We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would love to return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Sousse
Reviewed 28 March 2017

We had a brilliant holiday at El Ksar. The beach was great, the indoor and outdoor pools were good too. The food was varied, but don't expect "English" food every day, if you are willing to try new cuisine, then you will enjoy the food.

We stayed in the bungalows which were great. They are out of the way and more secluded, which was lovely.

We would love to visit this hotel again. We found one of the waiters to be very attentive, but not overbearing, and he learnt what time we normal go to dinner and what drinks we like and always had our table ready. We could tell that he just wanted to make our stay comfortable and wasn't doing it for a tip. As opposed to another guy who was already running around like a headless chicken and you could tell he was trying too hard to people people that it was in your face.

Our shower didn't have a curtain (or even a way to hang a curtain) so I am not sure if that was normal or not, but the water would go everywhere, which wasn't great. Also, it was very smelly in the bath room that we needed to clean ourselves, I think they had a problem with the drains. Apart from these things, the holiday and hotel were great.

My only other complaint is about Tunisia itself and the "hassle" you get from so many people trying to sell you things. They will even go to the point of lying to you and trying to fool you. For example, we had a guy approach us while we were in the town and say he worked at our hotel as a waiter. He asked us if we would like to visit the "government" shops, where they only sell genuine and high quality products at fixed prices. He led us there, and I realised it was cheap fake stuff. It then clicked that he saw our "all inclusive" wrist bands and knew which hotel we were from. I would like to think that I am not a gullible person, but that guy got me - fortunately I didn't part with any cash (much to the annoyance of the shop owner).

My advice: Trust no-one, don't part with your cash except with someone working for/with the hotel. Be sceptical with everyone. I don't like being rude, but to get rid of most of these people, you have to be and tell them to go away and you are not interested. This is the only reason I wouldn't return to Tunisia.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank hopsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ines M, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear guest;
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again very soon.
Yours sincerely,
REZEK Ines
Holiday Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 1,186 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

I've been in Tunisia with some friends, we passed a fabulous time there every thing was good but the hotel was amazing. The maids ensured my room was immaculate on adaily basis and the receptionist was friendly and extremely Helpful, the rooms was very comfortable in every way. But I was impressed by the gentle manager ....he did everything to make us happy and satisfied even he's curious. I hope you to go and enjoy it.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Hamida C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ines M, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Guest:
Thank you for sparing the time to review and comment your experience at the lti Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your encouragements are much appreciated and we wish to reassure you that no effort will be spared to maintain our quality of service at a level that meets the expectations of our discerning guests.

We thank you again for your kindness and look forward to welcome you again in a future visit to Sousse.

Sincerely,
REZEK Ines
Holiday Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

We spend a great vacation at Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort. The staff are very kindly, professional and helpful. The kids enjoy so much the entertainment programs and the Amazing Jungle park.
The room was clean with a great and nice see view!!!
Good Restaurant with various quality of food.
We will book our next vacation at Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort.
Recommend for couples ‍❤️‍and Families.‍‍‍

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Taieb E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017

Had a stay at this hotel first impressions was very good but as time went along it went downhill very fast.i had to request maintenance for room issues on a daily basis.

Reception would not change our room for us even after numerous request and hotel was in the middle of a modernisation period.
Animation team was excellent bedroom would not often lock hence my mobile got stolen from the room. Reported it to the hotel but no luck.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Donsalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ines M, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear customer;
We wish first of all to thank you for your comments .
We are also deeply sorry that your hotel experience was not up to your expectations.
Awaiting the pleasure to welcome you again soon in lti Vendome El Ksar, please accept, Dear customer, the expression of our highest feelings.
REZEK Ines
Holiday Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

We had a holiday (2. time) here this year.
Our experience was the following:

(At first I need to mention that the Kartago tours travel agency did not inform us adequately, because several supply was not as in the catalogue.)

1.The beach and the room was ok, as written. Clean and comfortable.

2.Food&beverages
The restaurant was completely chaos, we just got 1 type of cold cut as a breakfast(if served- not every morning), old and dry pastry. When we asked somebody whether when we could get some food, the staff was always said that:"5 minute" and happened nothing after this. In general I have to say that the food was poor and were not varied.
It was one of those things that I had to eat vegetable with empty and tasteless pasta.

There were a lot of russian people whose conduct were beyond all bearing. Shouting, running, pushing all day. They ate everything in the restaurant. If we did not arrive in time, we found just empty trays and long queues and mess.
No real coffee, just instant from machine.

3.Staff and service:
Receptionist and the beach staff were very rude and neglected.
The waiters and hr-responsible lady were very-very kind and helpful.


We arrived so late in the hotel(afternoon), and we had to wait 1.5 hours to hear that there was no empty room...our 1st night was gone in a dirty bungallow with no clear towels and minimal lights in it and of course we had no air-conditioning.

As we payed all costs in advance, it had been required to get a simple room and normal food.

We had to fight for sunbeds with russians. That was so unpleasant experience. One of the staff engaged all of the sunbeds for them, for extra money(these services are free in this hotel).

We could hardly get toilet papers. That was so awkward to pinch paper from the housekeeper's rig.
Most of the charwomen were neglected and always waiting for extra money for the service which we paid in advance.

I hope that this situation will arranged soon, because the hotel itself is so good and cozy.
We love Tunisia and tunisian people. They are very kind and try to do their best I think.






Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Agnes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ines M, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2017

Dear Agnes;
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso.
We regret learning that we unfortunately could not meet your expectations, we have taken note and we will relay all your remarks to the concerned services.
While waiting to welcome you again to our Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso, please accept our most respectful greetings.
Sincerely,
Rezek Ines
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

Worst holiday in Tunisia i have had and I often come back to this beautiful country, the staff are very rude this hotel is for the elderly and the Germans they truly don't like the brits the hotel is disgusting the staff are the food is please stay away

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel91davies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ines M, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2017

Dear Daniel;
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have felt during your stay.
All the hotel staff is working hard in order to offer the best quality of service to all our customers. We have taken note and we will relay all your remarks to the concerned services.
While waiting to welcome you again to our Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso, please accept our most respectful greetings.
Sincerely,

Rezek Ines
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

room excellent very clean food fantastic staff superb maid service second to none no faults regarding this hotel at all its just superb views from room fantastic staff just cant do enough for you and also snack bar is wonderful as is pools spotlessly clean we have travelled all over and stayed at this hotel six times over three years id recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexander c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ines M, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm comments on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso.

We would be more than happy to welcome you again in our hotel for another great experience.
Sincerely,

Rezek Ines
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.3 km away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.9 km away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 36 in Sousse
1,669 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Marhaba Beach
Hotel Marhaba Beach
#3 of 36 in Sousse
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Marhaba Salem
Marhaba Salem
#4 of 36 in Sousse
1,119 reviews
2.9 km away
Sousse Palace
Sousse Palace
#8 of 36 in Sousse
74 reviews
1.3 km away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#16 of 36 in Sousse
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso

Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier | Khezama, Sousse 4051, Tunisia (Formerly Hotel El Ksar)
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sousse
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
Price Range: $29 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso 4*
Number of rooms: 451
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing the magic and mystery of the Mediterranean Sea El Ksar Resort & Thalasso is located on a private sandy beach surrounded by generous gardens. The hotel offers plenty of activities such as mini golf, bridge, table tennis, Volleyball, tennis, shooting centre, jungle park, four outdoor pools, one indoor pool and many more. The beautiful yacht port “Port El Kantaoui” is only a few kilometers away.Featuring 552 comfortable and elegant rooms, junior suites and 1 presidential suite, inlcuding family rooms which interconnect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karthago El Ksar Sousse
Karthago El Ksar Hotel Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing