We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Romanian standards very good!”
Review of Hotel Casa Wagner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Wagner
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Brasov
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“For Romanian standards very good!”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This is a nice situated hotel in the heart of Brasov. Mini bar is full, breakfest good and the price is right!
Were do you get these days drinks from the minibar for just 1 euro?
For the rest is it ok, i had some dust in the sheets and some spiderrags between the old wooden balcks in the room.
But hey! Were in Romania. They still in a learning proces.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveltoless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    263
    76
    16
    5
See reviews for
99
279
42
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Level Contributor
418 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

You can't beat the location right on the main square of Brasov.

If we hadn't had to drag our luggage up 2 flights of stairs, we might have had a better first impression.

We had a room facing the square so we had a view of everything that was going on - and on this beautiful April day and night, there was lots going on! You can easily walk to all the sites.

Breakfast was acceptable. The internet was spotty. We sat on a bench in the hallway to get connected.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 100countries_or_bust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My extended family and I spent four nights at the Casa Wagner in late April and were very satisfied with the stay. We booked for two rooms and they were both large and scrupulously clean. As a plus, our room overlooked the main square which was a neat feature. We really liked the service at the hotel (Valy especially with his knowledge of the area) and the breakfast offering (my thanks to Agnes) and the atmospheric setting within the interior of the hotel. It's like staying in an old mansion. Concur with other traveler's comments about parking and Wi-Fi but they really didn't but a damper on our stay seeing as though we were away from the hotel the vast majority of the time. We stayed in Brasov after following the advice given to me in the TripAdvisor bulletin board. We were glad we did due to its central location and vast offering of restaurants, things to see, etc...We were just as glad to stay in Casa Wagner and highly recommend this hotel to anyone pondering a visit to Transylvania.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ulical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike10008
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

My wife and I spent the evening of 15 Apr 2012 at the Casa and it was clean and neat. Our room looked out over the square. Florentina was very helpful in setting up a half-day personally escorted tour of the Rasov fortress and the Bran Castle. Free wi-fi in our room worked great. Did not have a car so parking not an issue. Cannot say enough.

The town square had numerous restaurants and shops. Overall, a great trip.

Room Tip: On the second floor, the room entrance is behind the kitchen. Overlooks the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike10008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Cute simple boutique hotel right in the center of the main square. It's nothing super fancy but it's clean and has all you need. Besides, we only plan to sleep in our rooms not hang in there all day! Although, our room did have a cute spa bath although we didn't really have time to try it out. We didn't realize wifi was available and I couldn't pick up any in our room anyway. I had my own so it wasn't really an issue. There's not really a designated parking lot but we parked in the nearby parking place which was quite cheap. Breakfast was good with a variety of cereals, yoghurts, cakes, fruit and hot foods on offer. There was also bottles of water free at breakfast which was quite handy to take for day trips. The staff are friendly and try to help you and accommodate you as much as possible.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cairnschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

But there were two downsides: the internet did not work in the rooms. This was very annoying for us. The parking for cars is about 500 metres away and you take pot luck.

Apart from these two downers we really enjoyed our stay. The internet could and should be fixed immediatly! This in our opinion would make a huge difference. The atmosphere in the hotel was very good. We enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Single room 19 was really great. Room 9 had two single beds and a fabulous double both. Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidazerbaijan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
215 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Probably the best location in town. Great sourrandings, architecture and energy. Also the hotel is beautiful and I mean it. Wish I had a place like this. What bothered me is the lack of SERVICE; I think they do not understand the meaning of the word. We asked the concierge for a restaurant/bar for an aperitif and the answer was: well I don't known (there are about 10-14 locations within 200m from the CASA!!!!)
One night we asked for a glass of wine; the answer was: we only serve breakfast but you can choose between tequila gin vodka. Great so can I have one martini Bianco with ice? No we have no ice!
What a great place...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alessio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brasov hotels
0.1 km away
Bella Muzica
Bella Muzica
#2 of 56 in Brasov
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
2.8 km away
Kronwell Hotel
Kronwell Hotel
#1 of 56 in Brasov
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.3 km away
Aro Palace
Aro Palace
#4 of 56 in Brasov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Classic Inn Hotel
Classic Inn Hotel
#7 of 56 in Brasov
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.5 km away
Armatti Hotel
Armatti Hotel
#5 of 56 in Brasov
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Coroana Brasovului
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Wagner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Wagner

Property: Hotel Casa Wagner
Address: Piata Sfatului nr. 5, Brasov 500031, Romania
Phone Number:
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Brasov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Brasov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Wagner 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building that hosts the hotel is a monument dating back to 1477, being documented as one of the first three buildings to have been erected on the central square. The same love and attention to detail has been given to its restoration and renovation, all the rooms having been minutely decorated with antique furniture, yet equipped with modern amenities. The hotel has 25 rooms all with en-suite bathrooms, color cable TV, internet connection, telephone and minibars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Otel, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Casa Wagner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Wagner Hotel
Casa Wagner Brasov

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing