We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hotel staff and lovely location, Hotel maybe needs upgrading in places!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Sousse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I have been travelling to Tunisia since 1984 and have stayed at this hotel on and off over all those years. I must say perhaps décor, paint work and other fixtures and fittings are rather run down now and perhaps are in need of upgrading. But I have always loved staying at this hotel and in am very 'at home' in Tunisia.
The Tunisians themselves have been through a lot recently and holiday makers should understand the wages are so poor and the travel industry are desperately trying to 'get back on their feet' as tourism was one of their biggest incomes prior to the revolution . Also this is North Africa and standards may not be as they are in Europe..... although the kindness and friendliness of the people is so evident and perhaps even better than some places in europe! Shopping is so cheap to travellers from the UK and you get a great currency exchange rate for your £.

HOTEL

Hotel entertainment is quite sparse in the winter low season but in the summer there are always shows in the evening outside by the pool.... Belly dancers, Fire Eaters, Fakhir (man who lays down on beds of nails and walks on broken glass), Bedouin traditional folk dancers and more. After the shows the animation team usual start the 'club dances' which guests can join in with!! So there is lots to do in the evening but this is often greatly reduced in the low season.... but there is still some entertainment going on.

Bar staff and waiters are in a lot of cases the same ones that were there when I first started visiting in the early 1980's and are so friendly, efficient and polite to guests. They are very genuine in the way they care for the guests.
But there has been some reductions in staff due to the slight drop in tourism whilst the country was going through the political problems.

Rooms are quite well furnished with comfortable amenities and beds are fine. No problem with noise.

Very good shopping with cheap prices and taxis to take to the central part of Sousse (although always make sure your driver turns the meter on before you set off on your journey) otherwise any price could be requested when you reach your destination.

Restaurant has a good choice of food and there are lots of different things to choose from. There are also chiefs on hand who cook some items in front of you which proves that food is fresh and cooked to your liking!

Swimming pools are good although there are the occasional cracked tile or grid from the 'overflow' so perhaps again could do with an upgrade. But the pool is clean and there is a little shop just by the pool side that sells snacks, sweets and souvenirs!

There is a shopping mall within walking distance of the hotel called 'The Slim Centre' it has lots of interesting shops.... no big department stores, but is an interesting mall with 2 floors of little shops.

I really like this hotel as the staff are always so friendly!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TY123_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

642 - 648 of 1,333 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

I thought i would write after reading all the reviews, i have been going to Tunisia and staying at the Tour Khalef since 1996 and normally stay 3 times a year. The one thing i will say is remember where you are Tunisia, this is a very poor country and is North Africa. The Tunisians work hard for their money and earn very little, so 1 dinar (which is 50p) means a lot to them, they rely on tips to earn more money, bear in mind the amount of taxes we pay, which costs us more than 50p per day, and the service we get is worse than you could ever experience in Tunisia.

The Tour Khalef is one of the oldest hotels in Tunisia, over the years i have seen many improvements and yes there is an open air club right near them, this is not the Tour Khalef's fault but if the boom boom boom noise is too much you only have to see the management and they will sort out another room for you, as they did for me too. This hotel has some of the friendliest staff i have ever met and the entertainment is good and yes i have seen worse in Turkey. This is an ideal hotel for rest and relaxation, the beach is on the doorstep with no roads to cross to get to it. The pool has been improved and their own night club called Le Grott is ok but the DJ (MO MO) is one of the best. The restaurant is wonderful and clean, and well staffed, as for the food, this is a muslim country so you do not see pork, there is plenty of food even though the russians have invaded so no worry of them running out, there is chips, spag bol, pizza, every night without fail. they offer a good variation on the food and is all fresh.

So if you are thinking of going here remember where you are and enjoy it, i have had great fun and met some wonderful people over the years in this hotel and yes i will be going back again too.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

After arriving the hotel is undergoing upgrading , its very quiet but the staff are only too happy to help , excellent service from all the staff .

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tankie61f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We spent the new year there with 4 kids. Although there wasnt much entertinment and the new year gala dinner went on abit we had an amazing time and have booked to go back. Watch out for a man selling boat, quad bike and camel trips he gets on your nerves.
Yes could do we some upgrading but still still very clean all staff very friendly we worth a visit.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
8  Thank Adam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I stayed here January 18 2011 with my Husband on All Inclusive, 'fortunately' just for 2 days while in between cities. I have been interested in staying in this hotel for a while as it looks very nice and luxurious in pictures. We had a very quick and easy check in and warm welcome from reception (later discovered this was because they don't greet many people, hotel lacking guests.... ) The bar area is basically seats in front of the reception desk. There is a paying bar at the other end of lobby which is a little nicer but very small (not that we wanted to pay to sit a few meters away). We were given a room on 1st floor, the corridors were very old fashioned and smell 'old'. You have to be careful with the room doors and they do not 'lock' when you shut the door you do have to turn the key. The rooms themselves are nice, very big bathroom bigger than some hotel rooms I have stayed in. However I understand we were given a VIP room (we did not pay any extra for this, we were obviously given it because not many guests).

The restaurant one of the nicest in all of all inclusive hotels I have stayed in, however the food was very limited this was again down to lack of guests. The salad did not appear fresh and although I generally try everything food wise as I am not a picky eater I was very wary about eating any meat / fish dishes because of the turnover, not that there was much on offer in any case.

There is a terrace which you will see in most of the pictures on this hotel which looks very appealing and attractive, it is, but is also very bare and lonely looking and I can't imagine it being much better with guests. The outdoor swimming pool is nice, however we discovered that you have to pay to use the indoor swimming pool in the Tour Khalef hotel, although you can use the indoor swimming pool in neighbouring hotel Marhaba Beach free which is ok (looks like a council swimming pool in England) it is not ideal if the weather is not great as you have a walk out of Khalef into Marhaba Beach and through their corridors to the pool.

There is a small souvenir shop on site, there is once pool table which is outside, old and almost impossible to play as situated in between two brick pillars! We used the outdoor pool bar a couple of times which was ok. There is no entertainment what so ever in the evening, for all age groups this hotel can only be described as 'boring'.

I am still in this hotel whilst writing this review, it is 2300 and the hotel reception / bar is empty and they are started turning down the lightening. I don't believe this is due to the time of year as we have just come from 2 short stays in other hotels in area which were full AND more expensive than this one.

We are so glad that we have stayed in this hotel only for 2 days and I was considering booking a week here later in the year, needless to say we will not be staying in this hotel again and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Penelope_-_-_-_UK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

The hotel is clean and the staff very friendly. Nice international mix of people. The rooms are a good size including the bathroom, you have a enough room to swing a cat. The food has been very good and a nice selection, but noticeable that the selection levels have become narrower since most of the guests at the hotel have gone, but the food is very nice and let face it too much selection means you eat too much, start the new year off in a health way.

There are only too issues that have spoilt the holiday day. The non smoking area of the lobby is not good as it too small and still get the smoke from the smoking area, the hotel could install extraction units in the smoking area to ensure that smoke doesn't go into the non smoking area. Please make the non smoking area bigger so it doesn't feel like being a second class
citizen.

The other major grip is that the internet was down over the NEW YEAR period and therefore nobody could email family / friends to wish them a happy new year, it took them 4-5 days to fix and they now have a new supplier but the connection is to say the least CRAP! It goes on and off like a yoyo. Get these two issues resolved and this will be a great hotel to come back to!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and need to check that you room is not facing the current building s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Stephen x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Varied entertainment programme! what a joke. The occasional entertainment (two or three times a week - even over Xmas and New Year) consisted of two men who could hardly speak English let only sing! Good for OAPs as very quiet and huge flat space to get around. So boring for anyone younger - absolutely nothing to do! All inclusive drink waiters very rude - wanted to be tipped all the time. Xmas and New Years Gala Dinners went on all night! - Main course served at 11.30 pm - far too late! The beds were unbelievably hard. The room temperature fan was either 25 degrees or nothing which left the room very stuffy! The Thompson Rep was invisible - during our 11 day stay we didn't see him at all! The hotel was part of a complex but if you went to one of the other hotels you had to pay for your drinks. I shall definately be complaining. We stayed at the same hotel twelve years ago and how different it was then - the reason we returned was because there used to be a varied entertainment programme. I definately would not return or recommend it. In fact Tunisia had gone downhill altogether.

Room Tip: Stay at a different Hotel and do not go to Tunisia - very dirty - much dirtier than 9 years ago.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArolyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sousse
0.4 km away
Hotel Marhaba Beach
Hotel Marhaba Beach
#3 of 36 in Sousse
2,306 reviews
2.7 km away
Sousse Palace
Sousse Palace
#8 of 36 in Sousse
74 reviews
1.1 km away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 36 in Sousse
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Marhaba Salem
Marhaba Salem
#4 of 36 in Sousse
1,119 reviews
6.5 km away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,571 reviews
0.9 km away
TUI SENSIMAR Scheherazade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa

Address: Boulevard du 14 Janvier, Sousse 4051, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sousse
#6 Family Hotel in Sousse
Price Range: $73 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 570
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso And Spa
Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso Hotel Sousse
Marhaba Tour Khalef Sousse
Marhaba Tour Khalef Hotel Sousse
Tour Khalef Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing