We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ThanaBoun Guesthouse
Ranked #196 of 266 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 October 2013

It is very centrally located and and only a block away from the night market and palace. We found it quiet in the back building but we extended a night and we had to move to the front building which was a little nosier (mainly from the hotel staff) but not too bad. In the back building we had the same terrible smell mentioned in other reviews but only if we turned the bathroom fan on, if we left the fan off it was not an issue.

The staff are very inattentive, they are usually absorbed in their computer and don't seem that interested in helping you with activities, this is not a big issues though as there are plenty of other places only a few doors away that can take care of everything.

Overall it was a very good location, poor service at a fairly reasonable rate (mid range).

Room Tip: Back building, top level seems to be the best, Rooms B201 (front) - B204 (back)
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M-John-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for ThanaBoun Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed five nights here and it was ok, staff members are a little unfriendly and the bathroom did have quite a toxic smell every now and again (I think it comes from the shower drain). Evidently the smell was the reason why we found somewhere else to stay, as it did become quite unbearable. The positives are that the guesthouse is right in town and the room was quite clean and suited the westerners’ style.

Room Tip: Close the door to the bathroom will help with the smell.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZKiwiAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

The guest house is in a fantastic location. On the main strip, 2mins walk to the night market and surrounded by bars/restaurants/travel agents.

The rooms are clean, we had a large double bed, huge wardrobe tv and plenty of table space to unpack our things.

The room comes with drinking water each day (you have to ask for it), a little weird but the staff hand if over happily enough. Wifi is a login system, they give you a voucher at front desk, again, you ask for it!

We had no problem with service. The staff were always friendly, no sign of the infamous 'terrible boss' other reviews have mentioned.

You pay for your room upon arrival, this is fairly standard in Asia I feel.

For the $17 we paid per night, we have no complaints!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Senttocoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I booked this place, then read the reviews...too late to back out I just hoped I got a 'livable' room. That said it was nice, it was clean, the bathroom did have a weird smell, but it wasn't sewage...maybe a mix of chemicals to fix the sewage smell?? For $20 a night it was ok.
The staff however are a nightmare. If they cracked a smile I'd probably assume the world had ended. If you ask a question about the town, do not expect a helpful response or indeed any response. It was the total opposite of anywhere I had stayed in Laos, where the usually cheery nature was something I came to expect.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Taking a first look to the hotel, it looks good. Pretty cheap, good rooms, great location, good bed etc... On the facility point of view, the only real thing is that the bathroom smells really bad.

Now, on the service, the desk man is ignorant, he knows nothing about his town. The bedrooms were not clean and I had to ask the desk man to give us fresh towels and water.

The most annoying thing was the fact that the hotel closed its doors at 10 PM leaving you outside like an idiot ringing to get in.

I would not recommend this place

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanypol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

The boss is horrible. You can feel it when he enters the room, all the staff have to change. They become tense and unfriendly, as if terrified of doing anything wrong.
Luckily the boss is barely ever there.
The room was okay, but the bathroom stank. Luckily we had air freshener to make showers bearable.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beemichaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This place was totally awesome. Room was clean, bathroom flawless, price cheap, service was even better. We rented bicycles from there for the whole day and return without a problem but had to give up our passport to them. We were treated very well. I guess treat others the way you want to be treated.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicago201335805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 km away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#18 of 68 in Luang Prabang
269 reviews
0.0 km away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
242 reviews
0.0 km away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 68 in Luang Prabang
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
815 reviews
0.0 km away
Villa Maly
Villa Maly
#10 of 68 in Luang Prabang
779 reviews
0.0 km away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ThanaBoun Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ThanaBoun Guesthouse

Address: 48/3. Ban Xiengmuan Village Sisavangvong Street, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 266 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $29 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — ThanaBoun Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your ThanaBoun Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing