem as it was very hot during our stay. It worked, but I would have preferred a little better. Water - you can drink it here (and indeed, all over Croatia in my experience - drank it for two weeks with NO issues whatsoever).

Pools - a waterslide and two large pools. Despite the crowds, they were able to keep the water crystal clear - no mean feat, I can tell you. There was a splash pad area for toddlers off to one side. Kids would have stayed in there all day every day if we'd let them!

Restaurant - this is an all inclusive resort. I expected what I have come to expect of such places which is to say not much. Wrong. There was a dazzling array of choice available and I never had anything that I would not have been happy to have ordered from a menu and had a la carte. Breakfast lunch and dinner were all of the best quality. They had a very acceptable domestic house wine and beer on tap along with mineral water, various sodas etc. The kids were thrilled and, surprisingly, the parents were also quite happy with it as well. This was excellent value for money.
Sea - the resort is built on the water just outside Zadar. There is a somewhat sandy public beach right in front of the resort as well as a jetty going out into deeper water with stairs allowing easy access in and out of the water. The sea is refreshing, quite clean and beautiful there.
Spa - there is a spa with the usual massages, etc available at quite reasonable prices. The sauna, steam room and cooling baths etc are open for all. Warning - etiquette signs direct that no bathing suits permitted inside sauna area. This is Europe - nobody is particuarly fussed by it but more timid N. Americans will be taken aback I'm sure. It is a very nice faciltiy - spacious relaxation areas, large sauna with heat cranked up as it should be. This is a first class spa facility in every respect.
We did a BIT of sight seeing while there (Zadar a ten minute cab ride away - well worth the visit), but I`m embarrassed to say we spent most of the time just lazing around the resort. They have a tour desk and we did book a one day cruise to the Koronati Islands (8:30 am to 5pm with a 2 hr break in the middle for swimming - bring water shoes or flip flops!)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank torontodunphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukacheve, Ukraine
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I had been searching for a family hotel in Croatia for a long time and had chosen Falkensteiner Funimation Borik --- which I do believe after our 8 days spent there the best choice I could have made! Hospitable personnel, delicious food, marvellous place, charming animators, nice water slide, romantic barbeque party with candles and live music, superb Kruskovac with milk and ice, large play room and cinema for kids! All you can search for when planning vacations with kids - you will find in Falkensteainer Funimation Borik. I definetely recommendit for familiy vacations! We DO want to come back! Many kisses!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tettee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antwerp
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We had planed a big travel throu Croatie, but the first day in Croatia our car brook down. In the middle of the night we arrived by accident in the Falkensteiner hotel. After a long day of troubles with the car, insurrance etc...we had a friendly receptionist who really helped me and my family (parents, baby and son of eleven). We got a wonderfull room, clean, great beds, desigend relaxing, very childfriendly.....The following days we had to stay in Zadar because of the car, it was a very busy season in the hotel, but they helped us day after day and I most say that we and the children had great fun and a very relaxing time in the hotel. We would not easliy chose a all-inclusive hotel, but here we felt quit, there was good and healthy food, not to many people around and a very friendly atmosfere. My son really enjoyed the great and very motivated animationteam and my baby girl enjoyed swimming and having naps in the nice room where we never heart neighbours...I had a wonderfull massage and my husband went to the fitness ...not to forget the wonderfull sunset you can see there every day.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I think I would give it 3.5. It bills itself as an all-inclusive, family fun resort on the sea. It's not supposed to be a high-end luxury resort. It hits all the marks in that respect.

The room (mini-family) was large enough for the 4 of us (2 kids under 8). The shower leaked a bit. The balcony was great but I don't think there were any screens and there definitely were mosquitoes so you had to be careful. But the view was nice. The sunsets at this resort were TO DIE FOR! The public areas were fine; nothing special. The dining room was crowded (although it was high season) and the food was hit or miss. There were a few items that were just not to our taste but we could always find something to eat. Nothing was fabulous but very little was inedible. There was oddly an abundance of cold salads in combinations that seemed unusual to us as Americans. Plus there was always fruit. Beer and wine were adequate but at least they were free.

Yes, we did have to rent the towels but I think it was only a few dollars. The entertainment was not really something we went for (e.g., group aerobics in the pool--must be a European thing --even men were doing it) and they put on shows for kids in the evenings that were nice. The resort is DEFINITELY kid-oriented--you would feel out of place if you did not have kids. There was babysitting in the kids club and there was a game room as well. We noticed the license plates in the parking lot were heavily concentrated from Croatia, Austria, Germany, Italy and Poland. We were the only Americans except for one other family that was lving in Luxembourg as expats. So our kids did not really meet other kids since they didn't seem to speak English. But they had fun anyway.

The pools, though crowded were a hit. The waterslide was big and fun, although looking a little tired. The hot tub was pretty large and popular. There was a quieter pool arond the corner away from the sea. The Adriatic is steps away from the resort exit and it was a sandy/rocky beach but very calm. If you walk further down near the public(?) beach there is a place where you can rent pedal boats with a built in slide ($8 for 30 minutes!) That was the highlight for our kids.

We went into Zadar old town for dinner one night which was nice--we saw the sun salutation and the sea organ which are great. We also visited Sibenik (about an hour's drive) which I woudl recommend as well.

Overall pretty good if your expectaions are not a lush, high end "resort" but a well-used, fun, family destination on the ocean. Although it is a little pricey for what we got--I think it worked out to nearly $400 per night (half-board).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zadar
8.7 km away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
8.3 km away
Falkensteiner Family Hotel Diadora
0.2 km away
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Niko
Hotel Niko
#3 of 21 in Zadar
317 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#8 of 21 in Zadar
91 reviews
0.9 km away
Mediteran
Mediteran
#5 of 21 in Zadar
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik

Property: Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
Address: Ulica Majstora Radovana 7, Zadar 23000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Zadar
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zadar
#5 Family Hotel in Zadar
#7 Romantic Hotel in Zadar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik in Zadar offers you sun, sea, lots of fun and the greatest spa and wellness facilities in this part of Europe, all amidst blossoming gardens.The club’s bedrooms are outstanding in terms of size and design and are dominated by Mediterranean colours. Spacious, modern bathrooms, air conditioning and balconies in nearly all bedrooms add to the comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik Hotel Zadar
Falkensteiner Hotel Zadar
Falkensteiner Hotel Funimation Borik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing