We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Comfort food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western

Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western
Ranked #38 of 198 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$6
Cuisines: Belgian, Bar, European, Asian, French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome at Restaurant 'The House' in Luang Prabang. Are Lao Chiefs welcome you. Our menu has a lot of traditional Lao dishes and also Western food. See the update menu, see you at "The House" restaurant. We have for you a selection of 21 Belgian beers in the fridge..
Luang Prabang
1 review
“Comfort food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Love the rich Belgium stews and drinkable housewine! The restaurant and terrace has a relaxing atmosphere and the friendly owners are always around to check how things are going. Everytime we go to Luang Prabang we eat a couple of times there.

Helpful?
Thank DollyLuangPrabang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winrobin, Owner at Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. Coming from people that are familiar with food and cooking books it is a very special compliment. Always welcome !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    73
    28
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
93 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fantastic kebab sandwich and fries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

The fries really are yummy and the kebab sandwich was absolutely scrumptious. The fellow responsible for the recipe uses 11 spices for this dish, the chicken was moist and flavourful and the bread was very fresh. We rec'd two drink coupons to use later for dinner but we never made it back (unfortunately)!! I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gbonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winrobin, Owner at Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thanks for this nice feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luang Prabang
1 review
“A nice place, amazing food and super friendly staff & owners!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

As Belgian backpackers we really recommend to have a delicious (Belgian) meal at The House.... The stoofvlees met frietjes (beefstew with fries) was even better then my momma makes it at home!
But the menu has also a variety of other European and local dishes, that looked and tasted really good!
You can also go there for a refreshing beer or drink.... Local&imported...
As a Belgian beer drinker I highly recommend everyone to have a " Duvel" !
The owners are 2 super friendly men as well as the staff. So all of this made our visits to The House very enjoyable and we really recommend everyone to go there !

Greets! Iain and Britt from Antwerp, Belgium

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IainVeraart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winrobin, Owner at Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thanks for your feedback. Please be gentle when you tell your mother.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven - Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great and cosy place to have a dinner or just a drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

The house is a very atmospheric restaurant/bar with a great terrace to enjoy some Belgian beers and great food. We would definitely recommend the 'stoofvlees met friet', a famous Belgian dish prepared as if you would be on the central square in Brussels. Lovely atmosphere, very friendly owners and great service/food according to 'Euopean standards'.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Herre0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerpen
2 reviews
“A warm welcome for first time visitors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

When we came to Luang Prabang it was pleasant to have a rest at this Belgian place. My parents ,who are in their late fifties, and at that point of their journey tiered and a bit overwhelmed by there first asian travel experience really could do with some up-to-standards hospitality.
Certainly for them it was great to have a break from the asian style food and the younger backpacking crowd. In fact they enjoyed it so much that for the meander of the time being we went their every night for our evening meal. During that period the owner provided us with some very helpful information about the things to do in the wider area. We could really appreciate the extra effort the owners did for us to make our stay more interesting. And my parents really liked the Belgian meals and beers.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bvde2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing