We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, mostly mediocre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mandalay Swan Hotel
Ranked #61 of 109 Hotels in Mandalay
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location, mostly mediocre hotel”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights after having to leave my first hotel--an overbooking issue. There is a general lack of accomodations these days in many places in Burma it is a bit frustrating.

Anyway, I was kind of glad to find this hotel but I ended up not spending much time there. The room was small and a bit dark, the bed was a single but OK.
The bathroom was impossible. If your waist (or any part of you) is over 35 inches you probably will have a hard time using the entrance. They should just rip the doors off completely because there is no room to shut once you are inside.

My room overlooked the courtyard which also had a pool. I used it once, which was refreshing.
In general the halls were shabby--there were used mattresses lying against the walls. Surely they should know how tacky that looks.
The breakfast buffet in the morning had many options, but nothing was very tasty. They played John Denver's greatest hits throughout breakfast which I thought was a total hoot.

I thought the staff were basically helpful. Guests had the option of getting a breakfast box for days when we got up early for travel. It was kind of nice.The bartenders off to the side of the lobby were friendly to chat with.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    5
    33
    24
    10
See reviews for
5
23
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This hotel caters mainly to tour groups .

The hotel is aging, may have been one a chic hotel, but is nowhere closed now. it is trying to pretend it is midrange... but barely

The room is still in the 60s style . Aged not well. Carpets are horrible and need a change.

The staff is indifferent , and the services do not cater to solo traveller.

The morning buffet breakfast is ok , not more

The grounds are nice, location is very good facing the old imperial palace grounds.

Overall overpriced, and not worth it except if you can not find accomadation elsewhere

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixiematic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mandalay hotels

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

unbelievably terrible--room had an awful moldy smell, leaking sink with puddle in bathroom, disgusting shower, bare wires coming from the wall

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
184 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This hotel is horrible! I cannot begin to describe the awful experience of this hotel. Hundreds of thousands of mosquitos swarming in and out of the rooms and lobby area. Moldy, old, dirty, I will run out of adjectives describing this atrocity they call Hotel, this cannot even be called a motel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langkawi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We arrived in our room in the Swan Hotel and within minutes saw at least 4 cockroaches wiz around the floor and hid under our bags. We called the staff who shrugged. We asked them to spray the room while we were out. When we got back we thought they had gone. We saw more in the night and next morning asked for more spraying. When we came back we found dead cockroaches on the floor. We ask the staff to come and remove them. I know cockroaches get
get everywhere in hot countries and the staff were friendly and did their best, they seemed quite non-plussed. I thought maybe this was just the standard of hotels in Mandalay until I visited Hotel on the Red Canal. Small boutique hotel that seems to have got it right.
The room in the Swan was big and the hotel has the potential and probably once was a good hotel. The food is poor and everything is dusty and worn looking. Needs a makeover and shake up.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dartydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We spent 4 nights at the swan - aircondition was incredible noisy, blow cold air onto the beds. My claim was to repair the aircondition, but only a tissue was placed between the air fins in the outlet - i bought a tape and did it myself...
Fungus seats and couch as well as shower curtain, the floor was ugly.
Breakfast was o.k., also the pool and the location nearby the palace.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joachim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

pros
-nice lobby
-friendly service
-rooms are decent
-excellent location
-taxi stand right outside

cons
very dated looking. not a very good shower.

it wasnt a very expensive place, but i think you can get much higher quality rooms for about the same price elsewhere. we just had the bad luck of everything else being fully booked during our dates.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dedtomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
2.5 km away
Mandalay City Hotel
Mandalay City Hotel
#12 of 109 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
4.0 km away
Esperado Getaway Mandalay Hotel
0.2 km away
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
#8 of 109 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
2.6 km away
Hotel Mandalay
Hotel Mandalay
#83 of 109 in Mandalay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.5 km away
Smart Hotel
Smart Hotel
#18 of 109 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay Swan Hotel

Property: Mandalay Swan Hotel
Address: 44 (B) 26th Road, Between 26th And 28th Street, Mandalay, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 109 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mandalay Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandalay Swan Hotel is a 3 stars double storey resort style hotel in Mandalay, managed by a Singaporean General Manager with well trained English speaking staff and well equipped kitchen serving delicious international food, the hotel has 2 restaurants and a cafe, swimming pool, tennis court, gym, bar and etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Mandalay Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing