We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic holiday defo going back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Sousse
peterlee
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“fantastic holiday defo going back”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Just returned from maharba beach and what a week. we had a brill holiday weather was great (tho a bit windy and chilly now and again) and got a nice tan.
We were lucky enough to get 1 of the newly refurbished rooms on the 4th floor (we only counted 9 refurbished but theres more work being done) with a fab sea view. The grounds were lovely. very short walk to the beach down a path by the pool.
The food was lovely.pizzas most nights and a whole 1 if u want.
Snack bar open twice a day tea time and supper time as well u can eat most of the dayif u want.
We go to Turkey a lot and the standard of hotel/food is much higher in Tunisia.
The restaurant was immaculate.
in fact the only place we seen any mess was a few tiny bits scattered along the passageways.
The drink was lovely with cocktails/ wine/ whisky/beer etc.
you can get bottles of water whenever you want.
The staff are brilliant small tips and often go a long way. we never had to move off our seats and drinks were getting brought to us.
Tip the sunbed lads and theyll make sure u get your sunbeds without any hassle.
on arrival we got a nice cool fruit cocktail drink.:)
All the staff are really nice and freindly.
The entertainment team are really funny and brill at their jobs as are the cleaners and everyone for that matter.
They have an internet cafe which is 5 dinar for half and hour or wifi 10 dinar for 3 hours.
The indoor pool and gym are good but be careful of the step under the water where the stools are as i banged my ankle on it coz i didnt know it was there :( but enjoyed my time in the pool.

We never got hardly any hassle when we went to the local shops just outside the hotel they were actually
really nice and friendly.
If you want a really good relaxing holiday this is the place and u cant spend your money here its that cheap
be very careful at enfidha airport coz when our pick up got us there we went to get our cases off the bus and they werent there then this porter came from behind the bus with them we just said no and he went unhappy
1 thing that wasnt very nice we seen in Tunisia was the amount of horses pulling carriages ( 2 to a carriage) and lots of them and no sign or food or water for them. When i seen someone whip 1 of them and then i seen someone getting took back to the hotel in one and the horses were slipping down a slight bank both times i had to shout out . cruelty !! but we never let it spoil our holiday.
Fab hotel and the staff are a big part of it being so fab :)

cant wait to return

Room Tip: sea view or pool room views are lovely. refurbished rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterleeDovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,083
    666
    238
    97
    76
See reviews for
652
739
77
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

You only need to read the previous reviews to tell you how good this hotel is. Staff very friendly (appart from one), food great, rooms clean and have air conn. Ask for sea/pool view room as some rooms over look front entrance car park. The only thing lets it down is the pool, its not a walk in pool but a ladder as from the top to water is about 1 meter so not easy to get in or out. You can use the pools in the 2 sister hotels which are 2 minute walk away and easy to get in but you can't use the snacks or drinks facilities. One other issue the pool bar guy will only give you good service if you tip him each time and dosen't like it if you help yourself which is strange as the beer,soft drinks and water face customer side for self service.

Room Tip: Get room with sea/pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Atari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Just got back from a weeks stay at the Marhaba Beach and had a fantastic time in Sousse. The medina is incredible and haggling in the souk is great fun. Would highly recommend looking inside the Kribat in the town centre- you pay a small entry fee and get to look around and climb the tower for a brilliant view of Sousse.
On the whole Sousse felt very friendly and safe, as long as you are sensible. Don't wander around the souk with a backpack or an open handbag, and don't open your wallet to reveal lots of notes (especially mid haggle as you'll find prices suddenly rocket!). Whilst Sousse felt very moderate and tolerant, if you don't want to get unnecessary hassle (particularly as a young female) dress relatively modestly when you venture outside the hotel- no need for going over the top, some light trousers and a T-Shirt, is fine.
Tunisia as a country seemed to be spotlessly clean, and even the most suspect looking cafes had beautifully clean lavatories. Food hygiene was generally good, and no one from our party of 10 experienced any food poisoning type symptoms.
The hotel was good, and staff on the whole were very reasonable- until tipped- when they became charming and attentive!
There was a certain "out of season feel" but this wasn't a particularly bad thing as it meant there were plenty of sun beds and tables in the restaurant etc.
The food was good, with plenty of options every night- always with a couple of options cooked to order. Breakfast was brilliant with pancakes and omelettes made to order along with a vast array of hot pastries and the usual cooked breakfast foods.
Evening entertainment was usually good, with a few brilliant evenings- the transvestite show was excellent.
My only real criticism is that it is quite smoky as smoking is allowed inside the hotel.
Overall I would say Tunisia is a fantastic holiday destination, we had fabulous weather and great fun, and you get to see glimpses of the real country-which is rare on the modern package holiday. There are probably hotels which present a more luxurious option if you want to spend more, but the Marhaba Beach was more than adequate, and I couldn't have asked for much more.

Room Tip: There are some rooms with sea views, which are away from the main road and building works and are th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesaltyflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I stayed at the Marhaba Beach hotel as a single traveller for a week during the second part of the easter holidays. From the start the staff were very friendly and polite always on hand to assist. My friend was staying at a hotel nearby because Marhaba was fully booked by the time they booked (and I had intially planned to go alone). We both had very different experiences of Tunisia. I dont want to start a slagging match but would advise against staying at the Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso & Spa because the staff were disgustingly rude and from my friends experience the food was disgusting, cold and hardly any choice (unless you like pasta, pizza and omlette everyday for dinner).

The food at Marhaba Beach was great. Always something available:buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner plus a cafe, two bars and waiters on hand outside all the way to the beach which is a stones throw away. I went on an all inclusive basis with Thomas Cook and it was great value for money. Intially I was concerned about this as I was worried I would be stuck if I didnt like the food. I was not dissapointed! Everyday there was something to look forward to and a large range of salads, Speciality Tunisian and European dishes. Drinks were never a problem and you could order coffee, tea, wine, soft drinks and cocktails throughout the day. Hygiene was to a very high standard and I didnt see a fly in sight. Food was always hot too and the cakes for dessert were amazing!!!!

The guests were very friendly and everyone was so nice! Marhaba Beach was the first hotel I have ever stayed were I felt part of a community, everyone was very chatty and asked about your day- what sights you had seen and gave general tips about where to go, what to see/avoid.
I went on the 2 day Sahara trip with Thomas Cook and it was amazing also! Very tiring but worth it for the cultural experience.

I plan to return with my mother because I know she will also love it and also because the staff were very attentive and polite. The only problems were with Thomas Cook (delayed 3hrs on departure and 4hrs on return) but I'm so glad I went and intend to go back as soon as I can!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fran83London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cymru
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed at Marhaba Beach from 1/4/12 to 11/4/12. We asked to be moved to a sea view room and reception were happy to help. The Hotel is clean and all the staff are friendly. Once outside the hotel the constant nagging and sometimes rude behaviour of those trying to sell you something is very annoying and lets this country down as a holiday resort. BUT, the peace, friendliness and feeling of being looked after at the Hotel makes up for this. It may not be the newest of hotels, but it's charm and beach location makes up for it. Please don't go to Tunisia expexting 4 star as in Britain, but enjoy what it has to ofer in other ways. The food was excellent for AI with plenty of choice. The waiters at the pool were always happy to help and the sun bed man would remeber you, just be kind and offer a few dinars every other day, alittle goes a long way for the locals. Would happily return to this hotel for AI. Thankyou for a lovely stay and making us feel so Welcome or Marhaba!!! Hello Hello!!! to fifi and animation who worked so hard and tried to include all ages in activities.

Room Tip: Floor 4 best for sea views, rooms are being refurbished, but we stayed in older room which was lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lipsyfishcer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The hotel is fantastic, very spacious and spotlessly clean. All the staff were very friendly, especially the animation staff who always tried to ensure that we were having a good time and even played our music requests so that we could dance the night away :-) It was great and we danced alongside some lovely Algerian friends :-)
We stayed on the fourth floor and had a wonderful sea view. The room was cleaned every day.
The restaurant was busy at times due to their school hols, but there was plenty of choice - I would definitely recommend the freshly made omelettes. All the restaurant staff were always pleasant and helpful.
We were made to feel welcome as soon as we entered the spacious reception area in the Marhaba Beach Hotel and throughout our holiday. I would definitely recommend it and would love to return there one day :-)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jul1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We have just came back after a great week away at the marhaba beach hotel. We loved every second of it and the staff were superb

A big shout out to the animation team who kept us entertained all week

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshprice21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sousse
0.4 km away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
1.5 km away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 36 in Sousse
1,622 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#7 of 36 in Sousse
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 36 in Sousse
1,588 reviews
6.2 km away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#9 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,029 reviews
1.6 km away
Marhaba Salem
Marhaba Salem
#6 of 36 in Sousse
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Beach Hotel

Property: Marhaba Beach Hotel
Address: Boulevard 7 Novembre | Zone Touristique, Sousse 4031, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sousse
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sousse
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marhaba Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marhaba BeachLocated in Sousse and 3 km away from Port El Kantaoui resort, between the white sands and crystal clear waters of the Mediterranean Sea, the Marhaba Beach has been created in the 80’s.His creators have established a contemporary and Moorish interiors of some suites … An ideal place for soaking up the sun of Tunisia and to relax on the beach, and the advantage of having nearest a new Thalassotherapy center : Les Neréides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marhaba Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marhaba Beach Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing