We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome beds, well-appointed rooms and very warm owners.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Khoum Xiengthong Guest House
Ranked #66 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome beds, well-appointed rooms and very warm owners.”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

A friend and I took a 3-day trip to Luang Prabang and it was the loveliest holiday. A slow-paced, quiet, sleepy town was the most warm and friendly place.
We stayed in this guesthouse back in Spring of 2009 (date choice didn't allow me to go that far), but I am only to happy to give an excellent rating to this place.
Noi and his family were very warm and friendly people. They didn't serve any breakfast back then yet, but we had the most wonderful stay in the upstairs room which had two queen-sized beds, and was very well-appointed. The guesthouse is located in the quiet part of town, so it was definitely a bliss-ful experience.
I would love to come back to Luang Prabang, and I know where I would go to stay. Nowhere else but here.

Room Tip: The upstairs bedrooms have two queen-sized beds and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    24
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
24
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We accidentally bumped into this place while looking for a guesthouse. We had one of the $15 rooms and they are worth every penny of it. True the room is not to big but how much time do you spend in it? The wall was covered with buterflies which was a very nice decoration detail. It is close to different monestaries so you are full aware of what goes on there at all times of the day. For me that added to the charm of the place, even if it means waking up at 4 am. You'll fall asleep a few minutes later again anyhow. Staff is nice, the bikes they rent are in good shape and their laundry service is superfast. Really recommend staying here

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hautvast11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
166 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Probably visited over 40 guest houses while we were in Luang Prabang. After one of our group left we were looking for something nice for just the 2 of us who remained. We found it hard to find just the right mix of economy and character. Many guest houses are surprisingly expensive (over $25) or downright shabby, dark and a bit on the dirty side (but who can tell when they are so dark). Nonetheless we found several that would work.
But at the last moment we happened by the Khoum Xieng Thong Guest House. While most of the units are fantasy cool with four poster beds, mosquito netting and the nostalgic feel of Indochine of a century ago (all probably worth the $50+ they charge for them) they also have 3 small bungalows that rent for only $15 per night. Granted they are small, without TV or a/c (nice fans however) they do have hot water and comfortable beds.
The location is superb, with lots of local restaurants nearby, and a stone's throw from the best coffee and baked goods in Luang Prabang; Le Banneton Cafe/Boulangerie. In less than 10 minutes you can be in the night market.
However please note that on the auspicious religious days the temples (this guest house is surrounded by temples) burst into chants, drums and symbol crashes at the early hour of 4 a.m. Fortunately the auspicious religious days only occur about every 14 days but you will definitely know it if your visit coincides with one of those days. There is no sleeping through it. It sounds like the demons from hell are pouring into your bungalow via the drums and symbols that break the silent night. Very cool once your heart slows down however.

Room Tip: 2 rooms in the back in a small duplex/bungalow and 1 cottage in the front by the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Loved this boutique hotel. The moment you walk into this oasis you feel at home. The gorgeous dark wood floors and 4-post beds add some local flavor to your stay. The bathrooms could use a mild make-over, but overall the guest house is lovely and I'd recommend it to all.

Room Tip: Great if you have children as rooms are extremely large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celeste30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koeln
Level Contributor
232 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Nice family run hotel, not far from the Xieng Thong monastery. You might hear the monks singing, when you are sitting in the nice garden for breakfast or a sundowner.
Very friendly welcome, very nice people. If you are lucky, they will invite for a home made Lao-Lao.

I had a nice spacy room with a comfortable big bed, mosquito net, A/C, fridge, flat-TV (which you really don’t need in this beautiful city)

The hotel offers complementary internet and bicycles. Good breakfast a la carte.

Tip: if you continue your way by bus to Vientiane you might choose a seat on the right side of the bus, where you have a better view on the breath-taking scenery. Make sure that you had a good breakfast and if needed a pill: the road is VERY winding (but worth while!)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Le_Travelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Set in a quaint garden between two monasteries, this is a wonderful place to spend a few days. Quality standard of rooms varies significantly, so make sure you are clear on what you are booking. Also, the floors in the main building have very poor insulation and on the ground floor, you get the squeaking from the second floor -- if you are a light sleeper, insist on a room upstairs.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgbgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London and Hanoi
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We enjoyed the two mights we spent here in November 2011. The guest house has an AMAZING location between Wat Xieng Thong and another Wat, at the peaceful end of Luang Prabang town where all the temples are. Depending on how you look at it, this has the advantage/disadvantage that you are woken by the Wat's gong followed my monks chanting at 4am.

Rooms are tastefully appointed in hardwood, though the lack of carpets means noise transmits through the floor/ceiling (the guest house has two stories). Breakfast was good and was included, as is free use of bicycles. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanoiFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 km away
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
#15 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.2 km away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#25 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.3 km away
Chang Inn
Chang Inn
#44 of 69 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#16 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.2 km away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.9 km away
Sackarinh Guest Room
Sackarinh Guest Room
#155 of 259 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khoum Xiengthong Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khoum Xiengthong Guest House

Property: Khoum Xiengthong Guest House
Address: Sisaleumsak Road | Ban Phone Houang, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Khoum Xiengthong Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering guests comfortable and clean rooms in the Luang Prabang area, this 3-star property is a perfect place for leisure and business travelers as well as the honeymooners. All the rooms are fully equipped with comfortable beds, a desk, and bathroom with fully stocked amenities. Guests will be able to explore magnificent temples, mesmerizing Pak Ou caves, the Centre market, and memorable scenes of the Mekhong River while you stroll through the cafes that align the river. Khoum Xieng Thong Boutique Villa provides a peaceful and calm ambience for those who wish to spend some time away from the busy world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Khoum Xiengthong Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing