We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
83
65
26
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
65
26
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice view old city located uphill games room an enjoyable stay regular room nice place to relax city view large bed breakfast buffet is fresh fruit the hotel is clean black church a lovely stay twin room the hotel offers spent one night
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 182 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2018

The hotel is 15 minutes walk from the Old Town square, up the hill. It is in a quiet location, on the edge of the mountains. The room was large, with a sofa and armchairs, tables, large bed, large bath and shower. The staff were friendly, and when we left ordered a taxi for us to the train station - there was also a bus option from the old town, or an hour walk. There was the option to leave things in a safe at reception if needed.

The breakfasts were okay, with a small selection. The downside was that coffee was from a single slow machine, which caused a queue, and then ran out of milk. They try to keep the food topped up, but when a few groups come at once some of the selection did run out for a time. The breakfasts are is why the rating is 4 rather than 5.

We could sometimes hear noise from people in the corridors, but not much. We had a top floor room and stayed in bed late one day without any noise waking us up.The room had several central heaters as the weather had just turned colder, though we turned them right down and were very comfortable.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2018

We stayed 2 nights and the hotel was fine. Rooms were clean but a bit small and no aircon or fan so the room was a bit warm at night. We had a car and showed up to find the car park was full so needed to park on the street. Breakfast was very good. It is about 15 min walk into town but the walk back is quite steep for the last few hundred meters.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnv2895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2018

Hotel Kolping is in an excellent location although a fairly steep climb from the old town the views from the terrace are gorgeous. We had two rooms on the side of the hotel and from our small balcony, standing room only had a lovely view. The rooms were excellent and beds so comfortable - look newly re furbished.
The staff, particularly Corina and Anca on the reception desk could not have been more helpful - booking trips and transfers for us.
The on site restaurant is good mainly but some nights the cooking was better than others - maybe different chefs. Service alittle slow but on holiday so no rush!
Brasov old town is glorious with loads of lovely restaurants, shops and buildings to wander amongst. We hope to return some day soon!

Room tip: A side room or a room at the front of the hotel for the vewis!
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank suz602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2018 via mobile

This is a clean and basic hotel. Room is sparse and furniture is made for function. Unfortunately lack of air conditioning meant very little sleep was has. Not to mention the duvet doesn't actually fit the size of the bed. The breakfast is the poorest we have had in Romania so far. e cordial and not a croissant in sight. Very glad we have booked into a different hotel in Brasov for the rest of our stay.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mltownley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2018

One stop for a group of 20 of us. The hotel was clean, the staff very friendly and helpful. They accommodated our late arrivals and schedules with meals that they knew we would want though we were such a large group and their kitchen small. Gave us a meeting space when needed, did our laundry at very reasonable rates and quickly after we'd been on the road for a while. The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from the centre of the upper city so well located. And, up on a hill, the view from the dining room and some of the resident rooms was breathtaking. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allenistan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews